We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The East London Hotel

Save
Share
309-317 Cambridge Heath Road, London E2 9LH England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (92)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (24)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#271 of 1,193 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The East London Hotel in Bethnal Green offers 161 bedrooms for business and leisure travellers alike to explore the city from a vibrant base. Situated in the heart of East London just a stone’s throw away from the tube and overground stations, The East London Hotel combines local culture with comfort and connectivity, offering bespoke, top of the range British made mattresses, super-fast Wi-Fi, in-room 43inch TVs and online check in, all housed in a stylish hotel. The hotel will uniquely reflect the urban feel of the its East London neighbourhood and boasts an array of exciting local offerings on its doorstep, such as the trendy bars and restaurants on Paradise Row, the floral haven of Columbia Road Flower Market, Spitalfields’ popular markets, the greenery of Victoria Park and of course, the centre of London just 13 minutes away by tube.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
612Reviews7Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 352
  • 166
  • 48
  • 24
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
keegan c wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
Had a booking canceled with no refund, no contact, no voucher. Nothing. This hotel is a den of thieves being run by a shady owner. The travelodge next door is a significantly better stay. I'll be taking an ad out in a newspaper to inform the public of this scam of a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
t1871 wrote a review Oct 2020
Swindon, United Kingdom14 contributions4 helpful votes
Not sure where I start but my wife and I had booked a long overdue break in London for late September. Alongside the booking we had organised a number of activities to coincide with our stay within close proximity to the hotel. As we were preparing our bags the night before I checked my email only to find an automated email from the hotel informing me that my reservation had been cancelled with no explanation as to why. I attempted to contact the hotel that evening but to no avail. With less then 24 hours notice we had to scramble around to book another hotel at additional expense and stress. Fortunately we managed to book another hotel and had an enjoyable weekend (I fully recommend the QBIC hotel in Whitechapel - they rock!). We eventually managed to contact the hotel management team in an attempt to raise a complaint, gain a further understanding of the circumstances surrounding our cancellation and request a refund. Initially they were quite coy regarding the circumstances surrounding the closure but after several follow up calls stated that it was COVID related without any further explanation. Unfortunately we have still NOT received a refund even after several phone calls, numerous emails and countless promises that the refund is being processed. Further attempts to contact the hotel have been unsuccessful. They are now not answering the phone or responding to any emails. I can understand and empathise with organisations having to adapt to the current situation with little notice but the way in which this has been handled is appalling. They clearly have some issues and do not seem to be taking any bookings currently. I hope they can work this through and reopen soon. My advice to the owners is to reassess the capability of their management team as they clearly are not capable of dealing with even the simplest of customer complaints. Obviously we will not be booking a stay at this hotel in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The East London Hotel
Responded 20 Nov 2020
Dear T1871, We want to extend our sincere apologies concerning the issues you have faced. When bookings are not made directly with us, we do not have control over what happens with the booking until you arrive at the hotel. Therefore I would suggest you get in touch with the party you have used to book your stay with to request a refund as we have not charged you or received any payments. I would like to help you further and understand how we can assist. Could you please email me using the address below with your contact details hello@theeastlondonhotel.com.
Read more
Boyblue5 wrote a review Sep 2020
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom126 contributions83 helpful votes
Chose this hotel because of its location which was perfect for our needs. Our room was small compared to many hotels, but it was all we needed for this visit. The hotel was clean throughout, and we were happy with the Covid precautions. Food and drink was limited due to Covid restrictions. The staff deserve special mention. They were all courteous, helpful, and showed genuine interest in ensuring our stay was trouble-free. An added bonus was the lovely Venezuelan restaurant behind the hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Embolton wrote a review Sep 2020
Dorchester, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
I have always wanted to stay here as its right by the office I work in when visiting from out of town. I have never been able to afford it (I work for a charity) but their Covid pricing makes it comparable to the cheapest air bnb in the area so I treated myself. It's great. Clean, lovely modern decor in glass and steel rather than plastic, very kind staff who knew their stuff on Covid 19 rules and how to check people in from a distance, etc. I was in a pod room which was a cut above pods at Yohotel and Hotels - as compact, but with hangers that have hooks, no silly non blanket on the bed, great reading lights, and a desk with a cube chair that was fine for a few hours work. Key system works well with remote check in for c19. Good grade of cotton in the sheet. Power plugs well positioned for overnight charging. Loved it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
mota.m.jorge@gmail.com wrote a review Sep 2020
Viseu District, Portugal239 contributions60 helpful votes
This hotel is well located in the East London area and has an excellent value for money at this stage. The internet is fast and the measures taken in the context of the pandemic are necessary and sufficient. The rooms are small but functional and comfortable. Close to metro stations and a very nice area of bars and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
161
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The East London Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The East London Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gin Journey (0.2 km), London Cocktail Club Bethnal Green (0.01 km), and V&A Museum of Childhood (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The East London Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at The East London Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The East London Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fugitive Motel, Satan's Whiskers, and Italina London.
Are there any historical sites close to The East London Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (5.8 km), Tower of London (2.7 km), and Houses of Parliament (5.7 km).
Is The East London Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.