We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Resident Covent Garden

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (438)
Room & Suite (221)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Join and save an extra 15% on all public rates
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1,170 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2023 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Renowned for its elegant central Piazza, charming independent market stalls, vibrant street performers, and for having some of the best luxury shopping and fine dining in the capital, not to mention being home to the world-famous Royal Opera House and West End theatres, Covent Garden is one of London's most enchanting and inspirational destinations. The Resident Covent Garden is just a 3-minute walk from the main central Piazza (and within a 5-minute walk from both Covent Garden and Charing Cross stations), providing an oasis of calm right in the heart of the action. It offers 57 stylish and thoughtfully designed contemporary bedrooms, each featuring bespoke furniture hand-made locally in West London, luxurious throws and cushions made from natural fibres woven on the Isle of Bute, Scotland, and special edition Paul Smith Anglepoise lamps, as part of the brand’s focus on quality British design and craftsmanship. They each also feature our signature in-room Mini Kitchen.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Children's television networks
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 10 more
Hotel links
Special Rate:Join and save an extra 15% on all public rates
1710Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,617
  • 76
  • 16
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Freya S wrote a review Today
Burnley, United Kingdom14 contributions10 helpful votes
Great location fabulous staff will definitely return to this hotel and try this chain again Love the kitchette ide it was a god send for breakfast and having drinks in the room Beds v comfy and noise cancelling window
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
NicolasM807 wrote a review Aug 2022
Superior, Colorado77 contributions79 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This was our first trip to London, so we wanted to pick a hotel that would be centrally-located so we didn't spend hours every day just commuting to our destinations. The location for The Resident Covent Garden turned out to be absolutely perfect! There are multiple tube stations within a short walk, hundreds of restaurants and shops, and if you want to see a show it's right in the theatre district. In terms of food, I should add that you can choose anything from quick takeaway bites like kebabs, fast casual establishments, all the way up to Michelin-starred establishments. You could also choose from Italian, Greek, Asian, British, French, Jamaican, Turkish, and just about anything else you can think of. Should you happen to have forgotten anything essential at home, there are also multiple stores nearby (Boots, Tesco Express, Superdrug, Sainsbury Local), which was great since we had our 8-year old son with us. As far as the hotel itself, we found our room very spacious (especially by European standards), and the built-in USB chargers were helpful (we brought enough adapters with us but some people may not). The Nespresso machine and mini-fridge was a lifesaver, as I really need my morning coffee with real milk to get going. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were on the fifth floor and it was so quiet you would have never guessed that we were in such a busy area of central London. There are only two minor nitpicks I can think of. The first is that the doors for the kitchenette didn't shut properly, so the light remained on (it turns off when the doors are closed). We engineered a DIY solution and in fairness we never mentioned it to the staff. The second thing was a few days while we were out, we indicated on our door that we were not in our room. Despite that our room was not serviced that day. For us it didn't matter because we simply reused our towels and any toiletries were supplied promptly upon asking. But some guests may have disliked being skipped for a housekeeping visit. Overall we were extremely happy with this hotel. We were there for 10 days and after a long day visiting museums and seeing sights, it really felt like a nice, comfortable place to retire for the evening. When we return to London this place will be right at the top of our list!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
14 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Segurola - Hotel Manager, Other at The Resident Covent Garden
Responded 24 Aug 2022
Dear NicolasM807, Thank you for sharing such a lovely 5* review! It gives me joy to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at The Resident Covent Garden and that you found everything to your liking. It is also great to read that our location was perfect for your needs and that you had such a great stay with us. As you mentioned in your review, we are blessed to be located right in the heart of London! All our 57 stunning rooms are equipped with a mini kitchen including a kettle, Brita filtered water, good selection of tea, mini fridge and my personal favourite the Nespresso coffee machine. I just wanted to take this opportunity to let you know that we can also arrange a fridge fill on your next stay with us, simply let us know in the pre arrival and we would be happy to stock your fridge with delightful food. Thank you for mentioning about the issues you found during your stay with us. I wished we had been made aware of those earlier so that we could have found a solution straight away. Our dedicated reception team is available 24/7 to help you with any issues or requests you may have. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this might have caused you. Thank you for your kind comments about the team, it means a lot to us. I look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Patricia Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Irishlass wrote a review Today
United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
I had a problem with my travel arrangements and staff were most helpful. As I have Coeliac Disease I appreciate being able to make breakfast in the room before checking out restaurants for gluten free options. Room spotless, bed comfy!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pamela C wrote a review Yesterday
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom20 contributions9 helpful votes
Brilliant hotel with very friendly efficient staff. Fab location to walk to all the sights and theatres. Lovely clean, spacious room and would definitely stay again as it was perfect. Lovely products in the bathroom too .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
chrismack72 wrote a review Yesterday
Melbourne, Australia18 contributions8 helpful votes
The Resident is just off the Strand on Bedford Street. Very near to the Savoy. I liked the early check in at 1 pm and let’s check out at 12 noon. We arrived a little early and the front desk was happy to store our bags, whilst we explored. Our room was overlooking Strand and was very clean and modern. I loved the Molten Brown toiletries. I especially liked the free drink offered at 6pm for happy hour. It was a chance to mingle with other guests. We could hear some street noise, but all quietened down by midnight. The quality of the linen and towels was excellent. I also liked the tea, coffee facilities inclunding microwave and crockery.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
t0ngjam wrote a review 26 Feb
1 contribution
No questions, great location for a hotel to enjoy max nearby. Bit tiny room space but here is downtown London ! Cozy, newly renovated and with a balcony, is a plus. More important, there is a microwave inside the room !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
dangerm0use999 wrote a review 26 Feb
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Only booked this hotel as close to blacklock. Had a great stay and sleep and loved how close it is to Charing Cross station and all the action of Covent Garden. The staff are very helpful and have a broad depth of local knowledge. The room was just what you need for a local base whist in town. I was first put out they don’t have a restaurant, but when you see how close the hotel is to so many restaurants I’m kind of glad now this is the case.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
nigelsmom1 wrote a review 19 Feb
Harlem, New York287 contributions132 helpful votes
+1
Apologies for the late review. So I wanted to get a little side trip in before meeting my family in Paris to celebrate my mother's & niece's birthday. I figured since it was my first time in Europe, I'd have to make a stop in London! Luckily I had did some research and settled on staying at the Resident Inn Covent Garden. Located "just down the hill" from all the action in Covent Gardens and just around the corner from a train station it was the perfect location for me. Arriving at The Resident Convent Garden I was greeted by friendly staff members, who turned out to be a great resource during my stay. They even took time to fill my lil in room fridge with the requested items before I arrived after a long day of flight and train transit. If it rained, I was given an umbrella, if were hungry I was given suggestions. If I wanted a social hour, I was provided free bubbly in the afternoon and if I wanted quiet I headed to my comfortable room. Room was well appointed a T Kettle, a few dishes/cutlery, wifi, microwave and sink. Television and small dining set up made the room extra cozy. In room safe and closet space for clothing was ample. Bathroom was clean with a heated towel rack as an extra touch. There were even a few examples of designer Paul Smith furnishings about. Location was such that I could walk over a bridge, do some exploring at Borough Market, catch an Uber water taxi on the River Thames and make it back just in time for happy hour! I would make this little cute hotel my headquarters when I visit London again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The entrance to the hotel is small, so google a picture the address for easier "spotting" when...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
PaulLondon wrote a review 19 Feb
London19 contributions5 helpful votes
What's not to like? Fair price, membership benefits that suit the regulalr London traveller, great location, clean, fully functional room. Easy to find and no complaints to match their no fuss offering!We will be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Susana R wrote a review 18 Feb
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania1 contribution1 helpful vote
Absolutely one of my favorite hotel experiences. Staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. The room had everything you could possibly need and conveniently located. It seemed like someone really thought things out. USB ports right by the bed on both sides, lighting for reading without disturbing your partner, refrigerator, microwave, fancy coffee maker with great coffee, electric tea kettle, etc. As someone as suggested, it was a home away from home. Shower was great, bed comfortable. I could go on and on. Location also wonderful. Many dining and shopping options in a very visually appealing neighborhood. This is definitely the place to stay. I this from someone who has previously stayed at the Ritz in London. Will always come back here!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book direct and sign up for their member's program for extra perks.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
S$347 - S$591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonCovent Garden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE RESIDENT COVENT GARDEN: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 534 Photos (London, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Resident Covent Garden
Which popular attractions are close to The Resident Covent Garden?
Nearby attractions include National Gallery (0.4 km), Covent Garden (0.2 km), and The Lion King (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Resident Covent Garden?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, dry cleaning, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at The Resident Covent Garden?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Resident Covent Garden?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Resident Covent Garden?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Resident Covent Garden?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chop Chop, Leicester Square Kitchen, and Bustronome.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Resident Covent Garden?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Resident Covent Garden?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to The Resident Covent Garden?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (1.2 km), Churchill War Rooms (1.0 km), and Tower of London (3.3 km).
Is The Resident Covent Garden accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.