We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express London City

275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Street Art London Tours
    0.2 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Great Time.
Stayed here fri 9th Dec till Mon 12th.Jotel was easy to... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express London City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 760: English reviews
s yorkshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here fri 9th Dec till Mon 12th.Jotel was easy to find..Reception staff were helpful.We stayed on the 1st floor overlooking the Main road.Noise wasnt too bad.Spotlessly clean modern bathroom.Tea/Coffee making.Nice big TV..How anyone can complain about the Breakfast is beyond me.Hotel advertise a Continental Breakfast which it certainly isnt, its much more and all was lovely.My only Gripe is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandy1203
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely words and feedback, it is very much appreciated and I will pass your comments onto the staff.

Lilongwe
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on a work trip. The ear plugs in the room were a hint of what was to come. I stayed in room 525 - noise from the water heater and air conditioner in the late evening/early morning (5am) meant that I got very little sleep. Ironically the air conditioner for all its noise - didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CA_Malawi
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. I'm sorry to read this about the AC noise. Its very hard at present for us as this is a very intermittent issue and does not affect all rooms and sometimes not the same room twice! I can assure you our builders and design teams are trying to rectify this. Again my apologies

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Holiday Inn Express does what it says on the tin. Clean room, on demand tv and breakfast to go... The hotel is also close to the centre so if you get a good deal it can suit the traveller on a budget. On this occasion the price was above what you would expect to pay however as it is December...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilOsh
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased you found the hotel nice and clean!. We do benefit from an excellent location, so I'm pleased you were able to take advantage of this.

Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is not great to start with, small rooms, very soft matressess, lousy shower, elevators that take 5 minutes to arrive. And I can all live with that. But the reason you typically go to a hotel to spend the night is to SLEEP. The hotel is located at an extremely busy road. I was at the quiet side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

I am sorry you couldnt sleep. All our bedrooms are doubled glazed and the rooms at the front of the hotel also have the added benefit of secondary glazing. Our bedrooms are purpose built to Holiday Inn Express standards and specifications and are actually a good size for London.

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Visited this hotel as we were seeing a band nearby. Was a great location- lovely large room with a comfortable bed. Staff were all very helpful & breakfast was included- which was varied & the staff kept the area very clean. Good value for the money - we stayed on a Sunday night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely words and rating - it is very much appreciated.

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

I was left disappointed after my stay at the hotel last week. I forgot a valuable item at the hotel and I called them as soon as I realised after checking out. The receptionist I spoke with told me there was no one available to go check for me and so I should call back after two hours. I called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tosin K
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The bus pass that you alleged was left behind at the hotel was not located as our Operations Manager explained to you on the day you left the hotel. I understand from your correspondence to the hotel that your colleague who left the room after you remembers seeing that you had left the alleged buss...

Glasgow UK
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a two night weekend break. Firstly, the location is great. 5 minute walk from Old St underground and 15 mins from trendy Duck & Waffle (40th floor bar/restaurant in Heron Tower) The hotel itself is pretty standard for H.I. Express. The outside/appearance is not appealing at all, but the staff are attentive, helpful and friendly. The bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frazman
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to learn the bed was soft. I do hope you were able to give this feedback to the front desk so we could take action? Thank you again

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. Other hotels I have stayed in in London would try to cram 2-3 rooms in that space! What was weird though was that the bed in the room was one of those pull down beds from the wall. I get that a hotel might have that as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zutot6
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have a couple of rooms at the hotel that are larger than the normal bedroom (we also use these rooms for small meeting rooms) which is why the bed folds away. But the bed should be the same as our others for comfort - I will get our maintenance to double check these.

Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

I am back again, and glad that things have not changed. The location is excellent, near lots of busses and Old Street Tube station. I travelled this time from Paris, and St Pancras is only two stops away on the Northern Line. The rooms are very clean as usual, and the breakfast is varied and great. Free internet service is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atef Z
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback, it was so nice to read. I will make sure you comments are passed back to the team and especially the colleagues you mentioned by name. Thank you again

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

£155 per night mid week out of season seemed very high given that this is not one of London's better areas. The room was fine, well enough appointed and although it was facing the road I wasn't aware of the traffic noise which others have complained about. Despite signs stating soft and hard pillows all four were definitely hard and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill68
Craig P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We have had some issues recently with our lift and also the hotel computer system and I am sorry this caused used some inconvenience. Just to let you know we are very competitively priced in our area and location and the price you got midweek was actually very good!

344 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (87)
Viewed
Double Room With Sofabed (35)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#296 of 1,080 in London
471 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#368 of 1,080 in London
160 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#77 of 1,080 in London
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Shoreditch

Neighbourhood Profile
Shoreditch
The western front of the edgy East End, Shoreditch is a perennially trendy haven for anything “street” – be it art, food, or fashion. With its handful of well connected transportation links dotting its perimeter, along with an ever increasing variety of shops, hotels, bars, and restaurants, it's easy to explore this trend-conscious and youth-oriented neighbourhood. There's a lingering post-industrial grit about Shoreditch, but because it shares a border with “The City” financial district, the influence from its upscale neighbour can result in fascinating outcomes.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Price Range: $175 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express London City staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express London City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not room 516 which had heating and cooling issues.”
 of 5 bubbles michaellV3625WC, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Always check reviews”
 of 5 bubbles tosink2016, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for low floor to avoid the need to use the elevator”
 of 5 bubbles Gill68, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Back rooms quieter, I should imagine. Front rooms face Old Street”
 of 5 bubbles JonHarmonie, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room at the top and back of the hotel. Also, make sure your shower door closes properly!”
 of 5 bubbles ryank827, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5