We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Alma Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Alma Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 277: English reviews
Start your review of The Alma Hotel
 Click to rate
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really liked the rooms and the location but beds are very firm and the mattress protectors have a plastic core. Duvets are winter weight and must be on the beds all year round because the could not provide a lighter one when asked. Pillows were also sweaty. Breakfast was average. Sugar- coated cereals only.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ctk222
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked to stay at The Alma Hotel at short notice after bad experience of trying to use hotels.com with larger hotel chains in the area. Very glad I found The Alma! Great room, comfortable, quite, good facilities and helpful reception. The stay was rounded-off by the best breakfast I've had for a long time. Will definitely be going back, even...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BlueZola25
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Stayed there May 2016 for the Chelsea Flower show. Very nice and stylish room in convenient location off tube line.The breakfasts were fabulous and Lila's attention to every detail, warm hospitality and conversation in the mornings was a lovely way to start the day. We really appreciated that she remembered our preferences and treated us like old regulars. Looking forward...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KatherineSzabo
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Katherine for your review! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and service at The Alma. Hope to see you again soon.

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Stayed here Saturday night for an evening engagement nearby. Peaceful and very pleasant - the staff are attentive and the rooms excellent. I stayed in the Garden Room and had my own private outdoors area, great for smoking. Bathroom was very spacious and the bed comfortable. Would happily stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Baaatt
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback! We will be happy to see you again.

Wetherby
Reviewed 27 December 2016

The Alma is a well known and much liked pub situated in Wandsworth opposite from the station. Traditionally a rugby pub. Above the pub is a small hotel . Stayed for Christmas Day night as room was limited at my daughter's home. Super spot to escape to! Pleasant and friendly staff. Good room. Great choice of food at breakfast. Pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Decoyduck60
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay in that special time of the year. We're hoping to see you again soon.

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Another little Ta gem uncovered. Wandsworth is a lovely little town, and the Hotel is situated directly across the road from the tube station so great for access to London or the Rugby. This is a cosy pub hotel, rooms are nicely appointed, staff are attentive and the breakfast is very ice indeed. Pub can get very busy at weekends....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nic L
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm feedback.

Chertsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

This is an old pub and the hotel is attached to the rear. There is no lift but the rooms are well appointed and very clean. The menu is very good and the service is polite and friendly. The old fashioned pub is a step back into the past. It is well situated opposite Wandsworth Town Station.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan M
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Alma hotel.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Excellant boutique hotel,6th time we,ve stayed at the Alma,would not stay anywhere else in London.Excellant staff,very friendly and helpful.Great choice of food in the restuarant,and for breakfast.Old fashioned pub bar with great atmosphere,the snacks behind the bar are great with gorgeous large sausage rolls(to die for).The rooms are spacious and comfortable and tastefully decorated.Our trip from ireland was for rugby,shopping...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank neil k
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to read this review! We're happy you choosing Alma every time you back in London. Thank you for your review. And hopefully with the 6 nations coming in, see you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Re modelling of our home forced us into a local hotel stay, knowing the area and having spent a few very enjoyable evenings eating and drinking at the Alma it seemed the perfect choice and I'm happy today it did not disappoint friendly staff excellent food and drinks comfortable rooms Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fallen57
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm feedback.

Portlaoise
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Recently while visiting Wandsworth to visit a family member we called in to the Alma Hotel initially for a drink but ended up having an evening meal there. The service was very friendly and excellent overall. The three of us had fish which was very nice and good value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Always_white
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy you had a great evening.

429 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (332)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Double Room (50)
Viewed
Garden Room (61)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Tonsley View Room (59)
Viewed
Twin Room (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#11 of 561 in London
350 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 561 in London
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Lord Milner
The Lord Milner
#14 of 561 in London
360 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#24 of 561 in London
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about The Alma Hotel

Address: 499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Price Range: $193 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alma Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Alma Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Alma full English breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles Decoyduck60, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stayed on all sides of the hotel and they all seem very nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles neilk148, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you can't do stairs book bottom floor”
 of 5 bubbles Acbosslady, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms quiet. Good pub in front. excellent real ales”
 of 5 bubbles 815AlbertS, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room towards the back, away from the pub.”
 of 5 bubbles hansr433, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5