We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Alma Hotel

Booking.comUS$116*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Alma Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Alma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 284: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Stayed here Saturday night for an evening engagement nearby. Peaceful and very pleasant - the staff are attentive and the rooms excellent. I stayed in the Garden Room and had my own private outdoors area, great for smoking. Bathroom was very spacious and the bed comfortable. Would happily stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Baaatt
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback! We will be happy to see you again.

Wetherby
Reviewed 27 December 2016

The Alma is a well known and much liked pub situated in Wandsworth opposite from the station. Traditionally a rugby pub. Above the pub is a small hotel . Stayed for Christmas Day night as room was limited at my daughter's home. Super spot to escape to! Pleasant and friendly staff. Good room. Great choice of food at breakfast. Pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Decoyduck60
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay in that special time of the year. We're hoping to see you again soon.

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Another little Ta gem uncovered. Wandsworth is a lovely little town, and the Hotel is situated directly across the road from the tube station so great for access to London or the Rugby. This is a cosy pub hotel, rooms are nicely appointed, staff are attentive and the breakfast is very ice indeed. Pub can get very busy at weekends....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nic L
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm feedback.

Chertsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

This is an old pub and the hotel is attached to the rear. There is no lift but the rooms are well appointed and very clean. The menu is very good and the service is polite and friendly. The old fashioned pub is a step back into the past. It is well situated opposite Wandsworth Town Station.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan M
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Alma hotel.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Excellant boutique hotel,6th time we,ve stayed at the Alma,would not stay anywhere else in London.Excellant staff,very friendly and helpful.Great choice of food in the restuarant,and for breakfast.Old fashioned pub bar with great atmosphere,the snacks behind the bar are great with gorgeous large sausage rolls(to die for).The rooms are spacious and comfortable and tastefully decorated.Our trip from ireland was for rugby,shopping...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank neil k
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to read this review! We're happy you choosing Alma every time you back in London. Thank you for your review. And hopefully with the 6 nations coming in, see you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Re modelling of our home forced us into a local hotel stay, knowing the area and having spent a few very enjoyable evenings eating and drinking at the Alma it seemed the perfect choice and I'm happy today it did not disappoint friendly staff excellent food and drinks comfortable rooms Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fallen57
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm feedback.

Portlaoise
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Recently while visiting Wandsworth to visit a family member we called in to the Alma Hotel initially for a drink but ended up having an evening meal there. The service was very friendly and excellent overall. The three of us had fish which was very nice and good value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Always_white
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy you had a great evening.

The Villages, Florida
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This hotel is right cross from train station where we took it to downtown London and Southhampton. Clean, service was supber, food was fabulous. The pub was fantastic and friendly. I will be staying there when I go back to,London.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Acbosslady
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm review. See you again soon

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

I stay at the Alma regularly for business and pleasure. The rooms are stylish, comfortable and a generous size for London. The hotel is well connected for central London just across the road from Wandsworth Town Station with trains running to Clapham Common, Vauxhall and Waterloo. Staff are friendly and breakfast is always a treat. Hotel rooms adjoin the Alma...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gronja
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

25 years ago I lived in this area(Earlsfield) and when invited back for a 70th birthday party at The Alma we decided to stay there. What a lovely small hotel. We treated ourselves to the Garden Room (Room 7). the room was of the highest quality and beautifully decorated. A lovely bathroom excellent décor with tea and Nespresso coffee making...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Albert S

430 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (332)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Double Room (50)
Viewed
Garden Room (61)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Tonsley View Room (59)
Viewed
Twin Room (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 556 in London
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 556 in London
410 reviews
Belgravia
The Lord Milner
The Lord Milner
#14 of 556 in London
397 reviews
The Cleveland
#19 of 556 in London
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Alma Hotel

Address: 499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Price Range: $194 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alma Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Alma Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Alma full English breakfast.”
Decoyduck60, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stayed on all sides of the hotel and they all seem very nice and quiet.”
neilk148, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you can't do stairs book bottom floor”
Acbosslady, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms quiet. Good pub in front. excellent real ales”
815AlbertS, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room towards the back, away from the pub.”
hansr433, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$116* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$116
PricelineUS$116
Hotels.comUS$116
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates