We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1-8 Russell Square Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BE England
47 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$296
View deal
Expedia.com
US$296
View deal
Vio.com
US$265
View deal
Hotels.comUS$296
travelup.comUS$291
Lol.travelUS$369
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1342)
Room & Suite (387)
Dining (110)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#92 of 1,205 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to Kimpton Fitzroy London, a Grade II listed landmark building that occupies the eastern flank of Russell Square in Bloomsbury. The reopening of the hotel in 2018 has restored the original grande dame to her original glory while administering a shot of adrenaline to the heart of London most literary neighbourhood. Overlooking Bloomsbury Russell Square and only 2 minutes walk from Russell Square tube station, this striking Victorian hotel with marble columned public spaces is ideally located for within walking distance from the British Museum and the West End of London.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1312Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,023
  • 164
  • 77
  • 26
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Julie J wrote a review Today
Walpole, Massachusetts6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stayed right before Christmas and had a wonderful time. In a fantastic location blending a quiet street facing a park but within walking distance of the British Museum and so many other must see attractions, this was the perfect location. The tube was easily accessible as well. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays with glittering lights and a majestically decorated Christmas tree by a warm glowing fireplace. The rooms are well maintained and cleaned every day with a plentiful supply of fresh towels replaced. The breakfast delicious with so many options. The staff were attentive and helpful. Traveling as a family during the holidays we were so pleased to find two art kits (for creating Christmas Cards and constructing a decorative Wreath) both beautifully boxed and left as gifts in our room for our two older teens. Bravo! This was an amazing stay!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
wanderingdancer wrote a review Jan 2023
Boston, Massachusetts20 contributions42 helpful votes
My recent stay at the Kimpton Fitzroy was perfect in every way. We were greeted immediately by Gunther Schildwachter who welcomed us and took us to our rooms and explained everything. He made sure we were comfortable and he made a dinner reservation for us. During our stay he continued to check in. He truly made us feel at home. He also showed us all around this magnificent restored Victorian hotel. Over the years we have watched it being restored and were delighted to finally stay there. Both Joseph and Marco at the concierge desk helped tremendously with theater tickets and taxis. Dinner and breakfasts were also excellent. The location is superb. The hotel is right next to the Russell Square station and Russell Square. It's a short walk to the West End and Covent Garden. The rooms are very comfortable and the beds and pillows are as well. It was also a treat to have free water, popcorn and chocolate provided. My only complaint was the volume of the music in the dining room. It could be softer. We loved our stay and are looking forward to making this our London hotel of choice. A huge thank you to everyone there who made our stay memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruairi McDowell, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Fitzroy London
Responded yesterday
Dear Wanderingdancer, Thank you for such a lovely review of our hotel. Amazing to see that your stay was 'perfect in every way'...we love reading this! Fantastic to see that Gunther was on it from the moment you walked in to make sure that your entire stay was amazing. He truly is a man that is completely devoted to our guest's journeys and making sure there are no issues along the way. Thrilled to see that our Concierge superstars Joseph and Marco were able to assist with making your London experience that little bit more special. They'll be very happy to read this. Thank you for informing us about the music in the dining room as well, we take everything on board to make sure that we're able to cater to everyone's needs. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kamitravel wrote a review Jan 2023
Portland, Oregon142 contributions73 helpful votes
The hotel is very convenient to the tube, British museum, walking distance to Kings Cross. The breakfast was basic but still did the job. the room was nicely decorated but pretty tight. It's London, I guess. We enjoyed our stay, and I would suggest it to others as well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruairi McDowell, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Fitzroy London
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Kami, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. Very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us and got to sample our breakfast. The room decorations were meticulously thought out so we're happy that you enjoyed them. We hope to see you back with us soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jen E wrote a review Jan 2023
Los Angeles, California142 contributions7 helpful votes
Lovely hotel located right by Russell Square. I usually tend to lean towards smaller, boutique hotels but for as big as Kimpton Fitzroy is (334 rooms), I really had a very nice, personalized experience here. Property is gorgeous and the restaurant (Galvin's) and bar (Fitz's) were both excellent. I was telling friend that rarely do I give such accolades to a hotel bar but Fitz's was quite special, from the cocktails to service. I came back days later after check-out and the server (Akira?) still remembered me. That's how personal they are. They also offer a social hour from 5-6pm of free drinks for guests which is a nice touch. In all areas of the hotel, plenty of space to spread about, and the staff is kind and accommodating. Rooms are also a good size, including the bathroom. I accidentally left my blazer there upon departure but Mark from Security was so friendly and professional with helping me arrange pickup. All in all just a 5 star experience across the board, and will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruairi McDowell, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Fitzroy London
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Jen, Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. Fantastic to see that you decided to give our hotel a try and you were not disappointed. A personalised experience is very important to us here as we're very aware that every guest journey and expectations are completely different and we have to tailor our service to match that. Great to see that your enjoyed our Fitz' bar, the drinks and ambiance in there are quite something and the service is fantastic. We're very happy to see that Akira was able to show you that and she'll be very happy to read this. Thank you as well for your mention of Mark, our flawless security team working behind the scenes are unsung heroes within the hotel. Mark is particular is a fantastic person to deal with, always very warm and welcoming. We hope you com back to see us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy T wrote a review Jan 2023
New York City, New York36 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
Staying at the Kimpton Fitzroy for Christmas was absolutely delightful. Even before my stay, my interaction with the concierge team (Marco is the best!) was excellent. The Fitzroy is stunningly beautifully and was so beautifully decorated for Christmas. The location is wonderful in that it’s close to so many things yet far enough away to create a sense of peace and calm. Being Inner Circle and IHG Diamond, the upgrade to a suite for my first 3/6 days was lovely and most appreciated! The warm tile floors were heavenly. Absolutely loved the creative cocktails at The Fitz Bar and also loved the delicious Shakshouka as a breakfast option at the more casual cafe on property. Finally, the way the GM and AGM handled one major and a few minor issues that arose during my stay speaks volumes to their commitment to outstanding service and attention to detail. I highly recommend the Fitzroy and look forward to my next stay when the spring theatre season begins!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruairi McDowell, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Fitzroy London
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Wendy, Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review of our hotel. Delighted to see that your stay was off to the perfect start even before you joined thanks to the Concierge expertise of our service superstar Marco. He certainly is excellent. Amazing that you joined us during Christmas when our hotel was so beautifully decorated...I wish we could have it that way all year round. Thank you for mentioning our amazing cocktails as well, our mixologists in Fitz' Bar are forever coming up with some incredible different flavours and concepts. It's such a joy to see what they come up with next. Our GM and AGM are very hands on with the daily running of the hotel and their desire for excellent service is second to none. This filters down to the rest of the team and this is why we have such a great vibe throughout the hotel. We really hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JKlondon09 wrote a review Jan 2023
London, United Kingdom203 contributions210 helpful votes
The Kimpton remains our favourite London hotel. There is such a welcoming, comforting atmosphere on arrival at Kimpton Fitzroy. You really do feel ,you are in your London home. We have stayed in a range of rooms from essential,to the 1 bedroom suites and they are all good, and have the same sense of luxury. The beds and bedding are sumptuous. The bathroom products are excellent, albeit I was disappointed to lose their original brand to the new 1969:range. This Kimpton does all of the Kimpton extras well. The wine hour is excellent, friendly and generous. Fitz’s cocktail bar has the essence of an Edwardian Speakeasy, and is a wonderful way to end your day. Breakfast at Galvins is a great way to stater your day, with outstanding service and quality of food. Our only disappointment is that the hotel has become mean with their room upgrades. Despite the fact that we are Diamond Ambassador IHG members and have stayed here many times before, on our last visit which was a Sunday night in January, one of the quietest day pets in hotel calendars were were offered the minimum upgrade. This wasn’t because there were not better room, as they said we could pay for an upgrade - even just for a park view. It’s a shame hotels don’t look,after their regulars when they can. It was also y husbands birthday. Despite the above disappointment we had a good stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It is getting mean with IHG upgrades
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruairi McDowell, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Fitzroy London
Responded 5 days ago
Dear JKLondon, Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We are thrilled to see that you had a great welcome from our team here. The welcome at a hotel is so crucial as it sets the bar for how the rest of the stay should be. We're very happy for you to consider this your London home. You couldn't be more right about the beds and bedding, they are so comfortable and very difficult to leave in the mornings. Great to see that you got to enjoy our 'Social Hour', we are very proud of this and it feel great to give a little something back to our amazing guests. I do apologise that you didn't feel looked after with regards to your status as an IHG member, this is definitely something for us to look at to avoid disappointment for our loyal customers in the future, thank you for sharing. We do hope we get to see you again really soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michele wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked through Hotwire for a business trip and my fiancé was coming to join me for a night. Unfortunately, Hotwire did not inform me that it assigns room categories on booking and I ended up with a single room, and a leaky shower! Angela at the front desk was an absolute star, so kind, and did everything she could to work it out so I could change to a bigger bed for the night he arrives. Very grateful and will book directly next time!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruairi McDowell, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Fitzroy London
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Michele, Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. Fantastic to see that you had an issue and we were able to resolve this on the spot. Delighted to see Angela mentioned on here again for being the superstar that she is and making sure that your partner and yourself had a great night together in a room more suitable for two people. Thrilled to see that you'll be coming back to us and we can't wait to greet you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emma s wrote a review Jan 2023
1 helpful vote
Amazing hotel, beautiful scenes and the staff are excellent! A massive shout out to Kajol Kamble for making the stay extraordinary. The service was 10/10 and the cocktails at the bar were to die for! I can’t wait for my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruairi McDowell, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Fitzroy London
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Emma, Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. Thrilled to see that our staff were their usual excellent selves during your stay. None more so than our amazing Kajol, she has such a great connection with our guests due to her warm and caring personality. She'll be delighted to read this. Great to see that you got to try out our cocktails as well. The mixologists in our Fitz bar are incredible and are always coming up with new, exciting blends and flavours. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dana s wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I had a great and amazing stay again when visiting my daughter in London. All the staff are great staff and nice Angela is the best! Good food, I forward to coming back Super super super! Nice rooms. See you soon! Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruairi McDowell, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Fitzroy London
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Dana, Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel. Delighted to see that our staff made all the difference during your stay here, especially our Angela. She's having such an amazing impact on guests that she could have her own TripAdvisor page now. We look forward to welcoming you back really soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Domantas & Tomas wrote a review Jan 2023
3 contributions4 helpful votes
This is not the first time we have visited this hotel, and we are always very satisfied, but during our last visit we encountered a very rude hotel receptionist even twice. The second time was on a Saturday evening when we called to ask if we could get a late check-out option. The communication of the hotel employee was unpleasant, cold, she seems to have no experience with customers, and is not interested in maintaining the excellent name of the hotel. We were disappointed. We would like to believe that this is just an isolated incident and that the hotel staff will perform flawlessly on our next visits.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruairi McDowell, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Fitzroy London
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here. I am always happy to see that our guests have come back to us, I am however disappointed that this stay wasn't like the others. I would love to hear more about this if you wouldn't min contacting me on ruairi.mcdowell@ihg.com. To obtain more feedback from you so we can put the training in place to make sure this doesn't happen again. Hopefully I can convince you to give us another chance to wow you. I look forward to hearing from you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$286 - US$479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
russell hotel london, hotel london russell, russel hotel london
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Principal London
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonBloomsbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
334
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KIMPTON FITZROY LONDON: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,471 Photos (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kimpton Fitzroy London
Which popular attractions are close to Kimpton Fitzroy London?
Nearby attractions include The British Museum (0.4 km), THATMuse,Treasure Hunt at the Museum (0.4 km), and Faulty Towers the Dining Experience (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kimpton Fitzroy London?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Kimpton Fitzroy London?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kimpton Fitzroy London?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Kimpton Fitzroy London?
Conveniently located restaurants include Choppaluna, The Shell, and Pizza Sophia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kimpton Fitzroy London?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kimpton Fitzroy London?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kimpton Fitzroy London offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kimpton Fitzroy London?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Kimpton Fitzroy London?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (2.3 km), Tower of London (3.8 km), and Houses of Parliament (2.6 km).
Does Kimpton Fitzroy London have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.