We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Principal London

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Principal London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,866 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Principal London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,384: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This Victorian Gem is full of character. We stayed in an Executive room which was very comfortable and well equipped. The Hotel's location is ideal for Covent Garden, theatre land and the iconic central London places and venues. All the staff are delightful. If you want a very quiet room, ask for one that isn't facing Russell Square. Be advised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Hotel Russell. We are extremely proud of the rich heritage of our building and we have ensured that this has been well maintained over the years. We appreciate your very kind comments regarding our team as they genuinely...

Province of Malaga, Spain
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a very pleasent 2 night stay in february, reasonable prices and most importantly great location walking distance to a lot of areas . being just off jubilee line which is perfect for Heathrow recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G H
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Hotel Russell. We are ideally located as we are a stone’s throw from many of London’s major attractions and transport links including the Piccadilly line which leads directly to Heathrow airport. I am glad that you found our location so ideal...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I remember staying at this hotel and getting a really nice room the first time but for the price that i paid at this hotel it was a little disappointing. I paid roughly 180 GBP for hotel for one night and from what i remember the last time i must of rented a suite because the room this time was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevin l
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us. Please be assured that our rates are extremely competitive and we always ensure that our guests receive exceptional service during their visit. Each room including the bathroom is inspected on a daily basis, however...

Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Spent Friday night 28/02/2014 as a delegate for a conference. Very well managed. Had to wait for breakfast due to hotel being full. Apart from that every thing you wanted was offered and available when needed. A very pleasant surprise from the usual goffering that now passes as the norm for service. Food very edible for mass catering. Very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful experience with us at Hotel Russell. We are extremely well known for our high standards especially with regards to our Conferencing and Banqueting expertise. Our team ensure that a meticulous service is provided and our chefs freshly prepare each dish with flare...

Glasgow
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel is really well located for theatre district, British Museum and lots to do in walking distance. The tube station is just round the corner. The hotel is enormous and the public areas are incredible. Staff are warm and welcoming so any stay is comfortable. The negative is that the building is a shadow of its glorious past and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glasgowboy47
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your location as we are a stone’s throw away from many of London’s major attractions and transport links. Our team endeavour to make each guest feel as welcome and comfortable as possible. We also pride ourselves on our high standards and ensure that our Hotel...

herts
Reviewed 1 March 2014

this is a lovely hotel ,the best looking one in the area .plenty of things to do within walking distance .loads of pubs ( which we found ) .rooms very nice-well our one was ,the breakfast would have been great for someone without a hangover , but i somehow had one .the only problem we found was that the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael g
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are ideally located as we are within walking distance of many of London’s major attractions and transport links. I am pleased that you found this beneficial during your stay. Breakfast is extremely popular and our team of Chefs prepare this...

Reviewed 28 February 2014

We chose this hotel for its location and were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. It's really easy to get to by tube or bus, and a large chunk of the capital is within easy walking distance. We booked a standard room which was perfectly good for us, and quiet enough (even given its location) to ensure a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Staddy
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest We do appreciate your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are extremely well located as we are within walking distance of many of London’s major attractions as well as transport links. I am pleased that you found our location ideal during your stay with is. I am glad that...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in Feb and it was fine - we had booked well in advance thru their website so we got a discount on the booking, free breakfast and free wifi (hint - look on their site before you book as you may get a better deal). The room itself was fine, spacious & had decent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwyther B
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that you had booked via our website and received a great promotional offer as we endeavour to provide a competitive rate for our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed both the spaciousness of your room and the amenities as we endeavour to ensure each of...

Jersey
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I booked the hotel as any London hotels at a reasonable rate where at a premium due to the Six Nations being on. I was very impressed with the location as Russell Square is very peaceful and very well located for Soho/Bloomsbury. The hotel communal areas are very impressible as is the entire building. The bar area is very comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TRC2
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell. We pride ourselves on our high standards and endeavour to ensure each guest has a memorable stay with us. We understand that guests want to relax whilst staying with us and hence have an impressive lobby area and comfortable...

York
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Check in was efficient and staff pleasant. I managed to check in an hour earlier than the stated check in which was a bonus. Location is excellent, tube station 3 mins walk away on Piccadilly line and british museum a 5 min walk. At £130 room only for a single it's not cheap but then again, it's central London!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeoYork
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us. We understand that guests may arrive earlier than anticipated and our team do their utmost to ensure that your room is ready as soon as possible for you. We are ideally located as we are a stone’s throw from many of...

1,169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1039)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (274)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (224)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (392)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (108)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#92 of 1,087 in London
324 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#327 of 1,087 in London
1,949 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#413 of 1,087 in London
953 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#306 of 1,087 in London
751 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#554 of 1,087 in London
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Russell is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, Hotel Russell is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Principal London

Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in London
#285 Family Hotel in London
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Principal London staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from The Principal London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“specify your view requirements!!!”
 of 5 bubbles JDon18, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“front rooms hotter in the summer”
 of 5 bubbles carletons875, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a suit which was huge but tired - loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles JohnNerding, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suits are a must”
 of 5 bubbles dorosweet37, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floors great views! Really pretty Suite Top Corner under the turret”
 of 5 bubbles christinenB7733WT, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5