We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Commodore Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
Panoramas (30)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

913 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Commodore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 632: English reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

The staff at reception were absolutely wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic, right next to Hyde park and a stroll to the underground which is extremely handy, but in the surrounding area everything closes ie bars and restaurants at 11, and the hotel does not have a bar either so no glass of wine after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlie C, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. I am glad to hear that My Staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful and that the location of the hotel was handy. I am truly sorry to learn about your experience and any shortcoming you had with the room that was assigned....

Reviewed 5 October 2016

We had an okay stay until i noticed that someone had been in our room and stolen 80 pounds in cash. I had hid the money in a little pocket in my bag, but that was not enough. I have read that this is isn't the first time this has happened at this hotel, so i would not recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jens A
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jens A, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. Feedbacks such as yours are so important to us. It is only through them that we are able to maintain and improve the service & the hospitality that we provide to our valued guests. My Staff and I are very disappointed to read...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

I visited for a long weekend and when I had read the recent reviews I was worried, but I needn't of been. The hotel was extremely clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the location was excellent (just 5 mins walk from Lancaster Gate tube which is on the central line and one stop to the shops). Yes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose F
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rose F, So glad you had an enjoyable time at Commodore Hotel. We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Please contact us directly to benefit from local offers and discounts for all your future stays. Thank you Kind regards, Shahn Aliyar

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

The building was cool, roomsize ok, floor wirn out, room fair/ well equipped; unfortunately my room was in the basement However bed was fine, all cleaned properly. Wifi for free- but weak in the basement. Fair stay, ok to book here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mi M
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mi M, Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel London and glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Thank you Kind regards Shahn Aliyar

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Dirty carpets,uncomfortable beds,worn out antique furniture in poor state and certainly needing repair.was possibly once an interesting place but!!!!! Stay away! This cannot possibly allowed to call itself a 4 star ,more like 1 star

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank agro144
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear agro144, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thank you for letting us know. Thank you Kind regards, Shahn Aliyar

Cavan
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Hotel Location was great. I think that is as far as the good points go. Upon arrival we were asked for a £50 payment from our credit card which is supposed to be reimbursed. Never had to do this before except for maybe £1 which I appreciate is to validate my credit card. Still for any couple who may have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2niner
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 2niner, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Commodore Hotel London. We presume that this refers to the following incident as that is the only one we were able to find on our Maintenance and Front Desk log-Sheets -: Maintenance Log-Sheet entry -: Mr John Oreilly - Checked in on...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We stayed here four nights at this hotel, the location was great and the staff helpful though not all had the best English. The room though was a real disappointment. We had been warned the rooms were small so we thought it is what it is but the carpet was patched in the room, the room had a musty smell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cossie61
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cossie61, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. I am so sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay and I wonder if your dissatisfaction was brought to the attention of our staff? Also, I would appreciate if you can email us at reservations@commodore-hotel.com and let us know which room number your...

Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The majority of my and my two travelling companions' four-night stay at the London Commodore was pleasant; the accomodations were fine, the location good, the staff helpful in pre-visit e-mail exchanges and the rates pleasant. Unfortunately, on the morning of our day of departure, a backpack and a satchel, both containing passports and valuables, were stolen from our locked room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Grevain
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grevain, Thank you for the feedback and for highlighting once again an incident that happened in the past. For a moment I was perplexed when I saw your review. All sorts of HOW, WHAT & WHERE questions started to go in circles around my brain. Especially after all the enhanced security measures implemented to ensure Guests Safety & Security...

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel over the bank holiday weekend of August 16. We chose to stay here because of the good location and reasonable prices. Everything went well until we got a bill through our door to let us know that we had been charged £30 for the bed sheets being "damaged". In fact, all that had happened was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dale K
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dale, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. I am glad to hear that the location of the hotel was handy for you and that everything went well until you received the charge of £30 for the bed sheets being damaged. I am truly sorry to learn about your experience and any...

Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 25 August 2016

The stay at the hotel was off to a good start, but didn't end as nicely. The Commodore Hotel is charming and cute, and very good connections to both the tube and bus stop - not to mention the short distance to Hyde Park. I now see that there are other reviews describing stolen money and property. I only wish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine B
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine B, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Commodore Hotel London. Firstly, I would like to offer my apologies for the shock you must have experienced at the sight of your handbag missing from the room. Guests security and safety is of utmost importance at the Commodore Hotel and...

603 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (311)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (159)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (270)
Viewed
Albert Suite (30)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (32)
Viewed
Double Executive Room (22)
Viewed
Family Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Single Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)
Viewed
Viceroy Suite (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#375 of 1,080 in London
1,340 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#563 of 1,080 in London
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Henry VIII Hotel
#827 of 1,080 in London
974 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#210 of 1,080 in London
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Townhouse Hotel situated in quiet Victorian Square, just steps from Hyde Park and five minutes by bus to Oxford street and Marble Arch. Paddington station is a walk away. Commodore is renowned for it's tranquil setting, offering a homely and welcoming atmosphere in the bustling city. Originally, three Victorian Town houses, Commodore is unique in its combination of styles with traditional Victorian romantic elegance coupled with modern interior design. Its quirky charm and great location see customers returning again and again. There is also a small fitness studio. Room service is available 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $115 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#382 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Commodore Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Commodore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Would not recommend this hotel at all and haven't rated it because we didn't get to stay there.”
 of 5 bubbles janersmyth, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles AlanR901, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Look somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles 554antonyr, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“find a room with a safe”
 of 5 bubbles 6jensa, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check room before accepting what is given.”
 of 5 bubbles 2niner, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay