We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambassadors Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ambassadors Hotel
Ambassadors Hotel
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 704: English reviews
Start your review of Ambassadors Hotel
 Click to rate
Oxford ENGLAND
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Trying to be fair about this hotel, it isn't expensive, they say they are 3* which is probably about right, the management or owners can't really have much pride in the place as the condition of the carpets will testify this. I'm not expecting Persian rugs but c'mon, at least scrub stains in the hallway floors, they seem to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thame_hoops
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 1 week ago

The tone was set the minute we walked in the door. I arrived with my wife and daughter a day and a half late for our planned arrival date at 8 AM due to travel problems, and was told by the front desk clerk that even though we had paid for the room for 8 nights (including the previous two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NOLATim
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After being told we had to move to another hotel due to "plumbing problems" they amazingly found 2 rooms to accommodate us - I'm thinking we probably should have gone rather than kicking up a little fuss!! Maybe that's why we were given an awful tiny little room in the basement - along a maze of corridors with inadequate directions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisada1971_
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After booking a deluxe double we arrived in our room which was the size of harry potters under the stairs cupboard the room stank of smoke and to top it off there was poo in the toilet.....after complaining I was moved into a very dark small basement room which didn't even have a double bed it was two singles put...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mat B
HotelsManagers, General Manager at Ambassadors Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mat B, I am a bit surprise with your comments. Firstable, I do understand that your first impression when you walk in the room, was not the best one since as you claim the room was not clean properly. However my staff did what is expected from them which was moving you to a different room. The room that...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were booked into the interactive dinner performance of Fawlty Towers held at the Ambassador hotel. We decided to stay overnight at the hotel. We were very impressed with the quality of the hotel. From the moment we checked in, we were made to feel welcome. This hotel has come along way since being known as The Charing Cross Hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PearTr
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just stayed for the weekend when the rugby was on so rooms at a premium in london. This hotel is a good budget hotel with a great location, 5 mins from Gloucester Road tube with a sainsbury & tesco near also. On the negative, Room. 513 is a twin, its TINY!!!!! You cant walk between the beds and the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan2909
Orland, Maine
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights in February on a package deal. The hotel was nothing special, and had no amenities, but it was clean and the staff was very pleasant and tried to be helpful. They offered a decent breakfast of scrambled eggs, sausage, mushrooms or beans, tomatoes, good rolls, cereal, yogurt coffee, tea, juice. The breakfast room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
Chicago,IL
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very close to Earl's Court tube and the museum complex with Nat History, Science and Victoria and Albert. Double room too small to have a chair in it - no place to sit with any back support other than the bed. Closet space almost non existent - only open hanging space. No dresser at all. No ice machine accessible to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LiamClaire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Easy to find with directions on reservation. Good location for trip to London and a concert. BUT dreadful room in the basement totally spoilt our stay. Boiling hot, but air conditioning too noisy to keep on all night. No window means no fresh air. Mediocre breakfast, only plus was the staff tried their best and we're friendly enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debcraigb
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came here to stay after reading some previous reviews. So I came with my own sheets and mattress cover--which I highly recommend. There were crumbs on the bed sheets and in the window sill. There also weren't any washcloths available so it's probably a good idea to bring your own if you use something smaller than a hand towel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alisha D

352 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (229)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (118)
Viewed
Executive Double Basement Room (22)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (20)
Viewed
Executive Single Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#714 of 1,089 in London
996 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#752 of 1,089 in London
615 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
St. Mark Hotel
St. Mark Hotel
#933 of 1,089 in London
319 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#441 of 1,089 in London
1,982 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#735 of 1,089 in London
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant and bar, comfortable rooms; situated close to Gloucester Road. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassadors Hotel

Address: 16 Collingham Road | Earls Court, London SW5 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Price Range: $113 - $1,464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ambassadors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassadors Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Brooklyn, New York
4 months ago
7 months ago
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassadors Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the 4th floor and it was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles DennisF592, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to avoid the basement, awful place to spend even one night.”
 of 5 bubbles debcraigb, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't be scared of room B20 - it was very largeb”
 of 5 bubbles Mallory'sMom, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book deluxe”
 of 5 bubbles vanessamorgado1, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“do not stay there: they have a bed bug problem and refuse to acknowledge it”
 of 5 bubbles MeileS, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5