We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Horseguards

Show Prices
#100 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Horseguards
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,091: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Horseguards
 Click to rate
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

Disappointed, no natural light in room, window boarded up. Tried bath as had a TV in there. Tv picture poor, speakers didn't work at all. Soft lighting in bedroom but not in bathroom. Only 1 robe supplied in wardrobe. Didn't chase up as only there for 1 night. Stayed at many 5* hotels around world and this didn't come close....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freeman111
Davie, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Chose this hotel based on reviews which made it sound like a five star hotel. Upon arrival, got out of the cab and we opened the hotel's door and rolled our cases into the lobby. Surprised that there was no doorman as we had read about ~ perhaps on a lunch break or anyone to assist with luggage. Fortunately, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23rita
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our hotel. All our guest feedback is extremely important to us so thank for your comments.I am very concerned by the numerous issues that you have mentioned regarding the team and lack of service that you encountered during the course of your visit. This is by...

pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a great experience we had returning to this iconic hotel !! We were a family group of various ages coming from several different countries for a family reunion. We were made to feel so special and were warmly welcomed. The staff is superb !! Location can't be beat! Highly recommend. Can't wait to book a return visit. Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank momofthreepa
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Happy Birthday to you your mum! And I’m so pleased that we were your hotel of choice! Our team continually go out of their way to ensure that each and everyone of our guests, no matter what their ages, are well looked after stay after stay. I’m delighted to know that we achieved this on this visit too and that...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great great. Staff was amazing and helpful. The location was ideal for out of town travelers and sight seeing opportunities. So many things are within walking distance or close to public transportation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riley W
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the review and 5 star rating! Our amazingly hospitable team will be delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay from entering our regal hotel to the time you checked out. We pride ourselves on courteous but efficient customer service so am pleased that you had a great stay! Our superior location is one of...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel itself is spectacular and breathtaking. The rooms are comfortable and elegant. Heated floors in the bathroom and television above the tub made for a very spa-like experience. Great vibes all around and also great location in London to be in since it is right next to all the places you'll want to visit and a block away from...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CelsoNYC
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the gracious review of your stay with us! I am so pleased to hear that you found our hotel beautiful. Our French chateau-style building boasts many of it’s original Victorian features, including the beautiful tiled floors as well as the crystal glittering chandeliers. Indeed our heated bathroom certainly add to a cosy, warm, relaxing experience...

WEST MIDLANDS
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A superb warm and welcoming hotel with the best staff beautiful bedrooms luxurious bathrooms with underfloor heating and TV and toiletries , comfortable beds The breakfasts have it all from indulgent to healthy !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LYNNE P
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed every bit of your stay in our historic Victorian hotel - from our tastefully, stylish decorated bedrooms to our luxurious heated bathrooms. We receive a lot of delightful compliments regarding the tv in the bathroom - it is indeed indulgent!...

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Would highly recommend to all - well located, beautiful hotel with professional, helpful staff who couldn't do enough to make our stay extra special. Convenient to all the major sights and a tube station on the doorstep.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deb-Woodstone
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Hello and thank you so much for the recommendation! I am pleased to hear that you were treated to our 5* service. The team have a genuine passion for delivering excellent customer service in a warm, friendly and welcoming manner and I am extremely happy to hear that you were well looked after. We are in an enviable location -...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Was a lovely room with a magnificent view. Extremely good service and a memorable stay. Very happy with the service from all staff especially the man ( cannot recollect his name though) on the night shift.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chetna K
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you liked your elegant bedroom with its’ superb views of the River. Our guest satisfaction is of our highest importance and we are continually improving to ensure our 5 star service exceeds expectations on each occasion. I am delighted that you had a...

Fairmont, West Virginia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Royal Horseguards for several nights and found the experience very positive and plan on returning again.The front desk staff were excellent and the service for the restaurants were very good and professional...Good choice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muriales1950
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the 5* review of your stay with us! I am delighted to hear that you found our staff exceptional and had a wonderful stay. Attentive, friendly and courteous service go a long way to deliver first class service. I am thrilled to know that we met your expectations on this stay. Please be assured that I...

Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I spent a fair bit of time reviewing hotels before I booked the Royal Horseguards - so pleased I did and an amazing price. My daughter, who lives in Leeds, and myself from the Cotswolds had a weekend in London for her birthday celebrations. This hotels was in a fabulous location as we wanted to be near the embankment, Trafalgar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnieO60
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to share your 5* review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you liked the stylish, beautifully decorated room assigned to you. We are very proud of the service and standards we offer and having the facilities and amenities available ensure that our guests have...

2,188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1595)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (280)
Viewed
View from Room (170)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (376)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (575)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (527)
Viewed
Amenities (82)
Viewed
Executive Child Friendly Twin with Interconnecting King Room (63)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with River View (64)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with Street View (61)
Viewed
Executive KIng Room with Romantic Turndown (73)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)
Viewed
The Waterloo suite (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
3,498 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#19 of 1,088 in London
2,404 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#44 of 1,088 in London
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,088 in London
768 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,088 in London
3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
Cuisines: Contemporary, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Price Range: $388 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#88 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and other travellers.
79 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (79)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do upgrade to the 8th floor for excellent river views!”
momofthreepa, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bigger beds would be good but it really didn't make a difference on our overall rating. ”
rileyw379, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bring your converter since the outlet they provided for American tourists failed to function for us. ”
CelsoNYC, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms are worth the extra ! ”
LYNNEP381, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A room with a view of the Thames is a plus.”
19papa47, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5