We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Horseguards

Show Prices
#100 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Horseguards
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Horseguards
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,094: English reviews
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewed 28 July 2015

On first sight, this was a beautiful hotel. I stayed here 4 nights on a recent trip to London, but the trip was marred the last full day when I noticed some items missing. My Kindle Fire, two external batteries, and a backpack went missing from my room. Management had a ho-hum attitude, did an investigation and concluded their employees...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank silverbells12345
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear silverbells12345, Greetings from London to Mississippi, Thank you for sharing your review regarding your experience with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. First and foremost please accept my most sincere apologies for the downfalls that you have experienced during your time with us. I am deeply saddened as this is not the usual behaviour that we wish to aspire...

CARDIFF
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Amazing hotel, the location in London couldn't be better, easy access to all parts of London, the Embankment tube station just accross the road. A big thank you to James O'Connor the Customer Relation Manager, he was amazing , helpful, friendly and enthusiastic. He made the stay even more special, nothing was too much trouble. Every hotel should have a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TALESIN
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear TALESIN, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am upmost delighted to read that you had a fabulous stay with us especially for your partners birthday, what a lovely way to celebrate! It is our philosophy to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times and I am...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Amazing hotel, and very happy with the double upgrade to a suite!! Nice touch with the tv in the jacuzzi! Really good service from the moment we stepped out of the taxi, really recommend!! The breakfast buffet was nice, good selection to choose from - best hotel experience we have had in london :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisatkinsonline
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear chrisatkinsonline, Greetings from London to Dubai. Thank you very much for your great feedback, we are happy to know you were so pleased with your stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel! WOW I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time in one of our suites and enjoyed the TV in the Jacuzzi, these are...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Hotel is stunning beautiful decor and a great feel to it staff are so helpful in everyway you could possibly imagine rooms are beautiful with everything you need location is perfect everything is literally on your doorstep the hotel is very grand but not stuffy in the slightest the terrace is lovely to sit out and have a cocktail on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgeous24
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear gorgeous24, Thank you very much for taking the time to share such kind comments. I am delighted to read that you had an amazing stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel and that the team here made you feel so welcome; we wouldn’t want it any other way! It was a real pleasure reading your review and to...

cheshire
Reviewed 27 July 2015

This is an excellent hotel in a fantastic central location, I stayed on a one night business trip, however it would be great for newcomers to the city as most major attractions are within a short distance. Front of house staff universally friendly and helpful, great breakfast in elegant surroundings, my room was spacious with opening windows. My usual hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skyinthepieCheshire
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear skyinthepieCheshire, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Indeed we are privileged to be perfectly located in the heart of the city within walking distance of many attractions in London such as The London Eye, Museums, Trafalgar Square, and many...

Reviewed 26 July 2015

In July of 2013, my mom and I celebrated my 40th for a week at The Royal Horseguards after a crossing on the QM2. It was perfection from beginning to end. Our room was exceptional, spacious and luxurious. The staff took excellent care of us (surprise chocolates and champagne), helped us with dinner reservations, arranged drivers, and treated us with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carlisa2000
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear carlisa2000, WOW thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind review. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us back in 2013 to celebrate your 40th birthday after crossing the QM2. Your kind feedback is much appreciated and It will be a pleasure to pass onto the team who I...

Reading, Berkshire
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We stayed here as part of a weekend break to visit friends. We chose the hotel for its location, views ad high ratings. Check in was great and efficient, very friendly, all details correct. Disappointed when we went to our room to find it was an internal room with no view, but couldn't fault the room, it was clean, tidy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeteGreensmith
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear PeteGreensmith, Thank you for taking this time to share your review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted to read that our location was convenient for you as we are within walking distance of London’s attractions such as Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and many more places to visit. With reference...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night, on a virgin experience which involved a theatre visit, we opted for a pre theatre evening meal that is served from 5.30 until 6.30 would suggest that service should be from five o'clock to allow an enjoyable meal, we sat down and placed our order at 5.40 and we're...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Izzy625
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Izzy625, Many thanks for taking the time to share your review. I am delighted to read that you had an excellent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with the team especially our Food and Beverage Operations Manager regarding the time that you had waited for your food and...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We stayed here for a one night stay a couple of weeks ago. The hotel is absolutely stunning inside and out. The rooms were beautiful, clean and well looked after. All of the staff were welcoming, polite and an asset to the hotel, specifically Agnieszka on the reception desk who checked us in. The food at breakfast was delicious with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ali-bourke
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear ali-bourke, Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted to read that you had an amazing stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am really pleased that you found the bedroom that was allocated to you to be beautiful, clean and well looked after; the comfort of our guests is our highest priority so...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015

We had a marvellous two night stay in what is a quiet, peaceful and luxurious hotel. The staff were exceptionally kind and helpful, and charming too. The breakfasts were delicious, and sitting out in the garden, drinking beer or coffee and smoking, was incredibly pleasant and relaxing. We shall both return to stay in this hotel, and find peace and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 219tony
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear 219tony, Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel and we wouldn’t want you to feel any other way than in the comfort of your own home. Breakfast is the most important mean of the day so I am pleased to...

2,188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1595)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (280)
Viewed
View from Room (170)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (376)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (575)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (527)
Viewed
Amenities (82)
Viewed
Executive Child Friendly Twin with Interconnecting King Room (63)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with River View (64)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with Street View (61)
Viewed
Executive KIng Room with Romantic Turndown (73)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)
Viewed
The Waterloo suite (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
3,500 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#19 of 1,088 in London
2,405 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#44 of 1,088 in London
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,088 in London
3,827 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,088 in London
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
Cuisines: Contemporary, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Price Range: $388 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#88 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and other travellers.
79 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (79)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Specify that you will not accept an interior-facing room as, while they are likely as well-equipped as others, the location is depressing to say the least as there is absolutely no view of anything.”
Havenmaven, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do upgrade to the 8th floor for excellent river views!”
momofthreepa, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bigger beds would be good but it really didn't make a difference on our overall rating. ”
rileyw379, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bring your converter since the outlet they provided for American tourists failed to function for us. ”
CelsoNYC, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms are worth the extra ! ”
LYNNEP381, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5