We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Horseguards

Show Prices
#93 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Horseguards
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Horseguards
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,050: English reviews
Mill Valley, California
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Our friends recommended we stay here as the location is ideal, you can walk to so many of the must-see sites, and they were spot on. The breakfast is amazing, the rooms are really clean and comfortable, nice linens, heated towels and bathroom floors, it really is super comfrrtable. If there's any critique I can think of its that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelliekessel
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Kelliekessel, Greetings from London to California! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your 5* review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us to which you had found our bedrooms clean, comfortable and enjoyed our heated bathroom floor tiles. Indeed our...

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2015

We stayed here as a treat from my husbands birthday. We stayed for one night and I had arranged it as a surprise for his birthday. The hotel location was fabulous - we walked from hotel back to Victoria and took in many sights by foot. The exterior was impressive as was the main areas of hotel including reception and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JFMF0912
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear JFMF0912, Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted that you had an amazing stay with us, thank you for choosing us your preferred choice especially for your husband’s birthday. Indeed we are perfectly positioned in the historic heart of London and very privileged of our...

Detroit, MI
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

Please may I go back!?? My husband, toddler son and I stayed here for a few days recently on a visit to London. I feel so lucky for the experience! Location: wow. Within walking distance to Trafalger Square and literally on the Bank of the River Thames right across from the London Eye...and next to a pedestrian bridge and tube...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DETNYC
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear DETNYC, Greeting s from London to Detroit, Thank you so much for your heart warming and detailed review; these are the reviews I love to read. I am delighted that you had an amazing stay with us; I always enjoy reading about our guest’s experience. We are proud of the hospitality our team extend to our guests and a...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 June 2015

We booked for 2 weeks and for an extra 3 days after returning from a cruise, the location is great but the service patchy and at times woeful! Teapots and coffee pots were returned to the draw full of cold tea and coffee, cleanliness uneven, we rang the restaurent 3 times for them to hang up without answering, the Ipad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colombine28
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear colombine28, Greetings from London to New Zealand, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted to read that our location was convenient for you; indeed our location is one of our greatest attributes within walking distance of Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden and many more places to visit....

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 22 June 2015

I have had the pleasure of staying a couple of times at the Royal Horseguards and must say that it without a doubt is my favourite in London for the moment! Location is perfect, close to the busy West End, still very quit Whitehall location plus last but not least a magnificent front view over the Thames and the London...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phileas_fogg_esq
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear phileas_fogg_esq, Greetings from London to Sweden. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your 5* review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay with us and for reassuring us that The Royal Horseguards Hotel is your favourite hotel in London, what a lovely comment! Indeed our...

Reviewed 22 June 2015

We were treated like royalty from the very start check in was easy and staff were so nice and polite we were shown to our room by Robert the manager who showed us all the knobs buttons and plugs in our room as we were on our honeymoon we had wine and sweets and petals on the bed which was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elmato1984
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear elmato1984m, Thank you so much for sharing your 5* review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had an amazing stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel with amazing views of The London Eye, to which the team treated your like royalty; we wouldn’t want you to be treated any other way. Please be...

Reviewed 22 June 2015

First off - this is a good hotel - safe, quiet, clean. Breakfasts are excellent. A couple of downside points. First it might be worthwhile taking a look at a room if the staff say it doesn't have much of a view. The one I was offered first was looking into a back space about 10' across - on one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thegrebe
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear thegrebe, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Please be assured that I have shared your kind feedback with our Food and Beverage Operations Manager regarding the excellent breakfast, to...

Zug, Switzerland
Reviewed 22 June 2015

A great hotel for its location. You are at 5 mins from the National Gallery, it is very convenient. However, if you are allergic to dust, it might be problematic, due to the carpets (everywhere). However, the service was not exceptional and certainly not friendly, which was disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dom_Bourgeon
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Dom_Bourgeon, Greeting from London to Japan. Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. Indeed our location is one of our greatest attributes within walking distance of London’s attractions such as Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden and the National Gallery. I was disappointed to see that the service delivered to you upon...

Guildford
Reviewed 21 June 2015

We booked for proximity for Horseguards Parade but found this quiet location also really handy for the riverboats from the Embankment and about fifteen minutes walk to Covent Garden, ten to Houses of Parliament, closer to Trafalgar Square. The first impressions are really good; the hotel is in an iconic building, presumably formerly government offices, the lobby is spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelfromhampshire
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Travelfromhsmps… Thank you so much for taking the time to share your 5* review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read your amazing feedback and I am pleased to hear that you had an amazing stay with us. Indeed we are perfectly positioned in the historic heart of London alongside the River Thames and opposite...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 June 2015

This is a charming, old-style hotel with all the modern conveniences such as wifi, flat screen TV etc. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable and well appointed. The staff were very helpful and the overall hospitality was most warm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CherylJ123
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear CherylJ123, Greetings from London to South Africa, Thank you so much for sharing your 5* review. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel to which you enjoyed the flat screen TV in your bedroom. Please be assured that I have shared your kind feedback with the team who...

2,176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1583)
Viewed
View from Room (167)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (275)
Viewed
Bathroom (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (376)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (571)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (527)
Viewed
Amenities (82)
Viewed
Executive Child Friendly Twin with Interconnecting King Room (63)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with River View (64)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with Street View (61)
Viewed
Executive KIng Room with Romantic Turndown (73)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)
Viewed
The Waterloo suite (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
3,407 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#20 of 1,089 in London
2,379 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#39 of 1,089 in London
2,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
763 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#30 of 1,089 in London
3,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
Cuisines: Contemporary, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Price Range: $373 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#85 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and other travellers.
78 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (78)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with city-view rocks!”
 of 5 bubbles DannyandBetty, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were well presented and very clean.”
 of 5 bubbles Tel48, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choosing a room with a view is well worth it. We love best the river view.”
 of 5 bubbles 34ES, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a bigger room than standard or opt for a small room with river view”
 of 5 bubbles 428JamesB428, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not take Room 711.”
 of 5 bubbles Marklfc, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5