We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Horseguards

Hotels.comUS$247*
View Deal
#99 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$298*
US$247*
US$298*
US$247*
US$298*
US$247*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Horseguards
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Horseguards
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,096: English reviews
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Great weekend stay. The staff was very helpful, the room very nice, onderful breakfast. The prices at the bar little higher, but the drinks were delicious. The location is superb for shopping, sightseeing, to visit theathers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DDLL43
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear DDLL43, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted that you had a great weekend stay with us. Indeed our location is one of our greatest attributes within walking distance of London’s attractions such as Piccadilly Circus, Covent Garden and Trafalgar Square. Please be assured that I have shared...

Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Tasty lunch particularly enjoyed by my wife who strongly recommends the parsnip velouté and passion fruit and chocolate tart with raspberry sorbet. I had the poussin starter which was ok and we both had the pork chops which interestingly came with warm grapes and also a very nice mustard mash. The staff are pleasant and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John A
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear John A, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant and enjoyable dining experience with us in our One Twenty One Two restaurant. Please be assured that I have shared your kind feedback with our Food and Beverage Operations Manager who were all equally pleased...

New Romney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We needed a weekend away from our everyday lifestyle and chose the Royal Horseguards as the most central for our needs. The reception desk was very friendly yet professional and as we had pre-booked the process was quick and simple. We did a tour of the hotel to familiarise ourselves with the facilities and were very pleasantly surprised by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James_Denise
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear james_Denise, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your heart warming review. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We really appreciate your kind comments about the friendly and professional team, we always strive to deliver the best experience for our guest and I am thrilled that...

aylesbury
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We stayed here whilst attending an event in Trafalgar Square, the hotel was beautiful upon entrance, and its bar and restaurant were elegant and welcoming. The hotel staff were very attentive, but we did have something of a wait for our room to be made available, however the staff compensated for this by offering us a complimentary drink which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ndsmum
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear ndsmum, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am pleased to read your review and to learn that you had a great stay with us. Indeed we are privileged to be perfectly positioned in the historic heart of London with so many...

Jerrabomberra, Australia
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Had three nights here on a work trip. Good location near to tube, London Eye and Trafalgar Square. Walking distance up to Covent Garden and loads of theatres, pubs and restaurants. Rooms are not huge but decent enough. Expensive and not somewhere I would stay on a private visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jerraquaffers
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Jerraquaffers, Greetings from London to Australia. Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted that you had a nice three day stay with us. Indeed our location is one of our greatest attributes, within walking distance of London’s attractions such as Trafalgar Square,...

Puerto Madryn
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Unfortunately on our first night in the hotel we were given a very small room with an undersized bed with a wider matress that resulted on my wife falling off and badly hurting and scratching myself against the overcrowded furniture in the middle of the night....only then realizing that we couldn´t stay another night there. Next morning, at the lobby...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank miguelh416
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear miguel416, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent experience with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Kindly accept my most sincere apologies for the shortfalls you had experienced, it is with our greatest interest that our guests are comfortable with everything about their stay, especially the bedroom. Due to The Royal Horseguards Hotel...

McLean, Virginia
Reviewed 29 June 2015

If you are looking for a central location with the amenities of a large hotel, The Royal Horseguards is a good choice. Our room looked directly out at the London Eye, a "room with a view" that cost more than one without, but if you are a new visitor to London or seeking the comforts of a grander style hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Maureen G, Greetings from London to Virginia! Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us in one of our bedrooms that overlook The London Eye. We are privileged to be perfectly located in...

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

This quiet and gracious hotel has the best staff and service I've ever come across, Beautiful understated reception areas and very well appointed bedroom. The first evening we had dinner in. Very good, beautifully cooked and lovely ambience. Breakfast was comprehensive, (although not the best I've eaten - scrambled eggs not up to scratch). Having said that , no pressure...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nelliebean2014
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Nelliebean2014, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Indeed we are located in a quiet place alongside the River Thames yet only a short walk away from the hustle and bustle of London. Please be assured that I have shared...

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Only stayed one night so quick review only. We used it as a posh place to crash! I went to Hyde Park concert, my wife to Jersey Boys. Following morning, trip to Borough Market. Room was spacious, excellent facilities, we booked via LowCostHolidays with a best internet rate of £205, so our room did not have a great view, I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robinkeithclarke
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear robinkeithclarke, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your bedroom that you had stayed in and found our facilities to be excellent,...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Booked the Royal Horseguards for a 2 night weekend break. The hotel location is great 2 minutes walk from The Embankment tube station and right on the Thames virtually opposite the London Eye. The staff at the hotel are really good, very polite and happy to help, particularly the door staff, concierge and reception desk. We had booked a Executive...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Neil R
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Neil R, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us of your recent experience with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any disruptions that you have experienced with us. I would like to assure you that I take all guest feedback into consideration and I have reviewed your...

2,188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1595)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (280)
Viewed
View from Room (170)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (376)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (575)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (527)
Viewed
Amenities (82)
Viewed
Executive Child Friendly Twin with Interconnecting King Room (63)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with River View (64)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with Street View (61)
Viewed
Executive KIng Room with Romantic Turndown (73)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)
Viewed
The Waterloo suite (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
3,516 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#19 of 1,089 in London
2,409 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#46 of 1,089 in London
2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#28 of 1,089 in London
3,828 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,089 in London
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
Cuisines: Contemporary, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Price Range: $392 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and other travellers.
79 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (79)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Specify that you will not accept an interior-facing room as, while they are likely as well-equipped as others, the location is depressing to say the least as there is absolutely no view of anything.”
Havenmaven, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do upgrade to the 8th floor for excellent river views!”
momofthreepa, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bigger beds would be good but it really didn't make a difference on our overall rating. ”
rileyw379, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bring your converter since the outlet they provided for American tourists failed to function for us. ”
CelsoNYC, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms are worth the extra ! ”
LYNNEP381, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$247* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$247
Booking.comUS$247
TripAdvisorUS$247
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates