We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Academy

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Academy
The Academy
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

723 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Academy
See the most recent reviews
Showing 643: English reviews
Dresden, Germany
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Two hundred pounds for a twin room in which one can barely move. Bathroom with cracked and moldy tiles; no water pressure. Try washing long hair in the shower where you cannot stand straight. Working, which we had to do, with internet merely impossible due to slow connection. Overall a let down for that price!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edna M
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay whilst in London. I have asked our Maintenance Manager to investigate the issues described to ensure corrective action is taken to avoid similar circumstances in the future. I am pleased to confirm that...

Marple
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My mother and I stayed her for one night in June. The room was very small and up over 50 stairs at the top of the hotel . The bathroom was the size of a cupboard and had cracked tiles and mould around the shower basin. We were told on check in that breakfast was included so we went down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tori T
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I have privately emailed you in order to discuss the matter further. Regards Federico Ciampi

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The staff were very friendly and the hotel had pretentious at being a quality small hotel but did not quite make it. The rooms were small but adequate for single occupancy . I was glad I was on my own and the bathroom was incredibly small. So small to be dangerous at every move you could hit your shins or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting your feedback with regards to your recent stay here with us. I was glad to read that you found our room to be adequate for a single traveller however I was sorry to read that you felt that the bathroom was too small. Our property, being a townhouse, has different layouts depending on which...

Hampshire
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I cant really be bothered to write a long review other to say that the marketing of this hotel and the reality of this hotel are not on the same level. Pokey rooms, faded furniture and musty smell, steep stairs, no restaurant. Poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MickHampshire
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us. We were sorry to read that you did not find our hotel to be at the same level as showed on our website. The pictures and the description of the hotel are all reflecting the sizes of our bedrooms as well as of our...

UK
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel which is centrally located only a few yards from Tottenham Court Rd. We had a very well furnished and good-sized en suite room at the back of the hotel which was extremely quiet and had two twin beds pushed together to make one large double. We were able to check in nearly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LandDT2010
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for choosing The Academy Hotel for your recent stay in London. We are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay as indeed our historical building has some interesting features and having the chance to use a garden in central London is a major plus. Looking forward to have you again soon in our Hotel and please...

Luxembourg
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This hotel is extremely well-located, next to Russell Square, a few minutes walk to the British Museum on one side and to busy Tottenham Court Road on the other (and Central Line for business travellers). I've read some people complaining of the noise: definitely, the area is not the most quiet one in London... but this is the disadvantage, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YoyoAdvisor
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and indeed our location is right next to the main area of London. I am looking forward to welcome you again in the future and please do not hesitate to check on our website for various...

birmingham england
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This hotel well staffed hotel uses the space of a steeply staired old house well. We had a clean, compact room with effective air conditioning, though the wifi can be slow and somewhat unpredictable. Its location means that there are easy walks to take to the British Museum, Oxford Street, covent garden and the theatres. It is well placed for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vandasin
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We are glad that you had the time to share your recent experience here with us. Thank you for your feedback and great to read that you overall enjoyed your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the wi-fi issues that you have encountered. We have recently upgraded our system to ensure excellent service is provided throughout our...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Small hotel and very pleasant. Room was excellent,clean and well furnished. Air-conditioning worked well after the maintenance engineer came up very quickly and sorted it out. I have complained about a number of,more expensive,British hotels where the air-conditioning is a bad joke. Breakfast very nice but price a bit steep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexWembley
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting a review with regards to your stay here at The Academy. We are glad to read that you had the chance to fully enjoy our hotel whilst in London and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon. Please do not hesitate to check our website for the best offers and promotions as...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Fortunately we had only booked this hotel for one night! The web site of this "luxury four star boutique hotel" looked lovely and was in the location we required so we thought we had struck gold ... how deceptive pictures can be. Our double room was at the top of the hotel and up a lot of fairly steep stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank judy h
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Academy Hotel. I understand that a member of the management team already discussed your feedback whilst you were staying with us and I am sorry to read that you did not find our hotel to be satisfactory. Please rest assured that we...

Waterloo
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed 4 nights while attending a conference at UCL. Single room (#6) was small but sufficient. It was also very quiet, which I appreciated very much. Breakfast downstairs was also very good and was included in my rate (150 pounds per night). Wifi worked fine, although need for a new login password every day was a little annoying. Location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikalwaterloo
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for sharing your recent stay here with us at The Academy Hotel. I was glad to read that you did enjoy your stay and that the location was ideal for both your business and leisure purposes. Please accept my apologies for asking twice about the two items in the room and please rest assure that our...

338 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (157)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Double Room (23)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Luxury Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Single Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Twin Room (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#373 of 1,088 in London
928 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#536 of 1,088 in London
336 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#555 of 1,088 in London
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#130 of 1,088 in London
1,141 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#101 of 1,088 in London
1,663 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#460 of 1,088 in London
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Academy is one of London's most charming hotels. Located right in the heart of London's West End, it is just a stone’s throw away from the city's finest shops and restaurants and well located for visiting The British Museum. This four-star boutique hotel, in London's Bloomsbury, is made up of five restored Georgian townhouses with 49 rooms and is a comfortable base from which to explore the sights of our capital. This small, quirky hotel comes complete with a cosy library, beautiful conservatory and homely sitting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Academy

Address: 21 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $200 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Academy 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Academy Hotel London
Academy Hotel London
Academy London
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Academy staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Academy staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the rear, Gower Street is very busy and even with secondary glazing our room was quite noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles X6231KSneilb, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms are small, and check out the gardens don't miss them, breakfast you can pass”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room 61 which was a twin on the ground floor, but as the room is double glazed noise is minimal.”
 of 5 bubbles F1097MZhelenb, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Virginia Woolf suite was nice and surprisingly quiet fronting on Gower Street.”
 of 5 bubbles lolward, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“At the back of the building”
 of 5 bubbles P9885TKlorenac, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5