We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Thistle City Barbican

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle City Barbican
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,744 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,405: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hi, Just want to say a big thank you to Thistle City Barbican for hosting an amazing Xmas party from start to finish, The food was delicious and the stuff was amazing especially the barman (Melu) what a great character and a gentleman made us laugh all night, only down part it finished to early but Melu advised us the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just returned from a short break to London with my wife and ten year old son. Hotel situated near Old Street tube station and perfect for Central London. The room was a Premier room and was just fabulous. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. My son just loved the pool which is larger than the average hotel pool....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that the team looked after you. I was also pleased that you liked the new menu as we have only recently rolled this out! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice place, nice pool and spa. Good food, bar drinks quite pricey, fantastic location! Fish Central restaurant only 1 minute walk from the hotel is absolutely amazing and very reasonably priced. Rooms quite small but staff could not have been more accommodating if they tried.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lgilr0y
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel has a number of great facilities including a restaurant, 2 bars, Leisure Club with pool, sauna, steam room...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booking/Checkin/Room Pros Booked in online. Got to the hotel quick room key grab. Room was okay, comfortable base of operations. Fridge was a plus for storing extra milk, chocolate etc. Was fast when we asked for extra sugar. Extra pillows and ironing board useful. Cons No conditioner, had to buy some at local tesco. Facilities Pros Pool/Sauna/Steam-room a little small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samanthak459
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you initially had an enjoyable stay which was then disappointingly marred after your departure. I have asked one of the Relationship Managers at the hotel to contact you to ensure that the refund has been...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel looks like a nice and cheap business hotel. The prices are very reasonable for London, so great value for money. OTOH, you get what you pay for, so the cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. The towels had that "old" smell, I didn't feel like I had fresh towels when I checked in. Some crumbs I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. I would however be grateful if you could contact me on the email address below to advise which room you occupied so I...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arrived tired as hell from dragging my training material a looooooong way from Old Street tube. Although advertised as only a short walk..it's about 15 minutes through very dodgy streets! upon arrival they found my reservation but couldn't find that the room was paid for.. They sorted it out in the end...Room, which is supposed to be a premium...stinks like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anca G
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further particularly the room I would be grateful if you could contact me on the email address...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for one night. Room was small but clean, however got very hot at night. For me, the bed was very comfortable however my partner found it too hard and woke up with a bad back. Hotel is located a 10 minute walk away from old street, giving us easy access to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiaRichards1
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel is easily accessible to Central London with Old Street and Barbican underground stations about a 10 minute walk away. I look forward to welcoming you...

Oswestry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arrived. Dreadful checkin by most unfriendly male. £150 paid. Room offered was freezing, shoe box size and not in main hotel. Complained and given another room in main hotel. Furniture and tv were dated and room not very clean. Could hear guests moving around all night. Went to check out and another most unfriendly receptionist tried to take another payment....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David P
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further particularly the unfriendliness of the team I would be grateful if you could contact me on...

london
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

clean, quiet, with good little gym and a pool, sauna, jacuzzi ( bit tired and past its prime) functional, good wifi, i would stay here again, old 60s building and its not exactly in Barbican, more kinda clerkenwell, old street, walkable to shoreditch and the city, and a 20 minute bus ride to the west end, good for the money,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jmsnjms
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel has a number of great facilities including a restaurant, 2 bars, Leisure Club with pool, sauna, steam room...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although outside of Central London it was a nice change to use the tube lines to travel around. Hotel was nice even though it was in a guite remote area,room was nice has were the staff would have no hesitation of staying again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. For the best deals, including free breakfast, please visit...

408 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (366)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (51)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (171)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#384 of 1,078 in London
578 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#285 of 1,078 in London
440 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Clerkenwell
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#603 of 1,078 in London
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $150 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Floor five on the corner was nice.”
 of 5 bubbles samanthak459, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the main street”
 of 5 bubbles RalphB270, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“boozy crowd while we were there , ask for a quiet room at weekends”
  • 6th floor room, quiet, good nights sleep
  • view 6th floor
  • bathroom, clean and functional
 of 5 bubbles jmsnjms, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 2243 was hotter than h*ll.”
 of 5 bubbles goonerista, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher the better.”
 of 5 bubbles paddytraveller2016, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay