We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thistle City Barbican

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thistle City Barbican
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,888 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thistle City Barbican
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,516: English reviews
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2014

After booking the hotel for a weekend away to celebrate the end of my degree, I read the comments on tripadvisor. I was extremely concerned having read the reviews but to my relief the hotel was fantastic. The Staff were very friendly, the room was lovely and very clean. The breakfast was lovely and plentiful and offered a wide variety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Jenny T Thank you for writing such a lovely review of the hotel . I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will share the great feed back with the team . We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion Best wishes Jane and team

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The room was quite small but as a single I expected that. Having said that it was a 3/4 bed. The room was clean and quite modern. The hair dryer was a proper hair dryer and there was a light and mirror in the same place!! The room was really hot and when you opened the window you got the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louise d
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Louise D Thank you for taking time to write a review of the Barbican . I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt we were value for money . We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best wishes Jane and team

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Absolutely tiny room with broken windows. The elevator didn't work.there's no way this is a 4 star hotel. The lobby looks nice but the rest of the hotel is very old & outdated.I would never stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank misslyss22
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Misslyss22 Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle City Barbican I was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us . Unfortunately on occasions we do experience lift break downs and we do try to attend to these problems immediately .We have two lifts in each building and if one breaks down...

Reading, Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Was'nt sure what to expect as this was booked as a surprise stop over by my wife to celebrate my Birthday. So, having asked if there was parking and been told simply "yes", we arrived at this 463 room Hotel to find it has just 11 parking spaces, yes folks JUST 11!! Reception told us, you cant book a space,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 600andy
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Andy Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican . I was sorry to read that our car parking facilities had not been made clear to you and this was the first impression of the hotel. I was pleased to read that check in was efficient and you found the room clean...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The room was small but clean and perfect for our 2 night stay in London. The staff were all incredibly friendly as were the majority of other guests. The only bad point about this hotel would be the food quality. The breakfast is a buffet style meal and unfortunately I found the food to be cold and bland, however it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chanta0000
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Chanta Thank you for your very positive review of the hotel I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us . I have noted your comments in regards to the breakfast which we will act upon . we appreciate your feedback . Best wishes Jane and team

Copenhagen
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I can’t recognize any of the very negative reviews for this hotel. The surrounding area is an upcoming part of London with many nice cafes and restaurants and shops. I never felt unsecure when walking in the area and I did a lot of walking as my meetings took part in city of London. Breakfast was fine. Only small annoyance...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meyer_10
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Meyer_10 Thank you for the very positive review of the hotel and the surrounding area. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay . Thank you for your feedback Best wishes Jane and team

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed one night in a double room for £117 booked through Amoma. When I checked in I was told it was a twin room & I could upgrade for a better room. Explained that I'd booked & already paid for a double room, which they did then agree to honour. Room was clean & air con worked fine, although without...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Digsy247
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Digsy Thank you for writing a review on the Thistle City Barbican I was pleased to read that you found your bed clean and comfortable and appreciate your comments in regards to breakfast . Thank you for your feedback Best wishes Jane and team

England
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I paid around £75 per night for a single room. I expected . a lot better for the price. The communal areas are well kept but I was put in the building across the other side of the road and the room (2138) was terrible. The windows were drafty, the decor terrible and the decoration looked like a complete amateur...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slippeddisc
b170utter, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for writing a review of the thistle Barbican I was sorry to read that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay with us . Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate and will act upon best wishes Jane and team

Reviewed 10 May 2014

I can only describe this hotel as terrible. To start with it's not at The Barbican it's a good 10 to 15 minute walk away. When I finally got there I had to wait 50 minutes to be served my food. I eventually had to ask a waiter why my food was being served 15 minutes after a couple that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ringo1961
b170utter, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Ringo Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle Barbican I was very sorry to read that you experienced such delay's in service. On occasions at peak service times we may experience small delays with being seated for breakfast but we do try to manage this . I am disappointed that on this occasion we failed . Thank...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2014

As a business traveller this hotel falls well short of expectations. Do not stay here. The room is small. The windows do not open and are filthy and there is no air conditioning or fan in the windowless bathroom. Room service food was poor - tiger prawn linguine was luke warm with shrimps, cold undercooked carrots and none of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine L
b170utter, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Elaine Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle City Barbican I was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you did not have the facilities needed for a comfortable stay . Our standard accommodation is not air conditioned and certain items like mineral water and herbal tea are not...

452 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (411)
Viewed
Room/Suite (108)
Viewed
Bathroom (59)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (195)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#444 of 1,088 in London
617 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,088 in London
516 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#664 of 1,088 in London
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $172 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Rotterdam
1 month ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ein anderes Hotel”
OlivZack, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Premium rooms have air conditioning.”
  • Comfortable bed
  • Sort of city view.
  • Desk/TV
  • Spacious room, nice carpet.
  • Pleasant ambience to room.
  • Functional bathroom
C6631CHmartinw, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to book room in the main building!!”
butorg, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“2229 very good room”
marit55, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“In a different hotel.”
Sam_Be, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5