We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shakespeare Hotel

902 reviews
#660 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Save
Traveller (271)
Room & Suite (282)
Dining (26)
Overview
  • Excellent12%
  • Very good33%
  • Average29%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (902)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Shakespeare Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
52
103
72
48
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
52
103
72
48
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to paddington stationsister hotelexplore londona lovely staywould stay againlocation is greatrooms are smalloxford street
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017

I had one of the worst nights in a hotel that I can remember. On checkin I was given a room on the 3rd floor. I had booked a few months in advance so I was expecting something satisfactory. I knew there were no lifts...More

Thank Marg2956
Response from PaddingtonHotels, Manager at Shakespeare HotelResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Marg2956, Thank you for writing this honest and detailed review. We are really sorry you were discontented with your stay overall and wouldn't stay with us again. The room you booked and were allocated was one of our economy single rooms and is indeed...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

It's in a good location, the receptionist was a lovely and helpful gentleman, and it's cosy. Of course the rooms are basic, but for the price I wouldn't expect any more. It is less than five minutes walk to Paddington station, so of course the...More

Thank RachBowski
Response from PaddingtonHotels, Manager at Shakespeare HotelResponded 9 August 2017

Hi RachBowski, Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to review us. We are glad you were satisfied with your stay in our Hotel and our staff managed to offer you good, welcoming hospitality. Hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 4 August 2017

It was our second hotel in London. It is O.K. for one or two nigths. Narrow room, but the bed is big. All you need to pass short time. Next to not so expencive restaurants and pubs and small stores. If you got coins left...More

2  Thank Phil C
Response from PaddingtonHotels, Manager at Shakespeare HotelResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Phil C, Thank you for reviewing us. It is good to see you had a good stay and a good night sleep in our Hotel. Thank you for choosing us. Kind Regards Shakespeare Hotel

Reviewed 30 July 2017

We stayed here because of it's proximity to Paddington Station. It could be described as budget at best with very small rooms. The "ensuite" was narrow and maybe 1m wide at most with a shower, toilet and basin. We were given a triple room despite...More

Thank Graham L
Response from PaddingtonHotels, Manager at Shakespeare HotelResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Graham L, Thank you taking a few minutes to review us. We welcome all feedback and we do benefit from that. We are indeed a budget Hotel in central London and we aim to offer quality accommodation at the lowest possible rates for the...More

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Only good thing about this hotel is the wifi and location, it is an easy walk to Paddington station and buses, restaurants and pubs, a supermarket, laundromat, Kensington Gardens. Room was very small and old more budget style. No lift or air con or fan,...More

Thank Sherelleo
Response from PaddingtonHotels, Manager at Shakespeare HotelResponded 3 August 2017

Hi Sherelleo, I am really sorry for your experience. We are indeed a budget Hotel and we definitely do not have a lift or air conditioning, we could have borrowed you a fan though to make the recent heat more bearable. Please email me your...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
13456770
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Breakfast included
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$85 - US$244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$85 - US$244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (271)
Room & Suite (282)
Dining (26)
Amenities (7)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Alfredo A
9 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from PaddingtonHotels | Property representative |
Dear Alfredo A, I am afraid we do not have any parking permits so we cannot provide parking. You can park on street surcharge for £2.40 per hour Monday - Saturday 8.30-18.30, outside those hours parking is free. There are... More
1
Vote
Indre S
10 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from PaddingtonHotels | Property representative |
Dear Indre S, Both lines will bring you straight at Paddington, so I would suggest you may take any of those two. Bare in mind that they both exit by the canal, at little Venice, which means you will have to walk 5 minutes... More
1
Vote
PreviousNext
12345611
Room Tips
"If you find steps a bit difficult ask for a room on ground floor as there are no lifts to higher floors."
Read review
"Rm 133, one flight up. Pleasant big window onto light well, Not a sound heard from outside the room."
Read review
"If you are traveling in pairs, rather choose a family room than a room for two, as a room for two is catered..."
Read review
"Ask for ground floor room if you can't get yourself or bags up very narrow stairs."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing