We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mitre House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Expert photos
Mitre House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

538 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mitre House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 376: English reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Just loved the place! Great and friendly service! Could strongly recommend this place! The rooms are clean and the wifi worked perfect during my stay. The bar is very cosy, so finished my days with a beer there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank André F
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your eye catching headline for which we are grateful. We usually respond to the negative reviews which require restraint and deep breaths rather than wonderfully crafted reviews such as yours. Thank you once again for taking the time to voice your opinions.

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights two adults and two children in a family suite - a bit surprising arrangement with two separate rooms but actually fine. Located 5 minutes from Paddington Station. Small shops and restaurants in the neighbourhood. Hotel is ok for the price - quiet at night and with a full english breakfast which was good. Staff is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Heard great reviews about this 'Hotel' since a very long time ! We had booked this hotel for 8 days ,well in advance for the upcoming Vacation in month of October 2016. My review based on multiple factors - Location - 5 mins walk to Paddington and Lancaster Gate Tube Stations ! HOHO Buses like Big Bus and Golden Tours...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank alkaminos
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, On behalf of everyone connected with The Mitre we are truly humbled by your review. Thank you very much and we look forward to your next visit.

Vancouver Island
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 10 (!) nights at the end of September. Our room was tiny (hey, this is London!) but very clean with a comfy small bed. Yes, it could definitely use an update, and it's a bit noisy, but then again we thought it all part of our London experience. The value and location of this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Happyroosterrick
Reviewed 1 October 2016

I stayed here for four nights in September 2016. The location next to Paddington Station is very convenient and the price was good. I enjoyed reading in the evenings in the comfortable room off of the lobby and I enjoyed a drink in the small bar area. The room was nothing amazing, but it was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meredith L
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your thoughts following your recent visit. We did indeed have some issues with BT wireless connections that was sorted out over a couple of days in September and we apologize if this was inconvenient but as you say these things happen and were beyond our control. The member of staff that did not give you...

Round Lake, United States
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Very nice staff and excellent location close to Paddington Station. I chose this B&B because we were taking the Heathrow express to and from London. It was walking distance and a good price for three sharing a room. Staff was helpful with suggestions for eating. Good breakfast, and oatmeal. Hop on and Off bus stop 1 block away.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John P
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This is a small hotel older style, very close to Paddington Station for the Heathrow express train. (5 mins walk) The hotel could do with a freshen up and the room we had could have done with a new bed and some larger sheets! The breakfast was simple and the staff in the breakfast room were very helpful and pleasant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chez2516
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Located very strategically in the heart of London and very near the train station, this little hotel is comfortable, cozy and clean. The service is impeccable and the housekeeping staff is excellent. I have no qualms of introducing this hotel to any fellow travellers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny T
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

I spend one night on his hotel. The room was clean but small. Queen size bed of good quality. The room was ground floor and almost surprisingly quite. Next to the hotel paddington station not far you find a lot of restaurants. Only a stone throw from Hyde Park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I joined Tripadvisor just so I could put my word in on this wonderful hotel. I was disappointed to see so many negative reviews - I'm not sure where these others have stayed before and what they have paid for it but you truly get value for money in this hotel. My parents and I travelled to London for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Canadirene

363 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (245)
Viewed
Double Room (29)
Viewed
Junior Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Triple Room (Double and Single Beds) (32)
Viewed
Triple Room (Three Single Beds) (25)
Viewed
Twin Room (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Rhodes Hotel
#289 of 1,077 in London
1,298 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#482 of 1,077 in London
446 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#394 of 1,077 in London
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darlington Hyde Park
#191 of 1,077 in London
2,006 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#606 of 1,077 in London
740 reviews
Stylotel
#501 of 1,077 in London
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a prime location just north of Hyde Park. Served by 2 underground stations, Paddington and Lancaster Gate just a few minutes walk away. Old style architecture but with comfortable, clean and secure rooms. Staffed 24 hours a day this well established hotel is an independent hotel designed for individuals. Lift access to all floors and a free car park (20 spaces) based on a first come basis in front of the hotel. English Breakfast. Bar and piano lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mitre House Hotel

Address: 180 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $133 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitre House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Mitre House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mitre House Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Mitre House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request room 310 at the back of the hotel. Very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles KMC1966132, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if you need a family room, check before booking if the room is really one room or two separate rooms connecting outside.”
 of 5 bubbles pe142, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Insist on a room without a connecting door. Check the sheets before you use them!”
 of 5 bubbles timm114, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Though they have a lift to the rooms, it is extremely small and the entrance is not accessible.”
 of 5 bubbles meredithl631, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“2 connecting rooms to make bedroom suite for 4 people”
 of 5 bubbles johnpF6614EK, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay