We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thistle Kensington Gardens

Hotels.comUS$124*
View Deal
#291 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$197*
US$124*
US$197*
US$124*
US$197*
US$124*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Kensington Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,866 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thistle Kensington Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,567: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a 3 night stay at the Kensington Thistle hotel recently. From the moment we checked in, the staff went out of their way to please. The room we were allocated was a standard room as we had booked this during the Sale period. During the first evening, the heating in the room went faulty so we reported this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our philosophy to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and I have shared your feedback with all my team. We are happy...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Thistle Hotel, Kensington Gardens. Fantastic staff, especially the lovely Dante on reception. Thanks for making us feel welcome! The hotel was a stones throw from Paddington. The room was great, as was the lovely bar and restaurant area. We'll be back as soon as our travels allow... :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and its services. We are truly pleased to hear that you had such a comfortable stay here at Thistle Kensington Gardens. We pride ourselves on our team and our customer service so it is with great pleasure I can pass the positive feedback you have given, to the team (especially...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Thistle Kensington Gardens on a recent visit to London and found the staff very helpful and the hotel well located and good value for money, given its location. Kensington Gardens is literally right outside the front door and we took leisurely walks around the beautiful park. The rooms are quite small but they have most of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nbejozi
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and its services. We are truly pleased to hear that you had such a comfortable stay here at Thistle Kensington Gardens. We pride ourselves on our team and our customer service so it is with great pleasure I can pass the positive feedback you have given, to the team (especially...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel after we had a fabulous time on our honeymoon, now 2 1/2 years later the hotel was as amazing as ever. Rooms nice, clean and comfy, food exceptional and staff always helpful. Its is ideally placed to visit all the sights, with the quiet and calming Kensington gardens a stones throw away. We cant wait to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danni D
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Happy 2 1/2 year anniversary. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at Thistle Hotel Kensington Gardens and that everything was to your satisfaction. It is great to learn our team had all displayed such an impression throughout your visit to ensure you could have an enjoyable stay, it's our pleasure. I look forward to the pleasure...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Conveniently located. Room small but neat. Somewhat dated. Service great. Free wifi slow. TV okay. In all not bad. No bar fridge. Elevators tiny. Staff very helpful. Relatively quiet. Check in and out easy. Did not sign up for breakfast so unable to tell you much there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda B
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

We are grateful for your comments from your recent stay at Thistle Kensington Gardens. Thank you for highlighting the benefits of our location and facilities. It is a delight to hear that the team were helpful and gave great service. We will review the WiFi immediately to ensure there are no further issues and I do apologise for the size...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can highly recommend this well located hotel! The rooms were very nice and clean and the lobby really cool (also if you wanted to have drinks in the evening). What I liked most was the great staff there! Everybody was super nice and helpful! Especially the manager Johannes was the best! Very competent and helpful young man! You can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AliceausSchweiz
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Following your recent stay here at Thistle Hotel Kensington Gardens, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our philosophy to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and I have...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, room was clean and very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and willing to meet all your requirements. Breakfast ticked all the right boxes, my girls enjoyed every bit of it. Will definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charmaine B
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear that you mentioned our team as "very friendly" and the compliments for our breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for four nights in an executive room. Travelled as mother with a grown up daughter. First we got a rather small room at the 7th floor. Then we were moved to a bigger room at the sixth floor. We specifically asked for a quiet room, so I do not quite understand why they gave us a room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Birgitte B
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Following your recent stay here at Thistle Kensington Gardens, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our passion to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. We apologise for the disappointment you have felt regarding any noise issues you had...

Jerusalem Israel
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a fine, comfortable and clean hotel, overlooking Hyde Park. Good breakfast. Don't take connecting rooms unless you want to hear the neighbors. Wi-Fi is free but unfriendly. Keeps cutting off. Friendly staff will help you to fix it - but why not offer a better quality connection in the first place. Due to the storm in New York...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trikoJerusalemIsrael
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you had a good breakfast and thank you for recognising our team in a positive light. Due to the days of the week you stayed the rate varies however I do apologies if this was not communicated in the correct way and I will...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took my sons on their very first trip to London and chose this hotel due to location. Directly across from Kensington Park, bus stop and underground less than 5 minutes away on foot and plenty of eateries nearby. We found the room clean, comfortable and quiet even though we faced the main road. The buffet breakfast ticked all the boxes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MushyMarsh
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear that the location was perfect for you and your young family. I will enjoying passing on your feedback to the team regarding the room and our breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

438 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (380)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (156)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#360 of 1,088 in London
868 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#406 of 1,088 in London
277 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,088 in London
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road, London W2 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $212 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#215 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Kensington Gardens staff and other travellers.
43 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (43)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Kensington Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room 619 has a fantastic view of kensington park and further we could also saw the lndon eye. The accesibiliy was good in all floors.”
ruthmQ7250EW, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“High floor facing park good luck”
Shelter2016, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Views of the Kensington gardens get traffic too, quiet at the back on higher floors.”
GS1706, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a views of Kensington Gardens are available at an extra charge.”
nbejozi, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book as high as possible and at the front for best view, Corner suites bigger.”
294dannid, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$124* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$124
Booking.comUS$124
TripAdvisorUS$124
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates