We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thistle Kensington Gardens

Show Prices
#292 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thistle Kensington Gardens
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,817 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thistle Kensington Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,530: English reviews
Whiteley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015

I stayed here for the night with my 14 year old daughter as we were attending a Late Night Prom at the Albert Hall. The hotel was an excellent location for the Hall which was a lovely walk through Kensington Gardens. If I was a tourist I think it would be perfect, very close to tubes, Queensway, Bayswater, Lancaster Gate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_5ims
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Dear The_Sims, Your 5/5 review was a pleasure to read - thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. I hope we can become your hotel of choice when staying in London. Please contact me directly should you wish to return. Thanks again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew Byrne, General Manager

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Room service such as cleaning rooms very haphazard and not done as effectively as expected Breakfast average help yourself and not well serviced Small rooms which did not allow enough room to store suitcases No ironing board

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rgwillis
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Dear rgwillis, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. Our breakfast and service are regularly commended, so I am disappointed that this fell short during your visit with us. Please do contact me directly - andrew.byrne@glhhotels.com - and I will ensure we offer a complimentary upgrade into a larger...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2015

The staff at thistle were lovely and very helpful, and when I had a problem with one of my meals they rectified the issue quickly and efficiently. The restaurant was a little expensive when taking into account exchange rates but were tasty.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aashad
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Dear aashad, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted the team helped you enjoy your stay and hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards - Andrew Byrne, General Manager

Coquitlam BC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights prior to our British Isles Cruise. We knew in advance it was over a gas station & convenience store but our first impression of the hotel was still a disappointment. The lounge & restaurant were a pleasant surprise. Reception staff were always cordial & efficient, Diana in particular. Guido was delightful in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoyCoquitlamBC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Dear JoyCoquitlamBC, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were able to review the hotel ahead of time, and delighted that you chose to recognise the team for the service they delivered, in particular Diana and Guido. I am sorry that you did not originally get the higher floor that you requested, as you can imagine from...

Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

First of all I would like to thank all the staff at The Thistle, they were welcoming and nothing to much trouble, also a big thank you for our room upgrade and the cake left in our room for my partners birthday. We eat in the restaurant at night, the food was amazing and not bad price for a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foot1104
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Foot1104, Thank you very much for your recent review, it was a pleasure to read. And thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us. I have shared your feedback with the team and in particular Barbara and Gerald - they are both delighted to have helped you enjoy your partner's birthday. I hope we can...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

I would recommend this Hotel, The staff are wonderful and the room was very clean.The shower was top class with a Power shower and lots of Hot water. The breakfast was excellent and you had a variety of items to chose from.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Haley A
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Haley A, Many thanks for your recent review and for your recommendation. I am delighted the team enhanced your stay and that you enjoyed our breakfast. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards - Andrew Byrne, General Manager

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Stayed for one night here, earlier this year with family, while visiting London for a special occasion. The hotel is in a great location directly opposite Hyde park. We booked two rooms and were offered an upgrade to junior suites which delighted us. They were spacious and had a separate living area with lovely views over Hyde Park and beyond....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RhN23
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Dear RhN23, Your review was a pleasure to read - this is exactly what we are trying to achieve for all of our guests who stay with us; a great location, comfortable facilities, a breakfast to set you up for the day and a team that will go out of their way to enhance your experience - thank you for...

Bridgeport, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Located directly across from Hyde Park. Kensington Palace was stone's throw away. Beautiful walk through Hyde Park to take in the sites such as Prince Albert Hall, Buckingham Palace and Princess Diana's memorial garden Located close to a few Underground stops and a quick walk to Portobello Rd for the crazy Saturday markets. Super service, including reasonable car service to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martykirch
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Dear martykirch, Many thanks for your 5/5 review, it was a pleasure to read. We are indeed in an enviable location with many convenient transport links and tourist attractions on our doorstep. I am delighted the team helped you enjoy your trip to London. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew Byrne, General Manager

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

stayed for one night booked on the day ! on arrival the chap that booked us in was so nice, helpful and friendly The room was small but very clean as was the whole hotel breakfast was good and plentiful we also got half price car parking, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Worstyk
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Worstyk, Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experiences. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope we can become your hotel of choice when staying in London. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew Byrne, General Manager

iceland
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Sorry to say, I dont know why I expected more. But it is on top of a petrol station, very odd entry into this hotel, thankfully our taxi driver on the first night got it right, since every single one after that was confused on where to drop us. Our room was small, very small, for 3 people, we really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisa026
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Dear lisa026, I was incredibly disappointed to read your review and would like to offer my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. Whilst we are indeed located on top of a petrol station, unfortunately I cannot do anything about that, nor can I change the physical size of our rooms. What is of more concern to...

420 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (363)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#347 of 1,088 in London
855 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#199 of 1,088 in London
743 reviews
Blakemore Hyde Park
#298 of 1,088 in London
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Rd, London W2 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $211 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#216 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Kensington Gardens staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Kensington Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would recommend the deluxe or executive rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles carolynd274, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For views over the park book a room at the front of the hotel, our room at the back and near the top was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles EssexEunie, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room over looking the Park.On 7th floor.no noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Shirley10Wales, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room overlooking Hyde Park”
 of 5 bubbles Pinkhill, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a view to Hyde Park”
  • View from the room
 of 5 bubbles theop236, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5