We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avo Hotel

#116 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Avo Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Start your review of Avo Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great little hotel. Staff were very friendly and made a real effort. Very authentic, small hotel feel. Room not huge as you'd expect in this area but very nicely done. Well priced too. Perfect for my needs. Thanks Avo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I wasn't very happy with the room and felt that it was very over priced. Whilst the staff were very nice and the room was reasonably quiet for a city room I was quite shocked by the size of it! We didn't have enough space to move around the room without taking turns! There was no where to put things,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jinxy52
Harstad, Norway
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Chose it due to price, some nice reviews and decent looking pictures. Room was tiny, not even place for 1 suitcase, let alone two. Should have chosen a larger room, but for that price probably would have gone somewhere else. Not in a nice area, lots of vomit on the sidewalks around there. Not the hotels fault, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar B
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We chose the location to be close to friends. Comfortable little hotel above an Indian restaurant. Room was small but clean and warm and had tea/ coffee making facilities. Bathroom was pleasant with good, hot shower. Reasonable London rate. Staff helpful and obliging. No street noise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louise902016
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

I was convinced by the website that this was a cool boutique hotel - It's just a former newsagents/flat converted with an indian cafe/takeaway downstairs. Poky, tiny room - the 'best' room in the hotel actually had less space than some caravans! Could not walk round the bed! According to the guest manual, breakfast was served 8 - 10. we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kate, We're sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us. We think that the building conversion is what gives our place character and many people have enjoyed our cosy but small rooms. Our breakfast is available on request and we do keep things tidied away for neatness. I hope you'll give us another chance, Sunny

Reviewed 11 November 2016

Three day city trip to London. The staff is really, really nice and you feel that it's their passion to try to make you happy. The location is good, four minutes walking distance to Dalston junction underground, one minute to several bus stations. We had a small or better really tiny room I the first floor. We knew it wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Michael, We're so glad you had a good stay, but we apologise for the height issue! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review though,, Sunny

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff and amazing Indian restaurant below. The rooms were clean and very modern, bathroom is great. The local area has a lot to offer, with a bar next door and a variety of restaurants up the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dewan R
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much Dewan. Come back again soon :) Sunny

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Apart from walking past first time it is easy to find set in a parade of shops. Boutique is well used. You do need to be ambulance as no lift and narrow stairs but all part of the magic. The room I had 301 was at the top with dual aspect and a great view of the city and may...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John, We're so glad you had a good stay! It's lovely to hear from you. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and please come back soon, Sunny

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 17 September 2016

The hotel turned out to be very disappointing compared with the chic and modern design and overall comfort repeatedly promised by its website. The compact room for 2 people in which we stayed was so packed with unfitting furniture that we had to take turns to walk around the bed in order to get to the bathroom. There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank argTraveler2013
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you feel we show a lack of accountability. I wish we had your name so that I could go over some of your concerns via email or phone? We ask people to contact us right away with any issues so that we can fix problems asap. In terms of positive feedback, we don't need to hear that directly,...

Essex
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed in the top floor 'suite', which is tiny as described, good comfortable bed, however pillows were very hard, and only one dressing gown provided, there was a distinct smell of tobacco smoke,not good. Lovely hot, powerful shower, good air con. Wouldn't stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fifiEssex
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're so sorry that your room smelled, we will definitely look into that if you can confirm when you stayed? Our rooms are all non-smoking so this has not been an issue before... We also of course, have more pillows and dressing gowns for our guests on request :) Sunny

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Premier Inn London Hackney Hotel
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#594 of 1,088 in London
128 reviews
Hotel 55
#416 of 1,088 in London
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Global Lodge
Global Lodge
#197 of 837 in London
6 reviews
East End / East London
The Old Ship Inn
The Old Ship Inn
#165 of 573 in London
155 reviews
The Luxury Inn
#81 of 573 in London
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Italian Vogue calls Dalston "the coolest place in Britain". Avo Dalston, a boutique hotel in the heart of vibrant Hackney, caters to savvy locals and tourists with special touches like memory-foam mattresses, luxury Elemis toiletries and a showcase of local art and photography. Our values are based around exemplary service and environmental responsibility. For example, our menus are animal friendly, and we provide travel aluminum water bottles for our guests to use during their ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avo Hotel

Address: 82 Dalston Lane | Dalston Hackney, London E8 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Price Range: $138 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avo Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Norfolk, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Avo Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back will be quieter”
Jinxy52, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on first floor at rear and did not experience any street noise.”
louise902016, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't take the budget room.”
H8308JEmichaelb, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you don't like stairs ask for a lower placed room.”
860adriann, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“This is a small hotel and the rooms reflect this but they are nicely done out and well equiped.”
chrispB7261CL, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates