We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
48-55 Tavistock Square Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$144
TravelocityUS$144
Trip.comUS$145
AlgotelsUS$151
TripadvisorUS$144
FindHotel
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (767)
Room & Suite (356)
Dining (74)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 11/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Tavistock
Updated 11/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#606 of 1,195 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on Tavistock Square Gardens the hotel offers stunning views as well as offering remarkable value for a historic Bloomsbury hotel. A great choice for business or leisure guests. You will find the Woolf & Whistle - a friendly bar nestled in the Art Deco ground floor of the Tavistock Hotel. Retaining the hotel's original 1920's features with a modern and elegant twist, Woolf & Whistle takes its inspiration from the famous 20th century writer Virginia Woolf, who once lived and worked in the neighbourhood. Providing a welcoming haven to our guests, locals and visitors to the area; our pub serves classic cocktails alongside traditional pub favourites in a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere. After all, a wise woman once wrote, ‘’One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.’’ The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Car hire
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Finnish, Italian
3296Reviews85Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 446
  • 1,264
  • 993
  • 374
  • 220
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JKBLondonUK wrote a review Sep 2022
London UK12 contributions27 helpful votes
I needed to book an overnight stay in London. The Tavistock has a membership discount scheme. The price for 1 night was £122. The room overlooked a side road which was not too busy, considering the location in Central London. You can request a quiet room. All the members of staff are extremely polite, professional and helpful. I had dinner in the Hotel restaurant Poppadum Express. The food is excellent and very good value. Overall a very happy customer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hugo Stevenson, General Manager at Hotel Tavistock
Responded 6 days ago
Dear JKB, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your great experience at the Tavistock Hotel. We are so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate your kind comments and look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire team and we will be sure to thank them for their continued high standard of service. It is always rewarding for our hard-working members of staff to receive such positive feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you for choosing the Tavistock Hotel. All The Best, Hugo Stevenson Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LandB wrote a review Sep 2022
Cote d'Azur, France17 contributions5 helpful votes
Nothing to fault really. Clean, tidy, excellent staff and service. And good curry in the bar. Great, safe location. 24 hr concierge makes late check-in an easy and pleasant experience. Really stands out amongst the other hotels of similar price in the area. (Reticent to leave this review in case it becomes so popular that I can't get a room next time!!)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hugo Stevenson, General Manager at Hotel Tavistock
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Land B Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your great experience at the Tavistock Hotel. We are so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate your kind comments and look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire team and we will be sure to thank them for their continued high standard of service. It is always rewarding for our hard-working members of staff to receive such positive feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you for choosing the Tavistock Hotel. All The Best, Hugo Stevenson Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hayley B wrote a review Sep 2022
Hastings, United Kingdom19 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
The hotel staff are so very friendly and helpful. On arrival there was an issue with our bathroom in our room, so they simply switched us room. Both rooms were clean and had everything we needed. I will add the original room was on the 8th floor and very warm... Floor 3 was a much better temperature. The hotel itself is opposite a beautiful green area and is perfectly situated within walking distance to the theatre. We would come back again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: My only suggestion would be to bring a masterplug or extention lead as only one plug socket in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hugo Stevenson, General Manager at Hotel Tavistock
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Hjbird1 Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your great experience at the Tavistock Hotel. We are so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate your kind comments and look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire team and we will be sure to thank them for their continued high standard of service. It is always rewarding for our hard-working members of staff to receive such positive feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you for choosing the Tavistock Hotel. All The Best, Hugo Stevenson Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
a73736 wrote a review Sep 2022
England, United Kingdom1 contribution
this hotel is very warm even for England where it is cold. I have a condition that flares up when warm so they could have advertised this. When I asked for a fan was told there is not any left- how expensive is a fan per room, it doesn't have to be a fancy fan as there is no AC, and the window is not very useful too as it opens 2 inches. Front of house staff at night are not very pleasent too so try avoid them, very rude. it doesn't advertise AC but at least state the beds are rock hard and uncomfortable, if you have conditions that flare up with increased temperature not to book in with you. I `m not fussy nor do I ever leave a review, but I didn't check the reviews myself, as I booked in a rush. Also, parking is not run by them, I was told the sister hotel runs it and told to go there, who said another company runs it, it's £24 quid per day whether you book with the hotel or not, unless staying for long. It's not even cheap, stay in premier inn instead it's worth it in comparison.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hugo Stevenson, General Manager at Hotel Tavistock
Responded 1 week ago
Dear A We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about your recent experience at the Tavistock Hotel and we are disheartened and sorry that, on this occasion, we were unable to live up to your expectations. Your feedback is essential in our effort to improve our service standards and your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments so that they may be addressed. I have started n investigation in to this as what has occurred does not live up the company values, especially when i have spare fans on site to assist our guests. Thank you for your feedback on AC, unfortunately with the energy crisis, there are no plans for installing AC, but we are looking at other options such as large ceiling fans and we are starting this trial process shortly. Thank you for the feedback on your stay, as this is the only we can improve the hotel product and service Yours sincerely Hugo Stevenson Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miranda P wrote a review Sep 2022
10 contributions4 helpful votes
I would highly recommend this hotel for a city break or even longer stay. The rooms, though a bit small, are clean and the breakfast is excellent. There are coffee and tea facilities. People at the hotel are nice and welcoming. The location is excellent. Just 10’ walk to Sant Pancras and 5’ to British Museum
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hugo Stevenson, General Manager at Hotel Tavistock
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Miranda, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your great experience at the Tavistock Hotel. We are so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate your kind comments and look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire team and we will be sure to thank them for their continued high standard of service. It is always rewarding for our hard-working members of staff to receive such positive feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you for choosing the Tavistock Hotel. All The Best, Hugo Stevenson Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Megan T wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My friend and I traveled to London for my birthday and booked the Tavistock Hotel as it looked lovely on the pictures and was adequately priced. When we arrived, we paid for the booking and were provided with our key card. We arrived at our room and it was right next to the lift and was absolutely tiny - when I say tiny, I mean TINY! The bed was like a camp bed and had barely enough room to move around. We looked in the bathroom and it had clearly not been cleaned, with black mold on the walls and dirty shower, we refused to stay in this room. We went downstairs and asked to move rooms due to the above issues. Not once did they apologise for the issues and they were so rude to us. We managed to get another room on the 8th floor, we went up and the room was slightly bigger but was still dirty. There were bugs on the walls, mold in the bathroom and I hate to say it but brown stains on the bedding. In the end myself and my friend, one didn't feel safe and two didn't think it was clean enough to stay. We asked for our money back and they refused and said we needed to go through Expedia (who we booked through) even though we paid through their card terminals. I spoke to Expedia afterwards and they have confirmed that it was up to them to make the refund. Expedia have chased them and they have refused the refund, therefore, we never got our money back. Also the manager we spoke to was so rude and threatening, we are young twenty year old girls and felt threatened and scared so decided to leave rather than continuing the confrontation. When we looked back whilst waiting for our taxi, the staff were all staring at us and pointing and laughing at us . We felt so unsafe. Please, please, please avoid this hotel. I am not one to moan at all so don't sideline this review for a moaner! Think twice before booking this horrid hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hugo Stevenson, General Manager at Hotel Tavistock
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Megs We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about your recent experience at the Tavistock Hotel and we are disheartened and sorry that, on this occasion, we were unable to live up to your expectations. Your feedback is essential in our effort to improve our service standards and your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments so that they may be addressed. Please could you contact me at hstevenson@imperialhotels.co.uk as i would like to organise a time for a phone call so I can investigate what has happened and take necessary steps with those team members involved. I am sorry that you have had such a poor experience at the Tavistock, where we do pride our selves on great customer service and having very clean rooms. I look forward to speaking to you soon. yours sincerely Hugo Stevenson Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian H wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
Once again, another lovely time at this hotel. Friendly welcome at reception, spotlessly clean room with everything you need. Everything about the hotel is excellent value. It is really well located and staff are always on hand to help. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hugo Stevenson, General Manager at Hotel Tavistock
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Ian Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your great experience at the Tavistock Hotel. We are so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate your kind comments and look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire team and we will be sure to thank them for their continued high standard of service. It is always rewarding for our hard-working members of staff to receive such positive feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you for choosing the Tavistock Hotel. All The Best, Hugo Stevenson Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thebridge2015 wrote a review Sep 2022
Monmouth, United Kingdom6 contributions
Positives first , Junior staff on reception pleasant and helpful waiting staff always a friendly greeting in the morning and at the bar . Location is excellent if you want to explore London on foot , Tube rail and bus connections all close. Families on short breaks this maybe a budget option for you . Business users beware. In general the hotel is tired and in urgent need of a refurb it certainly is way behind Premiere Inn , Ibis Styles and indeed Travelodge. Normally we book double rooms for our teams but due to demand had to accept twins . The twin rooms are cramped the beds are narrow just over male shoulder width the duvets are small so expect to be chasing duvet around the room if your a restless sleeper , as mentioned in other reviews air con isnt available if you want to cool the room open the window but on the outer rooms expect traffic noise and on the inner rooms overlooking service area rooms are also subject to noise . You will have to rearrange the beds to create enough room to sit on the chair at work station. None of our team all engineers and tech savvy managed to access wi-fi offered . the bathroom was serviceable , the shower actually worked rather well. Bring your own water, plastic disposable cups in bathroom. If you enjoy travelling Lifts (elevators) your in for a treat . The hotel has a bar and restaurant . The bar closes at 2300 room service for drinks food etc isnt available after this time . This really isnt acceptable in this day and age . Overall the junior staff were very good the desk manager I encountered was confrontational and condecending when I raised some of the issues my team experienced. As a regular user of hotels for business I would avoid this one in the future . If your a family looking for a cheap break the accommodation is clean the breakfast is what you would expect and the staff are charming and helpful , middle management less so .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid twin rooms they are not fit for purpose
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hugo Stevenson, General Manager at Hotel Tavistock
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest I am disappointed to read about the issues that you and your team had with your stay. With London being fully booked, we were not able to offer you double beds. All our single beds are of a standard single bed size, which yes is always feels a bit narrow if you are used to a double bed. All our bedrooms are the same size be it a double, single or twin. We have 4 lifts which run to all floors in the building which like many hotels when busy can have delays. All floors are also accessed by 2 staircases too. The hotel has only been open for 12 weeks, and prior to this the hotel was closed for COVID. In time we will be looking to extend the bar opening times to beyond 11pm Sunday through Thursday. Fridays and Saturdays until late, as we are still recruiting team members. Unfortunately we do not have AC and nor do we advertise that we do either, we do provide a fan for each room, to try and assist with managing those hot days. Like many hotels we do not provide water in the guest bedrooms. I am surprised about the wifi issues you and your team encountered as we have had no complaints and in checking today across guest bedroom floors we have a full bandwidth. I am sorry that your interactions with some of the front desk managers was not what you expected and I shall follow up with the team about your feedback. I appreciate that there is plenty of choice of hotels in London and may be we do not fill the criteria for your self or your team and we provide a consistent level of service for the price we offer versus more premium brands. Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback and so we can further develop and enhance our hotel. Yours sincerely Hugo Stevenson Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KalleKanin wrote a review Sep 2022
Oslo, Norway10 contributions3 helpful votes
The photos lie a bit. The rooms you see is not what you get, they are much more worn (and old). The same goes for the bathroom. And the toilet won’t flush properly. The rooms do not have air-condition, and can get really hot. However, the service is excellent. The staff is super nice and friendly. You do feel really welcomed. The breakfeast is also very good, and they let you eat more even if the buffeet is technically over.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hugo Stevenson, General Manager at Hotel Tavistock
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Kalle, Thank you for your very positive feedback on the staff and the breakfast at the Tavistock hotel. With regard to photos, these are selection of the room types we have. As a building that was built 100 years ago not all the rooms stock are the same and the photos are just examples of what we have. As a hotel we do not have air conditioning and nor do we advertise having this feature either, which I am sure you would have been aware of when you researched this. We do have an on going redecoration process and as the hotel had been closed for 2 years due to Covid this has delayed updating of some of the bathrooms. Thank you for your feedback on the super service that we provided you and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Tavistock. Yours sincerely Hugo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bibycat wrote a review Sep 2022
Boston, Massachusetts13 contributions6 helpful votes
This is a good, simple, clean, convenient hotel in central London. The front desk is open 24 hours so it is easy to check in no matter what time. The staff are very friendly and helpful. TV, kettle, tea and coffee in each room plus a hair dryer. It is a bit hot on the upper floors but we were provided with a fan so we had no problems sleeping. We have stayed there many times over the years and would not hesitate to return on our next trip to London.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hugo Stevenson, General Manager at Hotel Tavistock
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Bibycat Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your great experience at the Tavistock Hotel. We are so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate your kind comments and look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire team and we will be sure to thank them for their continued high standard of service. It is always rewarding for our hard-working members of staff to receive such positive feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you for choosing the Tavistock Hotel. All The Best, Hugo Stevenson Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$115 - US$186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tavistock hotel london, tavistock london, hotel london tavistock
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonBloomsbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
395
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Tavistock
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Tavistock?
Nearby attractions include Faulty Towers the Dining Experience (0.4 km), Grant Museum of Zoology (0.4 km), and Agent November (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Tavistock?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Tavistock?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Tavistock?
Conveniently located restaurants include Choppaluna, Pizza Sophia, and 49 Cafe.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Tavistock?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Tavistock?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (2.5 km), Tower of London (4.0 km), and Houses of Parliament (2.8 km).
Does Hotel Tavistock have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Hotel Tavistock accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.