We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG England
38 people are viewing this hotel
Travelocity
US$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Hotels.com
US$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$135
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
travelup.comUS$173
TraveluroUS$137
ZenHotels.comUS$186
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2669)
Room & Suite (478)
Dining (162)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal National Hotel
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#622 of 1,195 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Car park
Public wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Czech
10660Reviews313Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 860
  • 2,309
  • 3,945
  • 1,712
  • 1,835
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Darren S wrote a review Yesterday
Holton Le Clay, United Kingdom821 contributions155 helpful votes
+1
Booked in this hotel as a last minute thing because our usual stay in hotel nearer Covent garden wasn't free, So happy we took the chance with this place. It's clean , Tidy, Rooms and Fresh , Bedding was Clean along with the room. Bathroom was clean and hot water a plenty . The shower was spot on and instant hot water that kept an Ambient Temperature. Hotel main reception was clean spacious with an on site mini shop selling , Snacks, Beers, Wines ,ECT which are well and truly fairly priced. I,E £3.49 for bottle peroni . (£5) in the bar on site. Food in the restaurant on site was really good, and again reasonably priced which might explain why it was pretty busy in the London pub that's on site . This hotel is huge and has a very very international cliental. Breakfast although very busy was well staffed and good was plenty and available. Only criticism is the food could be hotter but as for the quality that's offered I'd say perfect . All in All would we stay here again ... Absolutely YES .. Well worth the money and although a little outta the area we wanted it was worth the extra walk
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
iMacTravels wrote a review Yesterday
Edinburgh, United Kingdom22 contributions45 helpful votes
This was the most appalling hotel experience I have ever had. Firstly, the hotel is huge and has its own bars and restaurants outside, so it is noisy all night. While the lobby is clean and new, the rooms are old, dishevelled and disgusting, as if they were bad student accommodation. I had to sleep with a towel on my pillow because the pillows were so grotesque. The mattress on my single bed (!) was horribly lumpy, broken and uncomfortable. The light fixtures were full of dead flies and the room had a deep grime all over it. It also happened to be absolutely freezing at night, like the window was wide open, even when it wasn’t. I don’t know how this hotel is allowed to charge even half of what they do. DO NOT STAY HERE. The location is not worth the nightmare.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Betina G wrote a review 28 Sep
6 contributions
I had problems with my bedroom. Anyway, two people made my visit just perfect: Maria A., and Mohamed (from Portugal) . Two people very lovely and responsable. They need to receive credits for customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal National Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal National Hotel
Responded today
Dear Betina G, Thank you so much for leaving us such amazing feedback following your recent stay at the Royal National Hotel. We are overjoyed that you were impressed with our customer service, especially by Maria and Mohamed. We always aim to give our guests an outstanding experience and we are glad that they were able to do that for you. Rest assured that your comments will be passed on to our team. It is always rewarding for our hard-working members of staff to receive such positive feedback. Again, thank you for sharing such lovely comments and we hope to welcome you back again shortly! All the best, Karolina U. Royal National Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindenbowler wrote a review 28 Sep
United Kingdom22 contributions25 helpful votes
Good location in central London. Very Good value for money. The only problem I had was that it's such a big hotel I spent a while trying to find my room. So ensure when you check in that you know exactly where to go and understand which direction you are facing when you come out. Otherwise all fine.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal National Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal National Hotel
Responded today
Dear Lindenbowler, We value you for taking the time to leave us such amazing feedback following your recent stay at the Royal National Hotel. We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything to your liking. We are also happy that you took advantage of our central location and found it convenient for your needs. We apologise for the time it took you to find your room, we always try to give clear directions upon check-in. However, our concierge is always available in the lobby downstairs and is always happy to assist with finding the bedroom, we are sorry if you were not aware of this at the time of your stay. Again, thank you for leaving such lovely comments and we hope to welcome you back again shortly. All the best, Karolina U. Royal National Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexandra K wrote a review 27 Sep
1 contribution
I always have a great experience in the Blooms cafe in the hotel. I had a great milkshake and great customer service from Ignitius. They also have really great pizza and comfortable areas to sit in and spend time with friends or family.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal National Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal National Hotel
Responded today
Dear Alexandra K, What a delightful review to read! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such fantastic feedback following your stay with us at the Royal National Hotel. We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your time at our Blooms Cafe and that you found everything to your liking. We always aim to provide outstanding customer service and we are glad that Ignitius was able to do that for you. Rest assured your comments will be shared with the team, which I'm sure they'll appreciate. It is always rewarding for our hard-working members of staff to receive such positive feedback. Again, thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon. All the best, Karolina U. Royal National Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rick wrote a review 27 Sep
Chemainus, Canada5 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed at the Royal National Hotel for 3 nights and we found it very good for everything but the noise (room 3086) City Sleeper side! It seemed like the window wouldn’t close tightly and the street noise was bothersome ( they need to fix that!) All in all it was very good : breakfast was excellent , bed OK , area ( great) ! With a few upgrades it would be excellent! Thx
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal National Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal National Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Rick, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such great feedback following your recent stay at the City Sleeper at the Royal National Hotel. We are overjoyed to hear that, overall, you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We do apologise for your experience regarding the noise, rest assured I have passed your comments on to our maintenance department for review. Please note that we do have a reception available 24/7 and if you had brought this up whilst in-house we would've loved to rectify this for you. We are sorry if you were not aware of this during your stay. Again, thank you for sharing such lovely feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon! All the best, Karolina U. City Sleeper at the Royal National Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CARMEN wrote a review 26 Sep
1 contribution
I spent two weeks in this hotel and I have to say that the location and cleanliness are excellent. However, the internet did not work so well. Also the typical English breakfast nothing to say but the other things like fruit and scrambled eggs didn't have much flavor. It is less than two blocks from a very good subway line for tourism but the location is the best thing it has the rest could be improved.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal National Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal National Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Carmen, We appreciate you for taking the time to leave us feedback following your recent stay at the Royal National Hotel. We are glad to hear that, overall, you had a good stay with us and that you appreciated the hard work provided by our housekeeping department. We are also happy to hear that you took advantage of our central location and that you found it convenient for your needs. Your feedback is a crucial part of our efforts to improve our service standards and rest assured it will be passed on to appropriate departments for review so we can further better ourselves. We hope to welcome you back soon! All the best, Karolina U. Royal National Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marianne wrote a review 26 Sep
1 contribution
My partner and I came for a few days, the room was perfect for a couple on the move, local is also pretty central. Vishaal at the front desk was extremely helpful and is great ambassador for City Sleeper.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal National Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal National Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Marianne, We appreciate you for taking the time to leave us such an amazing review following your stay at the City Sleeper at Royal National Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room perfect for your trip. We are also glad that our location was convenient for you during your stay. Thank you for your kind comments about our receptionist Vishaal, we are glad that he was able to help you. We always aim to provide our guests with outstanding customer service and I am happy to see that he did just that. Rest assured that your comments will be passed on to him and the team, which I'm sure will be appreciated. Again, thank you for such fantastic feedback and we hope to see you again soon! All the best, Karolina U. Royal National Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hamlet Reynoso Vanderhorst wrote a review 26 Sep
2 contributions
I arrived to the hotel in a sorrow time for the UK. At an early morning, I though my room was not ready, but at the desk they did their best to get me a clean and confortable room to leave the lodge and enjoy London. I did not expected that, and this hotel made my experience of that day wonderful for this small detail. Thanks so much, Aizaz! Then, restaurant and breakfast buffet had vegan food completing a fulling experience of a decent experience at London. Thanks one more time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal National Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal National Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Hamlet Reynoso Vanderhorst, We really appreciate you taking the time to share this fantastic review with us following your recent stay at the Royal National Hotel. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that our receptionist Aizaz was able to make your stay memorable with his attention to small details. It is always rewarding for our hard-working members of staff to receive such positive feedback and rest assured your comments will be shared with him and the team. Again, thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back shortly. All the best, Karolina U. Royal National Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne L wrote a review 26 Sep
Bangor, United Kingdom3 contributions
Zubaur was very helpful at reception, allowed me to access my room early. Great at helping me with directions. Quiet room. Luggage room available. Great location and very close to Russell Square tube station
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal National Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal National Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Joanne L, Thank you so much for leaving us such a fantastic review following your recent stay at the Royal National Hotel. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with our service, especially with Zubaur from reception. We always aim to give outstanding customer service and ensure our guests have a comfortable and pleasant experience and I am glad that he was able to do that for you. Rest assured that your comments will be passed on to him and the team. It is always rewarding for our hard-working members of staff to receive such positive feedback. We are also happy to see that you took advantage of our central location and that it was convenient for your needs during your stay. Again, thank you for such lovely comments and we hope to see you again shortly! All the best, Karolina U. Royal National Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$108 - US$213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal national london, hotel royal national, hotel national royal, national hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonBloomsbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1630
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal National Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Royal National Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The British Museum (0.5 km), THATMuse,Treasure Hunt at the Museum (0.5 km), and Faulty Towers the Dining Experience (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal National Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Royal National Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal National Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal National Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Choppaluna, The Shell, and Pizza Sophia.
Does Royal National Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal National Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal National Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (2.4 km), Tower of London (3.9 km), and Houses of Parliament (2.7 km).
Is Royal National Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.