We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal National Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Royal National Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

7,491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal National Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,332: English reviews
Haifa, Israel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's main advantage: 5-minute walk from Russel Square Piccadilly line tube station. Otherwise, just another 3-star hotel. Our room was very basic and even kind of monastic: not a single painting on the naked walls. The only thing hanging on a wall was a tiny TV screen. The bathroom consists of a bath tub but no bath/shower jell was provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShlomoEshet
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, found your room adequate and you appreciated our central location, only a five minute walk to Russell Square Station. Equally, we do not advertise having air conditioning in any of our rooms at our...

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Right first of all I want to talk about the room I stayed in...I expected clean sheets instead I found outdated stained sheets with tiny hairs on them.The Bathroom and Room size was decent for two.Free wifi area was fabulous,cleaners and doorman were outstanding and very friendly to me and my friend.Other than that I can't think of any more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 007FI
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, found your room was a good size, were able to make use of our free Wi-Fi service and our staff were attentive and courteous. Equally, our housekeeping office is on hand from 8am to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Royal National is part of a chain of hotels that are situated on or around the Russell Square area of London. The hotel has a bar area and small restaurant. The rooms are quite dated and there was no facilities in the room for ironing and no hair dryer. However the hotel is situated in the Euston District so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anmcacy
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay and you appreciated our value for money, in such a central location, only a five minute walk to Russell Square Station and a ten minute walk to Euston Station or Covent Garden. We will...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and i stayed one night and you can't go wrong with this hotel for a short stay. A very large hotel and great value in a superb location for exploring London. Russell square tube station is just across the road and Euston station a short walk away. Twin room was basic but clean and has everything you need,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manchesternurse
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for sharing your kind comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our plentiful English breakfast buffet, found our luggage facilities adequate and secure and you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms. Our hotel is often praised for its value for money, in...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed due to the train being cancelled we paid £113 for a twin room with bed and breakfast. When we arrived at the hotel after a long journey we just wanted a bath and something to eat . The bathroom wasn't very clean also there was no complimentary shampoo or conditioner. After having a bath with the complimentary soap...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pammyies
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our Royal National Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Complimentary shampoo and shower gel are available on request, from our housekeeping office, as stated in our Guest Service Directories. Our housekeeping office is open from 8am to 10pm and would...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Location of the hotel is very nice, rooms are a bit simple but neat and tidy. Bathroom nothing special. Breakfast is very poor no need to book this with your stay because there are plenty alternatives.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nico A
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, found your room was adequate and you appreciated our central location. Equally, we apologise if you did not enjoy our continental breakfast on this occasion, we advise our guests to upgrade to our popular...

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I use the hotel once a year because it is in walking distance of Senate House,my destination for the weekend. The hotel is basic but clean There are tea making facilities in the rooms (take your own cofee as the one provided is not nice). The rooms are fairly small but since you are only sleeping there what does it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanann1485
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for sharing your very kind comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Royal National Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our English and continental breakfast, found your room comfortable with adequate complimentary teas and coffees, were able to have a good night’s sleep and you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms....

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Royal National recently and my overall impression was mixed. On the plus side, it is located in a good position in London for easily getting around, with only a short walk to Euston Station for the tube/train. If you book, get a breakfast package included as the breakfasts were all you could eat, with a fine selection,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our English breakfast buffet, found your room adequate and our staff were extra courteous. We are also delighted that you appreciated our central location, easy for getting around London and only a ten minute walk to Euston...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I found that this hotel was in need of some renovations, everything was very outdated. The rooms were quite dirty with dust covering everything, bedspread were stained, found a random hair brush behind the bed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank critic201
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our Royal National Hotel. We are sorry to learn that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. All our rooms are serviced daily, in line with our strict procedures and our housekeeping office is open throughout the day to address any concerns you may have. We also...

Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I/we stayed here in December. It's our go to hotel for out twice yearly shopping trip to London. The hotel is basic, but central to everywhere we need to go. Also from this hotel most things are within walking distance. I booked our room though the imperial hotels website and paid for the English Breakfast. The other times we stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mel08Ireland
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for sharing your kind comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our English breakfast, served in our Meeting Place and you appreciated our central location, within walking distance to many tourist attractions. We are also delighted that you visited our London Pub,...

1,430 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1303)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (262)
Viewed
Room/Suite (331)
Viewed
Bathroom (158)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (454)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (115)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Double Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#240 of 1,087 in London
1,710 reviews
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#78 of 1,087 in London
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $139 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal National Hotel staff and other travellers.
166 questions
Ask a question
Zagreb, Europe
over a year ago
4 months ago

See all questions (166)

Questions? Get answers from Royal National Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles mat20152015, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For couples: ask for a double bad, otherwise you might get a twin bed.”
 of 5 bubbles ShlomoEshet, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We asked for a room in a quiet area while we were checking out and also one near a hotel. The girl checking us in was very obliging.”
 of 5 bubbles mel08Ireland, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms located at the back of the hotel were directed towards heavy traffic & as a result made it very difficult to sleep”
 of 5 bubbles 262kirstyt, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the floor we were on was quiet it seemed to be the same in the bar the restaurant was loud at Breakfast time”
 of 5 bubbles 19Daveg, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5