We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Foundation of St Katharine

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
See the most recent reviews
Showing 320: English reviews
Frizington, Cumbria
Reviewed 15 November 2016

An exceptional place to stay if visiting London. My room was infinItely superior to that of my daughter who was staying at one of the large London hotels for nearly four times the price. The location is a bit outside the centre, below Limehouse station, but transport links, boat,bus and train are good. The buildings surround a lovely peaceful garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graqlvel
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted that you have come back to stay with us for a second time, and that we are your preferred place to stay in London! We look forward to seeing you on future stays. Tom

London
Reviewed 10 November 2016

I stayed here in November when I was co-facilitating a residential leadership programme. The staff at St Katherine's are unfailingly kind and helpful. With the garden, the cosy lounge, the excellent food, and now - the St Katherine's Precinct which has yurts and excellent coffee and food all day - St Katherine's is for me the best possible base for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fitzrovia_Fellow
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you had such a successful leadership programme event with us, and that you enjoyed our new meanwhile project, including our Yurt cafe. Thank you for your also for your fantastic feedback regarding the service that you received during your stay. I will certainly pass this on to the team here. We look forward to...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Great place to stay in London, beautiful spot, quiet. good breakfast. convenient for public transport. clean. we would prefer a queen sized bed. we also found the heating system unusual, radiators were off in our room, outside it was cold, but our room, even with window open was hot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahantrim
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you for your review, and we are delighted you had such a good recent stay with us. Just a couple of points you picked up on during your stay. You are correct our double beds are UK standard double beds, however we do have 'Garden King' rooms available for those who would appreciate a larger bed. All...

west dorset
Reviewed 6 November 2016

I had heard of the Royal Foundation of St Katherine so was pleased when an opportunity to stay there- meeting my daughter in London for the w/e - arose. We really enjoyed it. It seemed an oasis of calm in a busy area. The DLR stop is very near so it is easy to travel to and from. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhWestDorset
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you and your daughter would like to stay with us again! For your next stay, feel free to use the code 'STK5' to get a discounted rate when booking with us directly on our website. Tom

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I have known of the Royal Foundation of St Katherine for many years but it is only now that I have managed to take the time to go and stay there and I have not been disappointed. I my case, a retreat but an oasis for anyone who may want to get away from the noise of life or just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thechaplain140
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Chaplain, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had a refreshing and peaceful retreat with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team here, and we look forward to seeing you again whether it be for retreat, leisure or work related travel. Tom

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We enjoyed our stay here - excellent location and good facilities. Very clean. We had a flat which made it good value for 3 of us. Very close to railway but we enjoyed the view! Great places to eat out locally

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Qhilly
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Qhilly, Thank you for review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and the cuisine that the local area has to offer! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London, and we would like to offer you the code 'STK5' to use on our website to get the best rate....

Bingley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I was looking for a place to stop overnight in London so I could attend to a few things while doing a bit of tourist stuff at the same time. I was searching on a well-known hotels website that I had some credit with, when the Royal Foundation of St Katharine (RFSK for short) popped up. Somewhat intrigued by the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ulape
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Ulape, Thank you for your lovely review, and we thank you for sharing the history of RFSK, and your insight into your experience of staying at St Katharine's! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to London, and please use the code 'STK5' on our website to get a 5% discount of your future stays....

Saint-Laurent-Nouan, France
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Once you enter the brick walled entrance you arrive in another world. You can hear the train close by and the planes overhead as well as police and ambulance sirens however at the Royal Foundation of St Katherine total peace reigns. You are cheerfully greeted at the reception. A short walk away is a clean, spacious simply but refined furnished...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmasse28
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review, and we are delighted that you found it to be an oasis during your stay. The local area is a diverse and dynamic part of the east end. Its situated just a few minutes walk from the Thames, and from here both the Tower of London and Canary wharf are accessible along...

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

I'm afraid this is a case of "read the description", which I did not fully do, and I would have known that this hotel does not offer any TV facilities in any of the rooms! However this was not a bad thing as the place was tranquil and very restful that I was asleep as soon as I hit the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emanuel H
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Emanuel, We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay despite expecting a TV prior to arriving! We look forward to seeing you again when next in search of a peaceful stay, close to the city. Please just use the code 'STK5' to get a discounted rate. Tom

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I was looking for a peaceful place with a welcome and I found it. No TV or radio what a joy. Excellent breakfast. I look forward to returning. Well located for my conference at ExCel, London City Airport and hardly any distance from central London.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alun R
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Alun, We are delighted that you had a warm welcome when you arrived at St Katharine's, and that we were perfectly located for your needs. We look forward to your next visit, please use the code 'STK5' to get a discount on our website. Tom

335 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (220)
Viewed
Amenities (51)
Viewed
Double Room (26)
Viewed
King Accessible Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Single Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,080 in London
2,592 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Tune Hotel - London, Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine is a charitable foundation which sits within, yet apart from, the heart of London’s East End. Just minutes from the City and Canary Wharf, our comfortable accommodation offers a secure and relaxing environment and an unparalleled sense of peaceful seclusion. We invite you to explore St Katharine’s and to discover what you may find in this hidden oasis. Simple, comfortable, and all with en-suite facilities, our recently refurbished bedrooms are available both to individuals and members of groups at St Katharine’s. For a long stay or short, take advantage of our proximity to central London, our excellent transport links, and the unrivaled calm you will find here. Our quiet garden and serene chapel are open to all our guests and provide a welcome contrast to the hustle of a day in the capital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Foundation of St Katharine

Address: 2 Butcher Row, London E14 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Price Range: $136 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Foundation of St Katharine 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Foundation of St Katharine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Foundation of St Katharine staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Miami, Florida
over a year ago
Poznan, Poland
2 months ago
Bristol, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Foundation of St Katharine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay the extra £s for a room looking over the garden. I booked on line and didn't know.”
 of 5 bubbles 685riquer, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Garden views are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Graqlvel, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a view of the garden”
 of 5 bubbles Fitzrovia_Fellow, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room facing over the garden. Facing outwards you'll get the noise from Limehouse.”
 of 5 bubbles Ulape, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“This facility is used for meetings and seminars and doesn't have too many rooms for average guests. We stayed in room number 2 and loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles mmasse28, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay