We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Foundation of St Katharine

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
See the most recent reviews
Showing 327: English reviews
west dorset
Reviewed 6 November 2016

I had heard of the Royal Foundation of St Katherine so was pleased when an opportunity to stay there- meeting my daughter in London for the w/e - arose. We really enjoyed it. It seemed an oasis of calm in a busy area. The DLR stop is very near so it is easy to travel to and from. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhWestDorset
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you and your daughter would like to stay with us again! For your next stay, feel free to use the code 'STK5' to get a discounted rate when booking with us directly on our website. Tom

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I have known of the Royal Foundation of St Katherine for many years but it is only now that I have managed to take the time to go and stay there and I have not been disappointed. I my case, a retreat but an oasis for anyone who may want to get away from the noise of life or just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thechaplain140
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Chaplain, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had a refreshing and peaceful retreat with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team here, and we look forward to seeing you again whether it be for retreat, leisure or work related travel. Tom

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We enjoyed our stay here - excellent location and good facilities. Very clean. We had a flat which made it good value for 3 of us. Very close to railway but we enjoyed the view! Great places to eat out locally

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Qhilly
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Qhilly, Thank you for review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and the cuisine that the local area has to offer! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London, and we would like to offer you the code 'STK5' to use on our website to get the best rate....

Bingley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I was looking for a place to stop overnight in London so I could attend to a few things while doing a bit of tourist stuff at the same time. I was searching on a well-known hotels website that I had some credit with, when the Royal Foundation of St Katharine (RFSK for short) popped up. Somewhat intrigued by the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ulape
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Ulape, Thank you for your lovely review, and we thank you for sharing the history of RFSK, and your insight into your experience of staying at St Katharine's! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to London, and please use the code 'STK5' on our website to get a 5% discount of your future stays....

Saint-Laurent-Nouan, France
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Once you enter the brick walled entrance you arrive in another world. You can hear the train close by and the planes overhead as well as police and ambulance sirens however at the Royal Foundation of St Katherine total peace reigns. You are cheerfully greeted at the reception. A short walk away is a clean, spacious simply but refined furnished...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmasse28
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review, and we are delighted that you found it to be an oasis during your stay. The local area is a diverse and dynamic part of the east end. Its situated just a few minutes walk from the Thames, and from here both the Tower of London and Canary wharf are accessible along...

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

I'm afraid this is a case of "read the description", which I did not fully do, and I would have known that this hotel does not offer any TV facilities in any of the rooms! However this was not a bad thing as the place was tranquil and very restful that I was asleep as soon as I hit the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emanuel H
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Emanuel, We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay despite expecting a TV prior to arriving! We look forward to seeing you again when next in search of a peaceful stay, close to the city. Please just use the code 'STK5' to get a discounted rate. Tom

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I was looking for a peaceful place with a welcome and I found it. No TV or radio what a joy. Excellent breakfast. I look forward to returning. Well located for my conference at ExCel, London City Airport and hardly any distance from central London.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alun R
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Alun, We are delighted that you had a warm welcome when you arrived at St Katharine's, and that we were perfectly located for your needs. We look forward to your next visit, please use the code 'STK5' to get a discount on our website. Tom

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

This place is like a getaway in the middle of London. I stayed in B&B and it was good experience. I liked the courtyard and the country style. Room was clean, although a little aged, no TV but I didn't mind that. Comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good, food variety satisfying, fresh and good quality. Altogether it was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcin O
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Marcin, We are delighted that you found us to be your oasis whilst visiting London! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, and to get the best price us the code 'STK5' on our website. Tom

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Stayed here overnight before a conference in the centre. It is very easily found on foot from Limehouse DLR. Simple but pleasant and clean rooms ( no TV - that suits me fine once in a while!) very peaceful, secure environment, with central garden area and church in the grounds. Lovely quiet communal lounge with comfy chairs and picture windows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pippazero
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Pippa, Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you found a sense of peace whilst staying with us on a conference here. We hope to welcome you back in the future, on your next trip to London. Be sure to use the code 'STK5' to get a 5% discount on our website. Tom

Reviewed 27 September 2016

This is the fifth time that we have had a weekend at RFSK with our Board of Trustees. It's ideal. Iparticularly like the way in which everyone at St K's strives to give us excellent service. The food was excellent; and the rooms were beautifully prepared. It's a peaceful setting although it can be a bit noisy at night. My...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kenneth N
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth, Thank you for your lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoy coming to us on a regular basis, and that you have had excellent service on each of your visits. I will pass on these kind comments to the entire team here. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Tom

337 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (220)
Viewed
Amenities (51)
Viewed
Double Room (26)
Viewed
King Accessible Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Single Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,088 in London
3,512 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Tune Hotel - London, Canary Wharf
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Whitechapel
No photo provided
Qbic Hotel London City
#104 of 1,088 in London
2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine is a charitable foundation which sits within, yet apart from, the heart of London’s East End. Just minutes from the City and Canary Wharf, our comfortable accommodation offers a secure and relaxing environment and an unparalleled sense of peaceful seclusion. We invite you to explore St Katharine’s and to discover what you may find in this hidden oasis. Simple, comfortable, and all with en-suite facilities, our recently refurbished bedrooms are available both to individuals and members of groups at St Katharine’s. For a long stay or short, take advantage of our proximity to central London, our excellent transport links, and the unrivaled calm you will find here. Our quiet garden and serene chapel are open to all our guests and provide a welcome contrast to the hustle of a day in the capital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Foundation of St Katharine

Address: 2 Butcher Row, London E14 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Price Range: $150 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Foundation of St Katharine 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Foundation of St Katharine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Foundation of St Katharine staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Wakefield, United Kingdom
4 days ago
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Miami, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Foundation of St Katharine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for inner rooms facing gardens”
  • Lounge area
 of 5 bubbles 275bridgetm, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Range of room sizes and views, if you're going to be in room a lot then ask for a larger room”
 of 5 bubbles simoncade, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The garden rooms are a little quieter if you are not used to city noise.”
 of 5 bubbles marycarolineH, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra £s for a room looking over the garden. I booked on line and didn't know.”
 of 5 bubbles 685riquer, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Garden views are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Graqlvel, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5