We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

St George Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 122: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Messed up a booking for a family room for 2 adults and 2 different sex teenagers and offered 2 double rooms in separate areas instead! Receptionist couldn't care less and said don't stay then! Late on a busy Saturday night in London we were left looking for alternative accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnaleighton
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

This hotel looks lovely from the outside. There is no lift however so beware of walking up and down lots of steps with luggage. The room was a great size and the bathroom was acceptable. Slightly dated colour scheme however that was the least of our worries. The room was boiling hot and even with all the windows open. Worst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liberty S
stgeorgehotelnet, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liberty S, Thank you for your email. Are you sure you have written the review about the correct hotel? We are the St George Hotel, 49 Gloucester Place, W1U 8JE, and we do not have wall paper in any rooms whatsoever.

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Had a Black Tie do at the Raddison Blu just around the corner, at a quarter of the price this tidy little hotel served me well. An excellent location on Glos Place makes it walking distance to a lot of the historic sights around the city. Only let down was confusion over my breakfast, no iron in the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Easty79
Surrey
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This is a simple, no frills hotel - even the reception is in a cupboard - but it has everything you need for an overnight stay. It is exceptionally clean and we found it quiet as well. The location is great, 5 minutes walk from Paddington stations and about 15 minutes to Hyde Park. Lots of pubs and ethnic restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We were stuck in room 18 and barely slept. Whenever an adjacent room flushes the toilet, it sounds like the sink is overflowing in the bathroom and we were awoken at 6AM to the cooks preparing breakfast. The room is dirty (see the attached photos), the wifi is slow, the renovations look 30 years old and the shower is barely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thechaddington
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

What a lovely hotel and so close to everything you need in London - unbelievably good value for money! The staff were lovely & welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was comfortable and very clean - it was a pleasure staying here :-) I have recommended to friends who have since stayed and been equally as impressed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
clipstone
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Booked this last minute for £200 triple room. This is 2 rooms & a hallway in the basement, a small double in 1 room & 2 singles in the other with aircon in the twin that serviced both rooms no problem. Location is great, neighbourhood is quiet, check in efficient, bathroom with shower fine & all good. Breakfast was about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wardmeister
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I was left with little option but to book this hotel as the client gave me little notice of the meeting with them. The location of the hotel was good, not far from Victoria. However, the hotel is split between two houses and my colleagues were not in the same building as me. The rooms were tiny and too hot,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GwynRoberts
King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Great location to Mayfair. Near all the shops and nightlife. Short walk to the west end and underground stations. Nice rooms, all clean and tidy, good quality towels, hot water a plenty and friendly staff. Nothing I could complain about. I will visit again ! Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon M
berkeley
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Checked in for one night expecting four star plushness. \What we found was a very poorly run bed and breakfast. Our room No 16 is on the fourth floor and with no lift it was a very steep climb. What we met was room with a hole in the wall,a clump of someones hair next to the bed and very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven M

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (131)
Viewed
Basic Queen Room (13)
Viewed
Basic Single Room (15)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#666 of 1,078 in London
574 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#410 of 1,078 in London
81 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#391 of 1,078 in London
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#796 of 1,078 in London
69 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#135 of 1,078 in London
454 reviews
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#607 of 1,078 in London
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marylebone

Neighbourhood Profile
Marylebone
Marylebone offers what so many London neighbourhoods cannot: a village feel coupled with urban convenience. Much of its success rests in its location. Wedged between the northeastern corner of Hyde Park and the southern end of Regent's Park and with a number of Tube stations within easy reach, Marylebone is as pedestrian friendly as Central London gets. The bustling shopping mecca of Oxford Street separates it from Soho and Mayfair, exclusive Regent Street marks its border with Fitzrovia, and cosmopolitan Edgware Road serves as its western edge. Within this enviably situated quarter are an array of outstanding restaurants (from Michelin darlings to down and dirty cheeseburgers), an impressive assortment of independently owned shops, and some of the city's quietest and most pleasant nooks, crannies and cobbled lanes.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The St George Hotel is a beautiful grade II listed Town House with 19 bedrooms (en suite bathrooms and WIFI) in London's West End -a short walk to Oxford St. shopping and near Paddington's Heathrow Express. A traditional "bed and breakfast," we offer delicious food in our Breakfast Room. The Conservatory Lounge is perfect for meetings or a coffee break. With the service of a 4 star hotel, we were recently awarded the sparkling Diamond award for housekeeping by the RAC and runner up of London B&B Of The Year, awarded by the AA. This is a gem on the famous Gloucester Place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Address: 49 Gloucester Place | Marble Arch, London W1U 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Price Range: $179 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St George Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George London
Hotel St George
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St George Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Phoenix, Arizona

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from St George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Shop about first”
 of 5 bubbles O783OWstevenm, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“if you don't like stairs choose a room on a lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles Sanders3, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 16 noisy at night and difficult to reach if you have a mobility issue. Difficult if you do not.”
 of 5 bubbles 867sianh, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Every room is superb”
 of 5 bubbles louiseh347, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the renovated rooms. Ask for a shower that is detachable. Ask for a room with a view (there are many).”
 of 5 bubbles catherinels2014, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay