We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

LSE Bankside House

Booking.comUS$119*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 338: English reviews
Start your review of LSE Bankside House
 Click to rate
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Reviewed 12 April 2017

On April 8 I booked a room at Bankside House for early August because the prices were low and the location seemed good. However, after looking at other properties, I decided that I wanted to stay in a different location so I cancelled my reservation. This was less than 24 hours after making the reservation. Unfortunately, by that point the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank solvangsherrie
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Hi Sherrie, Thanks for getting in touch with LSE Vacations. We apologize for the inconvenience you have been experiencing with this cancellation and our booking system. Our fees team has been notified of this issue and a refund is being processed. However, your review is slightly erroneous - our terms and conditions clearly states (Section 7) that refunds are credited...

Reviewed 11 April 2017

It was my first trip to London. The hotel is a student accomodation. The room had a desk and a desk lamp for studying which was great for me because i was applying for an exa. The room had a wonderful view for a sky scraper. A great neighbourhood. Very near to the underground. The room service and the receptionists...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank inasahmed
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Hi Inasahmed, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay at LSE Bankside House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly our breakfast, location and room. We hope you return to London and LSE Bankside House in the near future. Thanks, LSE Vacations

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We rented a one-bedroom flat on the top floor. It was bright and airy and had a great view of the London skyline. The bed was comfortable, the kitchen was modern and the living room large. It's student housing but the flat didn't look like it. It's a great value. And we had our teenage son with us and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank uthoudad
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Hi uthoudad, Thanks for the kind words regarding your stay at LSE Bankside House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay - particularly our modern and airy one bedroom flat. We hope you return to London and LSE Bankside House very soon! Thanks - LSE Vacations

Laxfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Student accommodation. My husband and I had single rooms with a shared bathroom. Excellent breakfast and very competetively priced so close to the south bank. We stayed there because we were going to the globe theatre. It worked well and we would cedtainly stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Hi Carolyn, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at LSE Bankside House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly our location, value for money and breakfast service. (We also hope you enjoyed your Globe Theatre production!). Regards, LSE Vacations

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Nice, comfortable hotel in the center for an affordable price. The room was spacious, clean and had all the stuff neccessary. The view was great as well. There was breakfast included in price and that was good as well, many things to choose from. I recommnend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sackrebleu
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Hi Sackrebleu, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at LSE Bankside House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly our breakfast service and price. We hope you return to London and LSE Bankside House in the near future. Thanks, LSE Vacations

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

The price I paid here for a hotel in London which is right at the back of the Tate Modern is amazing. Great value and breakfast was included too. Downstairs there is a bar which caters mainly for students so the prices are very cheap for London. No TV in the rooms and a very small shower but they are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Hi John, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at LSE Bankside House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly our value for money, breakfast service and location. We hope you return to London and Bankside again in the near future. Thanks, LSE Vacations

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Absolutely perfect location! You're about a 10 mins away from the tube but you're already in the center so there's so much around you that you can walk to like the Tate Modern, St Paul's or the Globe. The accommodation was exactly what you needed, especially with the price, clean, private, quiet and safe. Breakfast was a great start to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smartrainbow7
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Hi Smartrainbow, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your stay at LSE Bankside House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly our price, location and breakfast service. We sincerely hope you return to LSE Bankside House and LSE Vacations again soon. Regards, LSE Vacations

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Staying in halls of residence in the out-of-season period, couple with three children 5, 9 and 11. We booked a triple and double room, but when we arrived our rooms there were only 1 and 2 beds in each room (getting ready for students arriving back the next day). This was fixed up by reception who organised a further bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Hi Kate, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at LSE Bankside House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly our location and breakfast. We are sorry to hear about the issues regarding your bedroom on arrival and can assure you this was due to the transition period at the end...

Reviewed 19 September 2016

It feels mean to criticise anything at the incredible value of £35 a night so absolutely stay here if you are visiting London and planning to spend all day sightseeing (perfect location - had a view of Tate Modern and the river from my window and was 3 mins walk away) or are in London to work. It was scrupulously...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hotel A
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Hi Hotel A, Thanks for the kind words regarding your recent stay at LSE Bankside House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly our great value, location and breakfast. We hope you return to Bankside House and LSE Vacations again in the near future. Thanks, LSE Vacations

Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Basic student residence but clean and in central London. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was excellent - can't praise that enough. If you can live without a TV during your stay and aren't too bothered about luxuries this is the place. Short walk to London Bridge Tube. Lots of cafes in the area. Will visit again next year and book a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Em S
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Hi Em S, Thanks for the kind words regarding your recent stay at LSE Bankside House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly our great value, location and breakfast. We hope you return to Bankside House and LSE Vacations again in the near future. Thanks, LSE Vacations

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (220)
Viewed
Accessible Twin Ensuite (35)
Viewed
Quad Ensuite (37)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Shared Kitchen (14)
Viewed
Single With Shared Bathroom (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Triple Ensuite (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#688 of 1,064 in London
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southbank
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#205 of 1,064 in London
896 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#273 of 1,064 in London
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southwark

Neighbourhood Profile
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighbourhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bankside House provides Bed & Breakfast accommodation near the Tate Modern Gallery - it's just a one minute walk away from the front door. Bankside House is also located near The Shard, Shakespeare’s Globe, Borough Market and St Paul’s Cathedral as well as being within easy reach of the City of London and the West End. With its location and price, Bankside provides incredible value for anyone wishing to stay in central London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about LSE Bankside House

Address: 24 Sumner Street, London SE1 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Price Range: $106 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Bankside House 3*
Number of rooms: 563
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your LSE Bankside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside House Hotel London
Bankside Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from LSE Bankside House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from LSE Bankside House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are quiet”
inasahmed, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get one of the flats on the top floor. It doesn't come with breakfast but it's very spacious.”
uthoudad, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for high rooms as there can be chatter outside.”
  • St Pauls, a must visit
Rodger_Waters, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“higher floors offer nice views but can be a bit noisy if at the front.”
Mare170, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms overlooking the street on ground floor - noisy students will keep you up at night!”
CoolDude2012, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$119* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$119
TripAdvisorUS$119
PricelineUS$119
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates