We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Melbourne House Hotel

Show Prices
#479 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 234: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice and quiet hotel in very nice neighborhood. Friendly and accommodating staff. Close to the tube station and numerous buses. They don't have an elevator though. Also you may find rooms really small.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OLEG V
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Stayed five nights, very well located and close to tube and bus. Friendly staff. Breakfast included was great, although no other food services available and they do not allow take away food in the rooms. Easy to get into the city and plenty of good eating and drinking places close by. There are 95 steps up a narrow stair case...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 305martyw
unknown
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I have stayed in nicer places but I have usually paid more to do so! This is London, and a great location in London, so things are expensive. But who spends time in their hotel when in London? This hotel is spotlessly clean and quiet, everything worked, staff were friendly. The weather was very warm when we were there but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisdilure
Canada
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The location of the hotel was great for sightseeing as you could walk to most of the sites. There are many restaurants & pubs near by for meals & entertainment. There are subway stations very close. The problem with the hotel are the rooms, they are very tiny & for big people it can be difficult to move around &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KGACanada
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 22 August 2016

the room was in the basement so a bit mouldy. I didn't pay that money to go to the basement... Only one towel per person was provided. The breakfast was poor (my advanced request about dairy free products was completely ignored). The wifi didn't work in our room and with my telephone not even in the lobby. When we came...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Giovanna V
manuelaLondon, Manager at Melbourne House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Giovanna We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, we always take negative comments very serious as we strive to make every guest feel at home at the Melbourne House Hotel. Unfortunatly in this case we are surprised about the negative comments regarding one of our best rooms. This room has not only recently...

Douglas
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We stayed here for 6 nights. The location was excellent, not even a 5 minute walk to the Pimlico tube station. Nice neighbourhood. The room was a little small, but that's to be expected. It was extremely clean, I think it's something they are very proud of. No AC but the window opened. The downside, NO ELEVATOR. Get ready to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 30 July 2016

My family and I spent two nights here on a whirlwind tour of London. We were able to take the tube from the airport and walk comfortably to the hotel. We could also walk to the main sights and Victoria. It is a simple hotel, but clean and friendly. I can recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linda M
Busan, Busan, South Korea
Reviewed 23 June 2016

hello all, i spent 2 nights at this hotel, i contacted the hotel directly (spoke with the owner JOHN) he helped me a lot to deal with my requests, cose i needed 3 bedrooms for 7 persons, he gave the best bedrooms, 1 at the basement, big for 2, 1 at the ground floor for 4, then one at the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dorian G
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I stayed at the Melbourne hotel for 3 nights and found it adequate for my trip. The room was cramped to say the least but I was advised of this when I made the booking. As I was the only guest and didn't plan on spending much time in the room i decided to go ahead with the booking. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kari T
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Staff helpful and friendly. Location very convenient, within ten minutes from Victoria coach and train stations and right in the center of the city, near Buckingham Palace and Houses of Parliament. Room and common spaces very cleaned and looked after. Internet and tv in the room. Breakfast abundant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LauAnn2016

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (218)
Viewed
Double En-Suite Room (Shower Only) (30)
Viewed
Double En-Suite Room with Bathtub (35)
Viewed
Family Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Single En-Suite Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Twin En-Suite Room (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#272 of 1,078 in London
533 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#523 of 1,078 in London
384 reviews
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#191 of 1,078 in London
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Corona
BEST WESTERN Corona
#545 of 1,078 in London
673 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#383 of 1,078 in London
664 reviews
Pimlico
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#634 of 1,078 in London
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Pimlico

Neighbourhood Profile
Pimlico
Time spent in Pimlico is a slower-paced affair than most other Central London neighbourhoods. This largely residential area orderly arranged beside the Thames, is a treasure trove of quaint pubs, subtle architectural charms and local boutiques. Here, art lovers thrill at the chance to visit the world class Tate Britain gallery for its collection of British art from the 1500s to the present. For peace and quiet and some downtime spent along the Thames, Pimlico is highly recommended.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Melbourne House Hotel is a family run Bed and Breakfast a short walk from Victoria Station,Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melbourne House Hotel

Address: 79 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Price Range: $157 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in London
#309 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melbourne House Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Melbourne House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a ground floor room if you are unfit as lugging suitcases up and down five floors is tiring!”
 of 5 bubbles 305martyw, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“not the one in the basement!!”
 of 5 bubbles 739giovannav, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“When booking in England, make sure the hotel has a lift (elevator). The floors in England are two flights of steps for each one.”
 of 5 bubbles Y9860CZrobertm, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“One of the lower floors as there is no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles Otterden, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Our room on the first floor facing the yard was very quite.”
 of 5 bubbles tsagletho, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay