We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Staunton Hotel

Show Prices
#537 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Staunton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Staunton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 267: English reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel is small and has about six rooms. I arrived early and room wasn't ready. She didn't seem to be very helpful and just told me to return after 2pm. I got a room on the third floor with no elevator. Room itself was very spacious and clean. However, when my neighbors returned home and I could hear everything they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Einav D
Gower S, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I am sorry you are disappointed with the Staunton Hotel, the Hotel is a listed building (House) and unfortunately we cannot have a lift but we have mentioned it with all the agents and on our website, also we have 17 bedroom. Hopefully my receptionist mentioned to you that you could leave your luggage with us until check...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We've stayed at the Staunton before, and remembered it to be much nicer. Now the carpeting in hallways and stairs is dirty and threadbare, our room, while clean, seemed smaller than ever, and lugging our suitcases up three flights of stairs, just too much. We were given only perfunctory assistance by the reservation clerk, and the breakfast staff had difficulty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gil and Kathryn L
Gower S, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I am truly sorry that you felt let down with the Staunton Hotel, we are trying our very best to keep our guests happy and satisfied. We are in the near future planning on making some changes so I hope that you will have a change of mind. Thank you, Renia Karageoris.

Birkirkara, Malta
Reviewed 9 October 2016

-- Helpful staff -- Choice of English breakfast or continental breakfast -- Rooms are quite spacious and comfortable -- Walking distance to tourist attraction sites & restaurants -- Close to UCL and UCH

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra Z
Gower S, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, It is very nice of you to find some time to mention how nice it was for you staying at the Staunton Hotel, we appreciate it very much and we hope to see you here again. Thank you, Renia Karageorgis.

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

My short stay here for a couple of days was bery comfortable. The hotel, even though small, is extremely well equipped and offers very comfortable lodgings for a business traveller. The best feature of the hotel is its location. Its walking distance from Oxford Street and the tube stations. The hotel offers a satisfactory breakfast, the dining room is small,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ananya_Sharma
Gower S, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate it very much that you understand about the Grade 11 listed building, we hope to welcome you to the Staunton Hotel once again. Yours faithfully, Renia Karageorgis.

County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 3 September 2016

stayed at the staunton during a weekend trip to london. location is pretty good- not really close to a particular tube stop- but 4 stations within 5-10 minute walk so easily accessible. a quaint hotel, old fashioned charm, probably best described as a guest house. stayed in a twin room- really lovely. very spacious for london standards, exceptionally clean with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petitelou
Gower S, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, This is what I like to hear, Thank you for your kind words. Yours faithfully, Renia Karageorgis.

UK
Reviewed 29 August 2016

In a nice area with in easy walking distance to Tube stations ( Russel Park or Goodge st ) The room was comfy , clean and had everything you need , kettle , Hairdryer , Iron and ironing board , Tv free wi fi , Breakfast was plentyful , can not fault at all , will stay again .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denbrooks1
Gower S, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review

Great, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us, hopefully we will see you here again. Thank you for the lovely compliments.

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

For the second time In three years we a family of 4 have visited London and stayed in the same hotel, more precisely the same room (quadruple), which proves it has some positives. But negatives also which means we probabaly wouldn't go a third time. On the one side it's functional, comfortable and the food selection for breckfast is both...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jack M
Gower S, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, First of all thank you for coming back to us, I appreciate your remarks on our Hotel, we know about the carpets and the need of updated our bathrooms and we are planning very soon to change our carpets and to update our bathrooms. I am very sorry that you feel like this but I do hope that...

Reviewed 15 August 2016

its a very nice little hotel but i would change a few things like the customer service the women at the desk looked at us like we were aliens.also they nether ofered to help us with oir luggage.but appart ftom that it is a nive coz little hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samdavid2001
Gower S, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I am very glad that you enjoyed most of your stay with us even though it should of been even better for you at the Staunton Hotel, my staff should have been more helpful. Thank you for your remark.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Hi there I am writing about by 4 night stay in the Staunton hotel. firstly I will start with the good points; I must say the location is excellent and the cleaners and staff at breakfast are truly wonderful and do a fantastic job. However I am sad to say that this has probably been the worst experience in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daniellarizzo
Gower S, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, I am truly sorry you felt like this about our Hotel, I have taken note of your comments. I remember we did try to move you to another room but we did not have another room free for the dates you required. I sincerely am sorry that you felt like this about the reception staff, I am very...

Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This was a very cosy and nice hotel room! It's hard to find a hotel with the "London charm" theese days, when all hotels look the same all over the world but this was genuine London, yet clean and fresh. I got a room at the top, a lot of stairs, so maybe not for the lazy ones. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tjoh
Gower S, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, This is what I like to hear, Thank you for your wonderful comments. I hope to see you hear at the Staunton Hotel again. Thank you once again.

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
0:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#554 of 1,087 in London
310 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#481 of 1,087 in London
722 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#639 of 1,087 in London
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#101 of 1,087 in London
1,659 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,087 in London
1,138 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#373 of 1,087 in London
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $250 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Staunton Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Staunton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor might be quietest, though all look good.”
 of 5 bubbles Applenan, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing away from Gower Street might be quieter, although all have noise-cancelling windows.”
 of 5 bubbles GilL383, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is no elevator, so if you don't want to climb stairs, ask for the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles PatA886, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No idea as asked that we must not have basement room but hit one.”
 of 5 bubbles gillianb133, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“There's no lift, so bear that in mind if you have mobility requirements”
 of 5 bubbles ali_tabari, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5