We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Vere Devonport House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for De Vere Devonport House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,267: English reviews
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

On arrival, reception staff very helpful, room that was allocated to us on the 3rd floor was a bit on the small side and should have been cleaned to a better standard, by attention to dusting of all surfaces and the provision of additional towels for dual occupancy. This room faced the National Maritime Museum, but the noise from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carole B
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Carole B, Thank you for your review. Some of the highlighted things are facts that come with a Grade 1 listed building and add to it's character. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. It is always nice to read their recognition for the good work they do. Hope to see you with us again soon. Kind...

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

We have just returned from a two day trip to London last week. My husband was on a course in the hotel so we joined him. Was my first time to Greenwich and the hotel is in an amazing location. There is plenty to see and do in the direct vicinity without going into central London. Loads of lovely eating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robins1968
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Robins1968, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted you have highlighted good points and areas we need to look at, which we are going to do. It is always great to read that the staff get recognized for their hard work and Averton is leading this filed by a mile. We look forward to welcome...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Stayed here for the second time and the rooms are really ready for refurbishment. It's in a great location, close to all the tourist sights of Greenwich and not too far from the DLR. It also has its own car park, which is really convenient and a bonus in London. The hotel is in an old historic building, which is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Batty1960
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Batty1960, Thank you very much for your comments. We will be looking into the highlighted points and hopefully can resolve some of them in the near future. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to show you the changes. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We had a weekend in Greenwich at the Devonport as part of our 40th wedding annirversary we had a nice quiet room with a lovely veiw over the front lawns. They put us a fancy cake each with Happy annirversary wrote on it in chocolate. Also we must say many thanks to Everton in the dining room what a brilliant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT B
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Robert B, Thank you very much for your kind review of Devonport House. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your comments on to Averton, who is truly a special character. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Doesn't live up to the images on the web site! Our room was just OK, although the window blind was badly stained. Bathroom grouting needed attention around the bath and ammenities were very scarce one small piece of soap and one small tube of showergel/shampoo combined, the one time I didnt take showergel and shampoo with me! Windows have one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gillianp254
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear gillianp254, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry we did not fulfill your expectations for your stay. Having had a bad start to your visit seems to have influenced your review. I will be addressing the handling of challenges with the team, so that we can to act better the next time this happens. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke

Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

Brill hotel..lovely staff..cheap car parking for London.. Excellent location for all of London get the 188 bus to see all of London cheaply.Greenwich town is full of good bars..Gypsy Moth n Pie n Mash shop are a must..Cutty Sark is fabulous at the end of the street.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle D
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Michelle D, Thank you very much for your kind review. Reading it there has nothing been left off a good travel advise for Greenwich visitors, well done. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke

Swanscombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

On 15th August 2015 we got married at the Devonport hotel and could not fault the hotel at all. The wedding coordinator Angela made sure that everything was in place and organised for our big day. We got married in the Churchill room which was small and intimate and had our reception in the Nelson/Hamilton room. The food for our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarahclark92
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Sarahwilmott92, Thank you very much for choosing our venue for your wedding and again belated congratulations to you both. I am very delighted our staff have contributed to your wedding memories for all the right reasons! Have a happy and long future together. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke

Snaith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

My wife and I had looked at this Hotel and thought it would be good to call for a bar meal. We were fairly dissapointed at the look of the hotel. We informed the lobby staff what we wanted and they pointed to the bar restaurant where there seemed to be people from a wedding. We asked if we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnbarrett07
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear johnbarett07, Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry this visit disappointed you and I agree we could have dealt with this better. Sadly I am reading this here today and it was not done better on the day... Kind regards, Tim Gehrke

Nottingham
Reviewed 17 August 2015

OK: Hotel is actually located within one of the historic Greenwich buildings so good location for exploring the area, has reasonable sized car park, clean. Could do better: Rooms are hot and not particularly spacious (though adequate for a weekend stay). There is no air conditioning, fans are provided instead. Room windows can be opened; be prepared for some traffic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drmorbius
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear drmorbius, Thank you very much for your feedback. Sadly we are not able to change anything on the room temperatures in a very hot summer time. This is out of our hands. We are however looking into your comments regarding the breakfast service and will review this. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Comfortable stay with nice room right near to The cute sark DLR so easy to get to Central London. Tea, coffee and biscuits available all the time free of charge with comfy chairs! We were met by a very friendly enthusiastic man each morning at breakfast who made sure we had all we needed. Parking cost only £5.00 per night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen503775
Tim G, Operations Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Helen503775, Thank you very much for your feedback. The gentleman in question is Averton, our Breakfast Host. He is a true experience in him self and I am delighted he could contribute to your stay. He will be waiting for your next visit. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke

362 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (199)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Garden View (29)
Viewed
Standard Twin (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#418 of 1,089 in London
1,123 reviews
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#241 of 1,089 in London
1,835 reviews
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Greenwich
Innkeeper's Lodge London Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Greenwich

Neighbourhood Profile
Greenwich
Greenwich Mean Time starts here, so to speak, as the very concept of global time was established at Royal Observatory, just one of several buildings of architectural interest in Greenwich. Indeed, the whole of Greenwich's historic town center, its Royal Park and a number of related buildings (and one world famous ship, the Cutty Sark) make up the UNESCO World Heritage site known as Maritime Greenwich. Today a laser beam is shot out across the night sky from the Observatory to mark the location of the Prime Meridian. Other bold (some say brash) 21st century additions to the area include landmarks such as The O2 entertainment complex (previously known as the Millennium Dome) and the Air Line cable cars, which offer scenic transport across the Thames between North Greenwich and the Royal Docks.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the World Heritage Site in Greenwich and steeped in naval history, De Vere Devonport House offers you the perfect way to enjoy the London buzz, without the bustle.Bedrooms: 94 en-suite, complimentary WiFi, flat screen TVs with Sky Channels, DDI Telephones, hair dryer, tea and coffee tray, iron & ironing board, full length mirror, laptop safe and desk space. Meeting & Syndicate Rooms: 14 meeting rooms & 9 syndicate rooms with main rooms offering natural daylight and a maximum capacity of 120 Food & Drink: Restaurant & bar, internet cafe, and a selection of hot drinks available off the coffee menu. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Devonport House

Address: King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Price Range: $168 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Devonport House 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Devonport House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonport House Hotel London
Devonport Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#249 Business Hotel in London
#282 Luxury Hotel in London
#312 Romantic Hotel in London
#349 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Devonport House staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Devonport House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't know how as they are all dated and tired but they are clean.”
K2744JWchristines, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid a room facing the road if you want a quiet night”
532malcolmh, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the first floor and was ok but our daughter's was on the 3rd floor.”
Laura198531, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade the rooms are much larger if staying more than one night”
Z8854NZcarola, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were on the first floor overlooking a graveyard and it was adequate, clean and quiet.”
pauliner90, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5