We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 122: English reviews
Start your review of Smart Camden Inn Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very nice location, close to the city and places like Camden market which are worth a tour ! The staff is not very convenient and helpful. They are very available given the fact that this reception is never closed BUT plenty of things were Rooms are not really clean not planned like paying the bill when you arrive whereas we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lénaïc C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

disgusting place to be in, rude customer service. they would charge you for anything you would expect after you book it. when you have a cleaning issue in the place they would keep saying the bloody manager is not there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank danieldust
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Yes, don't let yourself be fooled by the pictures with wide angle lens. This place is very, very narrow. The 6 beds en-suite room looked indeed like a submarine. The bunk beds are 3 on a pile, so that you can't really sit on the bed without banging your head above. And, you could kick the person on the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! We're sorry that you were unhappy with your stay in our hostel and we'll work hard to fix the issues that you experienced. Thank you for letting us know, your feedback is much appreciated. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

Reviewed 5 January 2017

The rooms are a bit small for the amount of people and also the bathroom was quite small. However this is typical for London. Beds are also quite small and not really made for tall people. Location was top, 5 minutes from the tube station and around 10 minutes located from Camden Market, which is a must see in that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlyn W
Vichy, France
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The hostel was okay for one night, and it is extremely cheap for its perfect location! But I didn't really feel safe there: the staff was very very cold and unfriendly, the room was really tiny and, well, i couldn't sleep at all so i left at 5am. But, again, I guess you can't expect a perfect place for such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luciletn
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Smart Camden is a clean and secure Hostel just a 3 minute walk from Mornington Crescent station on Camden High Street. We have stayed in both the 4 and 6 berth rooms, lower floor rooms are next to the TV rooms and Kitchen. Depending on the guests that night its hit and miss if they come back drunk and keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nibbledog
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking your time to write such a nice review of our hostel for other travelers. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to London. Kind Regards from The Smart Hostels Team

Reviewed 20 December 2016

Went to see Against Me! at Electric Ballroom and this hostel was good location wise, short 10 minute max walk from the venue. McDonald's is also nearby. When checking in the receptionist was very suspicious of my friend who was just there with me (not staying) and refused to let him upstairs to help me with my bags, although she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blathnaid M
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hostel for other travelers. We are happy to read that you had an over all nice stay at our hostel and we are sorry to read that you found some of our services unsatisfying. We will take all your valuable feedback into account. Hopefully you will...

Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

VERDICT Hostels are a real hit and miss, and this one is awful. Better choose Hotels.com for an ibis Budget Hotel or Airbnb for £30-40/night/person. Saving on the wrong end will make you pay twice, and/or come home with deseases. PROs + £16/night/person + located in Camden Town which is fun during the day CONs - very low hygiene level...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Addicted2Capitalism
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

This hostel is extremely average. The staff aren't very warm or kind, to be completely honest. I booked a bed in a 4 bed room, and honestly it was not a good experience. The room was TINY. I've stayed in a lot of hostels and I don't think I've been in a room as small as this. The metal bunk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hesitantelien
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thank for taking your time to write a review for other customers. we are sorry to read that you didn't fully enjoy your stay at our hostel. Please note that although some of our rooms may seem very packed because of the number of people staying in them, we also offer accommodation in dorms with fewer beds in...

Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

From the web-page it looked nice enough, but there are several issues. 1. we booked a 6-bunk room, but the room had 8 bunk-beds meaning there were 4 people more in the room than we expected. 2. The beds don't have individual bed lights, so the ceiling light has to be on whenever someone needs something. 3. There is only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne K. S
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking your time to write a review for other travelers. We are sorry to read that our hostel didn't live up to your expectations. We are aware that the outlet problem might be an issue and for this reason we are currently working in order to provide one outlet per bed. We will take all your...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (120)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Second Six Person Dorm with Shower (18)
Viewed
Second Six Person Ensuite Dorm (19)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm with Shower (10)
Viewed
Six Person Ensuite Dorm (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
144 reviews
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viking Hotel
#856 of 1,088 in London
600 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
York & Albany
York & Albany
#618 of 1,088 in London
282 reviews
Camden
St Christopher's Inn Camden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Camden

Neighbourhood Profile
Camden
Famous for its sprawling cluster of markets and shops as well as for an embrace of all things counter culture, Camden offers a concentrated version of London street life. From bargain shopping and people watching to rubbing elbows in its abundance of pubs and bars, Camden is the place to be for many a Londoner. It is also home to some of the hottest live music venues in Europe. As packed as Camden High Street and its tributaries can get during the weekends, this neighbourhood is right next to some of the city's most beloved outdoor spaces, namely Regent's Park and Primrose Hill.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Less than 547 yrd from Camden Market, the Smart Camden Inn is located in Camden's pubs and clubs district. Camden Town Underground Station is a 5-minute walk away and provides direct access to London city center. A 24-hour front desk is provided and there are no curfews or lock-out times. Tourist information and assistance is provided 24-hours and discount tickets for major attractions are also available. Free luggage storage is available for early check-ins. The Jewish Museum, Regents Park and central London are all within 15 minutes' walk. London Zoo is less than a 20-minute walk from the Smart Camden. A large TV features in the common room and a shared kitchen with a refrigerator is also available. Self-service laundry facilities are offered on site. All rooms are mixed-sex or female-only dormitories. Linens are provided and security lockers are available in all rooms. Shower and bathroom facilities are shared. Camden is a great choice for travelers interested in Theater, Museums and Culture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Address: 55-57 Bayham Street, London NW1 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Price Range: $25 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Camden Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Smart Camden Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Camden Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smart Camden Inn Hostel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Smart Camden Inn Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with private bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles 268marlynw, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the lower floor if you have luggage”
 of 5 bubbles blathnaidm2016, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I booked in a 6 bunk room but was tiny. Maybe rooms with more bunks have more space.”
 of 5 bubbles 426katy, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Fewer beds in room the better”
 of 5 bubbles BartSid, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“avoid at all cost”
 of 5 bubbles jaquir2014, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5