We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dictionary Hostel

Save
Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (107)
Dining (19)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good31%
  • Average17%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“free breakfast”(77 reviews)
“free earplugs”(15 reviews)
“great location”(124 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Pool
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,261)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveller rating
427
352
189
64
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
427
352
189
64
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastfree earplugsgreat locationbrick lanebed roomenjoyed my staywould stay againshort staymin walkshoreditchroommatesbackpackershipsternightlifepubssocketstube
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all it was very DIRTY. It was very noisy, too. And the staff was rude. Now, the details. The rooms are tiny and overcrowded with no ventilation. Don’t stay in lower level rooms, as they have no ventilation whatsoever. It can get really...More

Thank jannalee83
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For our school trip we stayed with 75 students at the Dictionary Hostel in London. The rooms were clean and pretty cool because we had a swingset in our room. The breakfast was not that good, we only had cornflakes or toast to eat. But...More

Thank Marte M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sister & I stayed in a 4 person room for a few nights & then our last night we got a private room. The 4 person room is perfect if your on the go & have a lot to do. We woke up early,...More

Thank Cassy C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was looking forward to my first hostel stay after reading the great reviews, but I was severely let down. It was noisy all night long and the floors creak on the slightest touch. The two female receptionists were rude and constantly seemed bothered when...More

Thank Haley P
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Shame on you, Dictionary. We left some positive feedback a year ago, when the things were OK. Now they are going from bad to worse. Almost all nice people are gone. By "nice" I mean professional, friendly and sober, of course. Those who still remain...More

Thank 684irenaz
Response from DictionaryHostel, Front Office Manager at The Dictionary HostelResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Irene, I understand you spoke with Joe, one of our reception team, but I unfortunately had not received the email you mention as it appears to have been sent to the admin team of our booking engine. Thank you for taking the time to...More

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in London, United Kingdom
See all 1,080 hotels in LondonSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$21 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$21 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (107)
Dining (19)
Amenities (7)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Dictionary Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Don't stay in a lower level room"
Read review
"Our first room was by the stair case the first two nights & all I could hear was people dragging luggage."
Read review
"Don't stay in room E!"
Read review
"Maybe get a room towards the back of hostel not on main street, may be quieter."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing