We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Generator Hostel London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,110: English reviews
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My stay was great, I was in an 8 bed mixed dorm. Overall cleanliness and the facilities were great. My only issues were that breakfast was hectic, there was almost no where to sit due to the amount of people, and what was on offer wasn't great. Just some bread rolls, ham and cheese, and cereal. So I'd suggest getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travel18182016
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear travel18182016 Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us here in London. Thanks for letting us know the areas we can look at improving and please visit us again soon! Best wishes Generator London

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Big hostel, nice staff, very clean very nice beds! Not too many toilets though, crowded in the morning. Great breakfast with good coffee! I checked out late, no problem. Ok location, walking to Soho bars 15min, St Pancras station 5min. Food in the restaurant not great, bar was nice place to meet people when travelling solo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iiris N
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear Iiris Thank you so much for your recent review. It is really nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Best wishes Generator London

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was too cold, they regulate heating centrally, but its not enough. Even after complaining, it was cold. They don't change towels and clean rooms. Friendly staff and nice lounge though. Rooms are small but OK for london.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rene K
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear Rene K Many thanks for your recent review! It is sad to hear that you have experienced some problems with the heating during your stay. We are trying to resolve this issue as soon as possible. We are glad that you enjoyed our common areas and you think our staff is friendly. Best wishes Generator London

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I Greatly enjoyed my stay :just like the first visit. I have no incentive to stay anywhere else while I am in London. Especially I like the overall friendly ambience of the place and the food in the evening

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charleslF483ZJ
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments after your recent stay with us here at Generator London. I'm thrilled to hear that we have met your expectations and I do hope we will be seeing you again at Generator in the future. Best wishes Generator London

.��$��
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hostel is nicely located close to two different underground stations. The hostel was very clean and well taken care of. Beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The English breakfast was okay and cheap. Showers and bathrooms worked well and were clean. There is always one or two security guys at the door/gate and it makes you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladiesonholiday2016
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear ladiesonholiday2016 Thank you so much for your awesome review! It’s so great to hear that we have made your stay an enjoyable one and I do hope we will be seeing you again in the near future. Thanks once again for choosing Generator London and please keep spreading the word! Best wishes! Generator London

Thimphu, Bhutan
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very efficient and fast service. Clean rooms, clean washrooms and comfortable. Good location. Despite having a dorm, the others were very considerable and friendly. Good coffee and excellent croissant fro breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Tim B, It is fantastic that you and your dorm mates got on well and there was no disturbance. Glad you liked breakfast, very important to start your day off well. Best wishes, Generator London.

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went to London for a gig and stayed here, the place was very good, immaculate clean and all the staff were spot on. Bar staff very friendly and the night staff ensure everyone stayed safe. A good place to stay over night. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Alex H, It is great to read your feedback. Security for our guests is really important to us and we are pleased that you felt safe when you came back from your gig. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Generator London.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Got a private room with bathroom. Felt just like a hotel but way cheaper. The room was very clean and the bathroom was quite big, not much space in the room but enough. Not a fan of the breakfast though, but the location is great and lots of other places to eat around! Will be back for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Val B
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear guest we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy that you enjoyed our location - we have a couple of different breakfast options so next time you can try something else! We can't wait to welcome you back again in the near future. Best wishes, Generator London

Paris
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My room had no heat for 4 hours and despite complaining several times at the front desk I was told there was nothing that could be done and I would have to wait until the heat time went on... I was given I guess this could be great if you're student on a budget. The design is appealing and puts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julietcapulet2
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to write us a review - we value your opinion a lot. We are really sorry that you were cold - our heaters are on a specific time schedule in the whole building to prevent the rooms from being too warm. We have passed to message to management to try and make...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overall, I had a good stay at the Generator Hostel in London. It is located very central but quiet. The thing bothering me was however our very small dorm room. My friend and I were staying in a 4 bed dorm room and the only thing that could fit in there were the two bunk beds. It was not possible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 76SW268318534568
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are happy that you took advantage of our very central location. We do have security walking the halls at night so next time please do not hesitate to contact them or our reception team and they will help you right away! We hope to see you...

573 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (438)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (227)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Quad Non-Ensuite (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Six Bed Ensuite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Twin Ensuite (14)
Viewed
Twin Non-Ensuite (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#344 of 1,078 in London
3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 791 in London
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $49 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel London 2*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel London staff and other travellers.
67 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Charlotte, North Carolina
pembrokeshire
Portland, Oregon
1 month ago

See all questions (67)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is an elevator but getting to the room can take a bit of walking. It is quite large,”
 of 5 bubbles AndersE663, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For the love of God, DON'T DO IT”
 of 5 bubbles Chloeonfire32, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower floor rooms because lifts can get very busy”
 of 5 bubbles GraciedeGracia, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bar noise travels up at least 3 floors, on that side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles ChiefSasquatch, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Main floor is noisy! To leave/enter the hostel & bar at night you use a different door - this hallway is by the main floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles amcoss, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay