We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Generator Hostel London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,160: English reviews
Sippy Downs, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

generator hostels are really good and have a rather high expectation. this one was no change. the rooms were good and good great, the chill out palces awesome. just the initial arrival was slightly let down with no introduction to the area as to where everything is.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Alex M, We are disappointed that you left our reception wanting more information and have discussed this with our reception team to ensure this is done. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future. Best wishes, Generator London.

Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a young woman traveling alone, this hostel made me feel welcome and safe, as well as comfortable that I wouldn't have to worry my belongings. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the social atmosphere was relaxed and fun with a big common lounge and bar area. There were a lot of good options for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michele H
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Michele H, We are so happy you felt safe travelling alone, this is very important to us. Hopefully you were able to meet some other travellers in our common areas. Yes, we are lucky to be so close to the tube stations which also helps feel secure at night. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Generator...

Mettet, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

i recommand this hotel but not for the food only for sleeping and for the location you have to take towels and an adaptator to charge your phone it is a beautiful deco and rooms are ok it is near a commercial area, near resto and near the station

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 762marieannep
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey 762marieannep, It is fantastic that you were able to spend Christmas time with us and all your feedback has been shared with our team here in London. Yes our guests will need their own towels and adapters but for anyone who has forgotten theirs we sell them, available 24hours a day. Best wishes, Generator London.

Valencia, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

the best thing for me has been the situation of the hostel and the atmosphere inside. The quality of sleeping has been a good think too. The not so good things, the cleaning under the beds and common toilets and shower room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank meralilu
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi meralilu, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we are pleased that for the most part you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback regarding the cleaning has been shared with our housekeeping manager. Best wishes, Generator London.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Generator offers a great atmosphere that travellers of all types can enjoy. The lobby area has a bar, diner, chill out area and travel shop. The rooms are 'cosy' but comfortable for a short stay. The free wifi was fast and available throughout the building. Lockers under the beds mean you should bring your own padlock (or pay 5 pound...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrSammyJoy
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi DrSammyJoy, Its fantastic to hear from you after your recent stay with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Generator London.

Toronto
Reviewed 1 week ago

Generator was a large building. There were lots of guests, very busy place. Attractive to younger generation looking for a good time. Decent amenities, location was excellent. Rooms were small but to be expected.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hayleym376
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey hayleym376, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. Yes we do have quite a large building but hopefully with our different common areas there is something to suit our different guests. Best wishes, Generator London.

Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Th location is perfect. The bar is really nice. The staff members were really nice. The rooms were nice and clean. And you can leave your luggage In the hostel while you're touring the city. In short a perfect place to be

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerard d
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Gerard D, It is fantastic to hear from you after your recent stay with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we can welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Generator London.

Paris, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to be, good location, good people, security for the night, quiet and simple! Good place for visiting london and share good moment with friends or family. Girl showers are just closed by a curtain not a door! Separate payment its only one card and the rest in cash just you know because it could be complicate if you...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ju L
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Ju L, Thank you for making everyone aware. Yes when a private room has been booked unfortunately our system is not allowing us at the moment to split the payments. We do have an ATM machine in our hostel so guests can take out cash and then we can split the payment any way. We hope we can see...

Itabira, MG
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I did not like it as much as the other generators I stayed during my trip. This one has a common area of medium size and always noisy. My bathroom was far from the room and not nearly as good as the other generators. Good room. have a nice breakfast. good location. I went with great expectations but it did...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel R
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Gabriel R, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We do have some 2, 6 or 8 person rooms with a private bathroom which may suit some guests better after visiting our other Generator's. Hopefully you can visit us and our other cities again in the future. Best wishes, Generator London.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were there for new year eve, so the prices were really expensive. There is no kitchen, so you can't cook your own food...the common room is really nice, it is a big hostel. The room we were in was really small and only plugs to charge our cellphone in the middle of the room...for the price we paid we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Sophie B, Unfortunately it is difficult to re-wire all the rooms for extra outlets, until we are able to do this we also have plugs under the seats in our cafe and chill out rooms. We hope you enjoyed your New Years Eve in London. Best wishes, Generator London.

582 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (447)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (235)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Quad Non-Ensuite (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Six Bed Ensuite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Twin Ensuite (14)
Viewed
Twin Non-Ensuite (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#350 of 1,080 in London
3,157 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#247 of 1,080 in London
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 803 in London
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $53 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel London 2*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel London staff and other travellers.
68 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
Charlotte, North Carolina
pembrokeshire
Portland, Oregon
2 months ago

See all questions (68)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms close the doors are little noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles lapaldo, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get the ensuite one”
 of 5 bubbles elp997, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There is an elevator but getting to the room can take a bit of walking. It is quite large,”
 of 5 bubbles AndersE663, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For the love of God, DON'T DO IT”
 of 5 bubbles Chloeonfire32, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower floor rooms because lifts can get very busy”
 of 5 bubbles GraciedeGracia, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay