We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Generator Hostel London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel London
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,107: English reviews
Nürnberg
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed for a weekend with my two sisters and had a lot of fun. Private 4-bed room, big enough, clean and beds were pretty comfortable. Toilets and showers were always clean. The included breakfast wasn't really good - better get breakfast at the Generator Café. Would definitely come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dania B
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Dania B, Its great to hear from you after your girls getaway. Yes our private rooms are popular with groups of friends or family travelling together, it is fantastic that you liked it. Hope to see you again soon, best wishes, Generator London.

Zajecar, Serbia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed at the mixed dorm. People were cool and friendly. The staff was very helpful. I tried their breakfast once big enough, but not so tasty. The only thing that this hostel lacks are good showers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zeldica
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Thank you so much for your review and high rating. We are really glad that you've enjoyed your time here. We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations regarding the breakfast. We are currently working on some improvements in our breakfast menu. Your comment about showers has been already passed along to our Facilities Manager. We hope to...

Lund, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

Close too 2 undergrounds stations one of them being kings cross. Friendly service and feelt safe since you did not get to enter the building without a booking or a key. Also nice that they have 3 beds room since we were 3 friends traveling. Bring your own towel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 51_set
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments after your recent stay with us here at Generator London. I'm thrilled to here that we have met your expectations and I do hope we will be seeing you again at Generator in the future. Best wishes Generator London

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there for three nights. The location and the atmosphere was really nice. Most of the staff was friendly. Unfortunately the same day we checked in painters were in our room. The put the curtain over the heater so the curtains burned. That wasn't a nice experience. Besides that the room smelled pretty bad (because of the paint). The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrudiiiTjt
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your recent stay with us. First of all I want to apologize for all the inconvenience caused. Your comments has been already passed to our Facilities Manager and we will investigate it further. Thank you for choosing Generator London and we are sorry we did't meet your...

Pitea, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

It dose not matter if you are in London to experience food, nightlife or just to enjoy a nice vacation with your family, Generator is a great place to stay :) We will be back, If your planing a trip to london I can recomend you stay here :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viktor H
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your awesome review! It’s so great to hear that we have made your stay an enjoyable one and I do hope we will be seeing you again in the near future. Thanks once again for choosing Generator London and please keep spreading the word! Best wishes! Generator London

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 1 week ago

I made a reservation 4 months ago for a private room w/ bathroom and asked for not to be a deck bed. And to me surprise I had a deck bed, with no possibility to change it. Very romantic for me and my fiance. The heating in the room was not working, I told the staff twince and all they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rinald0I
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and letting us know the areas we can look at improving. We are sorry that there may have been an issue with heating, our maintenance team is constantly monitoring this to ensure any issues can be fixed as soon as possible. Regarding the service, your comment has been already passed...

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 1 week ago

Average facilities Staff...poor service Location is awesome. Very good spot in central London, near from oxford street, British museum, camden town and other city highlights. Breakfast was very bad and the staff could improve the cleanliness in the cutlery.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 553rodrigol
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello 553rodrigol, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are disappointed that there were some aspects that did not meet your expectations and have shared this with our food and beverage team. Best wishes, Generator London.

Angelholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is good, within walking distance from St Pancras / Kings Cross. We were a family of four, sharing one room. The room is very small but we slept well. Bathrooms are a short walk away in the corridor. They were cleaned several times a day. We did not try their breakfast. There is a luggage storage room but small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anders E
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Anders E, Thank you for sharing your feedback. Apologies that you could not store your luggage at the hostel, we have lockers in the luggage room and also in two corridors but perhaps they were all full during this time. We hope you and your family can stay with us again soon. Best wishes, Generator London.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Generator hostel = Modern rooms, staff (receptionists, evening safety agents), sécurity (security guards and lockers with padlocks in the room), mirror and faucet in the room, the cleaning of the showers, party and music, bar and restaurant and especially all the nice meetings I've done!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 443audrey
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey 443audrey, It is fantastic that you enjoyed your stay! Its really important to us that our guests feel safe and comfortable so it is really good to read your thoughts on this. Hope to see you again next time you come to London. Best wishes, Generator London.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went with my sixth form group to this hostel whilst visiting London. The down stairs communal areas were very nice, up-to-date and clean. Staff were extremely friendly in the reception area and helped us out with any problems. We stayed on floor 2 (or Bond), the room was very small. It had two bunk beds, a tiny walk way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Lauren C, We are glad that you and your school group enjoyed your stay. Yes we always try to keep large groups together on the same hall. Your thoughts regarding the showers have been shared with our maintenance manager. Hopefully you can visit us again in the future. Best wishes, Generator London.

573 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (438)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (227)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Quad Non-Ensuite (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Six Bed Ensuite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Twin Ensuite (14)
Viewed
Twin Non-Ensuite (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#346 of 1,078 in London
3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#17 of 792 in London
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $47 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Generator Hostel London 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel London staff and other travellers.
65 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Charlotte, North Carolina
pembrokeshire
Portland, Oregon
1 month ago

See all questions (65)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is an elevator but getting to the room can take a bit of walking. It is quite large,”
 of 5 bubbles AndersE663, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For the love of God, DON'T DO IT”
 of 5 bubbles Chloeonfire32, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower floor rooms because lifts can get very busy”
 of 5 bubbles GraciedeGracia, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bar noise travels up at least 3 floors, on that side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles ChiefSasquatch, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Main floor is noisy! To leave/enter the hostel & bar at night you use a different door - this hallway is by the main floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles amcoss, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay