We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Generator Hostel London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,158: English reviews
Portsmouth
Reviewed 10 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed here Saturday night after a night out. Decent place inside, spacious and clean. Dorm was nice enough, very hot though. The worst thing about this place is the security guard who was working Saturday night. He wasn't rude to me personally but I heard him speaking to a few other guests and I was shocked. Who in their right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waaally
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Waaally, Firstly can I thank you for taking some time to share your feedback with us after your recent stay in London. I am, as you can imagine, greatly disappointed to read your comments about a member of our security Team. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel safe and comfortable during their stay, so what you have...

Reviewed 9 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed here last night a friend of mine booked it for a kind of reunion weekend while we were all down in the same end of the country. First impressions were good very modern and pleasant to look at. Room was good, slept very well in a 4 person room on the second floor. In the morning I had breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel O
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Daniel O, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments after your recent stay with us in London. I’m obviously delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay for the most part, but disappointed to read your feedback about our security team. The safety and comfort of all our guests is a big area for us, so...

Reviewed 9 March 2015 via mobile

Had a great stay here, made all the more better by Dan and his bar staff! I'd stay here again just to expireience another awesome night at the bar! Keep up the good work danny boy. Highly reccomended :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanOzNufc
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello DanOzNufc, Thanks for returning to Generator and also sharing your great comments about Daniel and the bar team! It’s great to hear that we creating enjoyable experiences for our guests! Hope to see you again really soon Please keep spreading the Genlove Lenny Hughes – GM Generator London

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Good location! Loved the interior decorations of the hostel! Stayed in an 8 bed room which was clean and the common showers was clean- kudos to the lady who keeps it spotless! Thought breakfast was pricey! Would go back again in a heartbeat!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank debhistorymaker
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Deborah C, Thank you so much for your wonderful review after your recent stay with us! It’s so great to hear your lovely comments and to understand that you have had a great time with us here in London. I will be sharing your wonderful comments with the whole team here who will be thrilled to understand they have...

Reviewed 7 March 2015 via mobile

Excellent place to make friends. Amazing location. (Less than 10 minutes walking from Russel Square Station) Really good communal areas. Efficient security. Really comfortable bed. BUT As the building is quite old (even having a modern and really nice decoration), you can hear everything from your bedroom. If you are sleeping close to the big door in the corridor, you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bianca A
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Bianca A, Thank you for your review and feedback after your recent stay with us. We take on board all guest feedback and suggestions and we greatly appreciate the opportunity to continually work with our guests to improve the service and facilities we provide. I’d like to thank you for choosing Generator London and I hope we will see...

Bellshill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Was meeting up with a group of old friends for a reunion at the time of my birthday. One of my friends arranged it all for me and the rest of us. As the weekend neared, he still hadn't said what he had booked. The week before he came out with "The Generator Hostel" in Russell Square. I'd never heard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank changingman2015
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey changingman2015, I was thrilled to ready your review after your recent stay with us here In London. It’s always great to hear from our guests especially those who come, not really knowing what to expect. It’s nice to hear that we are making memorable stays and changing peoples conception of a ‘hostel’ We’d like to welcome you back to...

Bovey Tracey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

would never recommend this place as one of the staff stole my 16 yr old daughters shopping. Access only via a card. Spoke to the manager which was a waste of my life police are involved!!! Will not give up until the tea leaf is caught!!!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sadienkristian C
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear Sadienkristian C, Firstly can I thank you for getting in touch with us, as we appreciate all feedback from our guests. Safety and security matters are taken incredibly seriously at the hostel, it is not in our interests for guests to have anything but a positive experience. For a guest to have felt that their situation was not dealt...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Overall, an absolutely fine hostel. Clean and comfy beds. Excellent location. Clean bathrooms. Friendly staff. Although having security is great for peace of mind, in reality it was a pain. Most security staff nice, however, watch out for one staff member on evenings/nights as we encountered a particularly rude individual.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romy L
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Romy L, Thank you for your review and feedback after your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read your feedback regards to a member of our security team here in London. Security is a very important aspect of the Generator London experience, but not one that should impact on the enjoyment of guest’s stay with us. We...

Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed 5 March 2015

I heard that hostellings in London are not that good! So I found the Generator hostel and it was better than I expected. The rooms were confortable, clean but quite small. Free Wifi was available in the rooms. The neighborhood is quite nice. There is a supermarket, restaurants, coffee shops, a movie theater, and stores in less than five minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana Z
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Diana Z, Its so lovely to hear from you after your stay with us here at Generator London. I was delighted to hear that we had been able to exceed your expectations of a hostel trip and all of your positive feedback about the facilities and your experience are just fantastic. I do hope we will be seeing you...

Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

We had a really good time at the generator hostel London. It has many different things to offer, like a really cool bar, dinning rooms, a movie theater, and even a photobooth you can use for free! The breakfast are good but you can only get food once, it is NOT a self service so be sure to take everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romane G
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Romane G, Thanks for your fantastic feedback after your stay with us here in London. It’s always great to hear that we are meeting our guests expectations and that we are creating memorable stays. I will be sharing your feedback with the whole team here who I know will be thrilled. We look forward to welcoming you back to...

582 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (447)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (235)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Quad Non-Ensuite (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Six Bed Ensuite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Twin Ensuite (14)
Viewed
Twin Non-Ensuite (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#348 of 1,080 in London
3,160 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#248 of 1,080 in London
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#17 of 802 in London
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $51 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel London 2*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel London staff and other travellers.
69 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
Charlotte, North Carolina
pembrokeshire
Portland, Oregon
3 months ago

See all questions (69)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms close the doors are little noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles lapaldo, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get the ensuite one”
 of 5 bubbles elp997, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There is an elevator but getting to the room can take a bit of walking. It is quite large,”
 of 5 bubbles AndersE663, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For the love of God, DON'T DO IT”
 of 5 bubbles Chloeonfire32, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower floor rooms because lifts can get very busy”
 of 5 bubbles GraciedeGracia, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay