We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Generator Hostel London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,100: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2015

I was in a 16 bed room and in London for a conference. The first few nights there was some inconsiderate guests, making a lot of noise. However, having the breakfast and facilities at the reception level are terrific. There's great wifi, a place to chill out and a place to buy a beer. The information booth is handy too!... More 

Helpful?
Thank John F
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello John F, Thanks for your great review after your recent stay with us here in London. It's wonderful to receive such good feedback and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Generator London again in 2015! Best Wishes Lenny Hughes - GM Generator London More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2015 via mobile

This hostel is clean, bright and vibrant plus the bar is very good and the cafe serves very decent food! I booked a twin room private for my stay. Lets just say, my room was fine...apart from the apparent lack of heating! My room and the hallways on my level were stone cold!! I stayed 2 nights out of my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Will R
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

A great hostel for a great value! It's totally worthed! The breakfast is very good, so as the bar service. Near King's Cross station, what makes everything easier! If I get back in London, I would stay in this hostel again!

Helpful?
Thank Mayara C
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hiya Mayara C, Thanks for your awesome review! It’s great to hear from you after your recent stay in London. We look forward to welcoming you back to Generator again in 2015! Best Wishes Lenny Hughes – GM Generator London More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

Nice place for every category of ages, especily young adult 18-25. I met someone who exactly change my point of view of life there! Cool place, tidy room, clean bathroom. Bit pricy and they only had 1 small lift only fit 6 person, for more than 100 rooms thats quite confused me. They had nice bar downstair, and cinema with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wirawan S
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Wirawan S, Thanks for writing a review after your stay with us here in London. It’s great to hear from you and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Generator London again in the near future. (Delighted you liked the cinema seating!) Thanks again for choosing Generator London Best Wishes Lenny Hughes – GM Generator... More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2014 via mobile

Great hostel, i was in a 4bed dorm it was spacious and clean, toilets and showers were clean..good facilities overall.Great bar! Good youthful atmosphere.. Reception could have been more helpful and friendlier.

Helpful?
Thank probes28
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello probes28, Thank you so much for your review. I will be sharing this with the whole team here and I know they will all be delighted to hear your feedback. I hope we see you again at Generator London very soon. Best Wishes Lenny Hughes – GM Generator London More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2014 via mobile

Dishonesty, run around, and lying this is my experience with Generator Hostel. Imagine manager Lenny Hugh acknowledges my family checked out via email and then his team denies to Expedia we did because we prepaid and did not want to give our money back. What a CROOK. We returned all our four keys. It was clear in the rules we... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Manuel R
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, This was an unforeseen system error which has now been rectified and a full refund issued through the online travel agent. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused and reassure you and all our guests that this is not common practice and as such has been dealt with as quickly as possible. Kind Regards Lenny Hughes... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2014 via mobile

My family stayed there for 2 nights & we checked out to move to Hilton. They denied we checked out and said we stayed thru Dec 27! On Dec 23, Lenny Hughes even emailed my husband to ask that we review the hostel in tripadvisor since we checked out early. Beware if you decide to shorten your reservation. They are... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lorna R
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, This was an unforeseen system error which has now been rectified and a full refund issued through the online travel agent. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused and reassure you and all our guests that this is not common practice and as such has been dealt with as quickly as possible. Kind Regards Lenny Hughes... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2014

I stayed in the generator for 2 nights in December. Firstly, the reception were extremely unhelpful, unfriendly and did not smile once. This is rare as I have been traveling for 2 months in Europe and reception is generally extremely helpful and friendly. Additionally, I was given our room on the basement level which was so cold. The rooms did... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Mona150
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2014

After reading many reviews online we believed the Generator would be a good hostel to stay at. However we found the staff to be very unfriendly and unhelpful. We called up as we could not easily locate the generator on the street and the staff seemed to be very cold and unhelpful. The rooms were cold which is not pleasant... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Hazzyc
San Pawl il-Baħar, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2014

(I understand that this is a hostel and is not to be reviewed in comparison to hotels!) Let me write why I believe this is a poor hostel. The 6-person room I stayed in, whilst tiny, were adequate. My issue with them was that there were 4 electrical outlets to service 6 people. In this day and age, everyone needs... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jianni G
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Jianni G, I’d like to start by thanking you not only for choosing Generator London but for also supplying such comprehensive comments and feedback in your review. Just to touch on a few of your questions and suggestions, I have passed your feedback regarding the power sockets on to our development team. Please be assured this has been noted.... More 

567 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (432)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (221)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Quad Non-Ensuite (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Six Bed Ensuite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Twin Ensuite (14)
Viewed
Twin Non-Ensuite (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#345 of 1,078 in London
3,057 reviews
Notting Hill
La Suite West - Hyde Park
La Suite West - Hyde Park
#435 of 1,078 in London
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $47 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Generator Hostel London 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel London staff and other travellers.
65 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Charlotte, North Carolina
pembrokeshire
Portland, Oregon
1 month ago

See all questions (65)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is an elevator but getting to the room can take a bit of walking. It is quite large,”
 of 5 bubbles AndersE663, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For the love of God, DON'T DO IT”
 of 5 bubbles Chloeonfire32, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower floor rooms because lifts can get very busy”
 of 5 bubbles GraciedeGracia, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bar noise travels up at least 3 floors, on that side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles ChiefSasquatch, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Main floor is noisy! To leave/enter the hostel & bar at night you use a different door - this hallway is by the main floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles amcoss, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay