We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pickwick Hall

Show Prices
#554 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
Pickwick Hall
Pickwick Hall
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 95: English reviews
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in room 4 at the front-a twin room. Beds clean and comfortable. Made to feel very welcome. Fantastic location as I walked to British Museum and West End and from Kings Cross. Enjoyed my stay.Thank You.

Helpful?
Thank kidshelpl
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

I stayed at Pickwick Hall for one night and would definitely stay there again. It was easy to get to in a quiet neighborhood. I felt very safe. My room was comfortable and the toilet and shower were close by. The breakfast was very nice and just right for me.

Helpful?
Thank jodiog
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

A really fab location - we walked 15 mins to see two musicals nearby during our trip. You're a stones throw from Oxford St and the British Museum. The rooms are basic but clean, comfortable and large. Towels are provided and we used the shared bathrooms and they were fine. Breakfast is also included - cereal, toast and tea which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This place is such a bargain. For a private room, mere steps away from the British Museum you can't find a better price. This is very much a hostel not a hotel, but if you just want somewhere clean and comfortable to put your head down and save your money for everything else in London, then it's perfect. I stay... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Raggyflower
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Three of us stayed 4 nights at Pickwick Hall during the London leg of our European trip. Check in was hassle-free, receiving our keys and being ushered into our rooms immediately, giving us plenty of time to get out and explore the city. The building is quite old, built in early 1800 as shown by the twin maps of the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank scott g
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Yes I walked into the street called Bedford Place and thought I was in the wrong direction..The street is perfect, so high-class that you know you're going to walk into a great hostel when you get there..and that's exactly what happened! Great GREAT living room amazing BED ROOM (Yes, even though it was a 4-people dorm, we all had real... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarinaTakia
ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stayed in Pickwick Hall recently when we traveled to London for the Harry Potter play in the West End. Having spent a lot of money on the play tickets and flights our hotel budget was fairly small so we booked Pickwick Hall on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed there previously. We had a double room with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shoppergal
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Ridiculously cheap for a central, safe, attractive location in Bloomsbury, near the British Museum. Extremely basic, with a shared bath, but for the price paid, it was a clean, uncrowded, quiet place. But, what more do you need when London is at your doorstep?! Very close to two tube stations: Holburn and Russel Square and only one stop from St.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole_Higgins
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights on our trip of Europe. This is in an excellent location, close to tube underground - Holborn station. The rooms are clean and tidy. Fresh clean sheets. We had a double with shared bathroom. The bed was a queen size and there were two toilets and one shower on our floor which was of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ambowden
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

It was a pretty average place. Quite cheap but you get what you pay for. Beds were absolutely terrible with springs in them that I just felt all up my back. The showers weren't very good as well. There were two showers on my level that were both broken partly and annoying to use. Beside the annoying bathrooms and bed,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank conc995
Patrick H, Owner at Pickwick Hall, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not have a comfortable sleep. We replaced most beds and mattresses last year to hotel quality and we will change the rest this year. The ones not changed last year appeared to us not to requre changing at that time: your experience shows that we made a mistake and I am sorry for... More 

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (159)
Viewed
Quad Ensuite (33)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Single with Shared Bathroom (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Triple Ensuite (28)
Viewed
Twin with Shared Bathroom (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#564 of 1,078 in London
488 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#354 of 1,078 in London
130 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viking Hotel
#800 of 1,078 in London
570 reviews
White Lodge Hotel
#441 of 1,078 in London
183 reviews
Hotel 65
#821 of 1,078 in London
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Pickwick Hall

Address: 7, Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $50 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pickwick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick Hall London
Pickwick Hall Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pickwick Hall staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
10 days ago
San Jose, California
Norwalk, Connecticut

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Pickwick Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was lucky on the second floor and had my huge window open all night & loved it.”
 of 5 bubbles jodiog, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If stairs are a problem, ask for a room on a lower floor as there is no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles Nicole_Higgins, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The three bed room has fridge and microwave”
 of 5 bubbles dflester, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms with shared bathroom are absolutely great value - facilities always clean and not too busy.”
 of 5 bubbles danniip2013, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Nice, simple and perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles lasselader, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay