We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1018 Dockside Road, London E16 2FQ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$124
View deal
Expedia.com
US$126
View deal
Destinia.com
US$120
View deal
Hotels.comUS$126
TravelocityUS$126
Lol.travelUS$150
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (231)
Room & Suite (84)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 26/09/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express London - Excel
Updated 26/09/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#351 of 1,195 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A modern recently built Holiday Inn Express London -ExCeL hotel is conveniently located in the heart of East London with excellent transport links to Canary Wharf and London attractions suited for Business or Leisure stays. This stunning property boasts 204 bedrooms, three meeting rooms. Every guest staying will have complimentary buffet breakfast included in their stay, restaurant offers 24-hour menu and Alfresco dining in our hotel terrace. Hotel has onsite car/van parking facilities with no height restrictions with up to 60 spaces, we recommend registration with reception to avoid penalties. Hotel is just a stone’s throw away from iconic venue ExCeL centre, within walking distance to London City Airport or under 5 minutes cab drive, 200 metres walking distance is the Docklands Light Railway - Royal Albert has direct links to Canary Wharf, London City and direct connections to Canning Town underground station and is perfectly located in the heart of all that East London has to offer. Room types to choose from are Standard category with options of Double room offering Queen or King bed, Twin room with 2 separate single beds, Family room consists of Double & Sofa bed allowing up to 2 Adults & 2 Children (under 12 years) stay included and Accessible Double rooms for guests requiring Wheelchair or step free access.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, German and 3 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock loyalty benefits
1022Reviews53Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 446
  • 339
  • 158
  • 43
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Cormac D wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Really delighted to come here again. The welcome is always friendly and staff are very dedicated to the customer. Free breakfast was nice apart from scrambled egg which was too dry. Had meal on first night prompt aeevice and was able to enjoy in my room ao i could get on with my work. Reliable wifi . Handy if commuting from London City Airport or attending an event at excel. City centre very accesible vis DLR only 2 minutes walk . Will be back again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stergos Karassavas, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express London - Excel
Responded yesterday
Dear Cormacd952, Thank you ever so much for having taken the time to share this fabulous review following your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to see that your expectations were exceeded on all fronts on this occasion, and you feel comfortable recommending Holiday Inn express London ExCel. I will definitely follow up the feedback in regards scrambled egg with our Kitchen and Breakfast Team. . I am delighted to see location was convenient for yourself with DLR and especially with Elizabeth line journey to Central London only 25 minutes. I hope that the next time your travels take you to London you will choose to stay with us again, and in the meantime, wish you well. Should you ever require any assistance, I remain entirely at your disposal. Kind Regards, Ibo Ozbay Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly Le-Roy wrote a review Feb 2022
8 contributions17 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Well what can I say, another very pleasant stay, from check in, to leaving staff always seem very friendly and helpful, especially Susan she is absolutely lovely, mo on reception is class and always smiley, and millie, at breakfast and a small lady with blonde hair, sorry forgot her name, always happy to help, room was clean, breakfast was plenty full, parking was great, can’t wait to come back and see these lovely people always make you feel welcome 🤗, thank you for another enjoyable stay. See u soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
traveller123456277 wrote a review Aug 2022
Portsmouth, United Kingdom277 contributions127 helpful votes
Handy location for Excel - which is about 10 mins walk away Car park on site - not massive but good number of spaces - the parking payment is per 24 hrs. Make sure you enter the correct car reg etc at reception Good friendly welcome at the desk and a good room in the hotel. No noise from outside but a bit of noise from inside with noisey guests talking in the corridor a few times on saturday night. Only got the room key card to work in 1 of the 2 lifts and gave up in the end and used the stairs - its not clear why you would secure the lifts with key cards but not the stair well ? Good room - air con and a nice big bed and shower. Not much round and about for eating on a saturday night so had a pizza at the hotel bar - it was quite big ordered a 4 cheese pizza but was more like a cheese and tomato - pretty plain and ordinary - not brilliant value for money. Overall I would definately use this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stergos Karassavas, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express London - Excel
Responded yesterday
Dear Traveller123456277, Thank you ever so much for having taken the time to share the review following your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed our big bed, air condition and shower. In regards to the stairwell, it is a fire exit, so cannot be locked. I hope that the next time your travels take you to London you will choose to stay with us again, and in the meantime, wish you well. Should you ever require any assistance, I am more than happy to assist you personally. Kind Regards, Ibo Ozbay Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy G wrote a review Aug 2022
UK2 contributions2 helpful votes
With what was already a generally okay stay with the worse breakfast I have ever hand in a hotel is made worse by getting a fine for parking in the hotel car park after both paying upfront for it and also registering the vehicle with the reception which shows a total lack of control and communication between the hotel and their parking partners. Whilst I will appeal the fine with proof of purchase etc this has made what was already quite a poor experience even wrose.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express London - Excel
Responded 26 Aug 2022
Hi andyjsg, Thank you for your review and for choosing our Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL for your accommodation needs. We appreciate you as one of our valued guests! We're committed to providing you with the best overall experience. I'm sorry about the situation encountered during your stay. I brought this up to our local management's attention. I'm confident that the necessary actions will be taken to ensure better service. I also sent you a private message discussing this further. We look forward to seeing you again on your future trips and we'll do our best to make your next stay better than the last! Safe travels, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ma W wrote a review Aug 2022
Plymouth, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
comfortable room, comfortable bed. super nice service. food good. there is a train and a bus stop close by, making it easy to get around. I recommend the pizzas in the evening-very tasty. I spent a very nice time with the children.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stergos Karassavas, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express London - Excel
Responded yesterday
Dear 42maw, On behalf of the entire team here, thank you very much for having taken some of your precious time to share this wonderful review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that your expectations were exceeded. pleased to see you loved the pizzas and our great transport links. on all fronts and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the not too distant future. Looking forward to welcoming you back at Holiday Inn Express London ExCel. Kind Regards, Ibo Ozbay Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim C wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
This visit was a result of a competition win. Hotel was clean staff very efficient and great location for London City Airport. Many thanks for an enjoyable stay. We will be definitely back soon. The room was great and the wide shower with a powerful pressure was great. We dined at the nearby Yi bang Chinese restaurant which was very good too.. Great for trying the cable car to the 02. Thanks again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stergos Karassavas, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express London - Excel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Jim We are so glad you had such a great stay and enjoyed some of our local attractions and restaurants. Congratulations on winning the competition too! We look forward to welcoming you back on another visit in the not-too-distant future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gulffriend wrote a review Jul 2022
Manama, Bahrain36 contributions18 helpful votes
Great location. Poor cleanliness of the bedding in the room. I had other peoples body hairs on the pillow and another people was dirty with black marks. More importantly, the bed was two twin mattresses zipped together which was fine by me however the housekeeping team had tried to put two twin toppers on the king bed mattress and they didnt fit and subsequently created a lump in the middle of the bed. it was late for me when I found this out and i refused to move rooms as I was already in bed and it would have taken time. I shared all this feedback as a loyal IHG One Rewards member and simply asked for a gesture from the General Manager to say sorry and he refused. I wouldn't go back here anytime soon. i reported this to IHG Guest Relations and they have compensated me. its a shame the GM didn't want to.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express London - Excel
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Hello, markinthegulf Our staff loves checking reviews and using them to improve in future stays. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your impressions. We love to see you have opted for us for your accommodation. I apologize on behalf of the hotel. We are currently working on the issues you encountered. Our local team will ensure we improve our quality. I have also forwarded your review to our management for further action. Our commitment is always combining a feeling of comfort and happiness with exceptional touch to make you have a memorable experience. We look forward to seeing you again in future travels. I'm sure you'll love the changes and improvements based on your priceless feedback. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DanielleA1212 wrote a review Jul 2022
Montreal, Canada50 contributions41 helpful votes
Location leaves a bit to be desired but the area is in development so I'm sure this will improve. My room was on the small side with two single beds, desk and chair. Lows: The soap dispenser in the shower was broken and there was mold on the ceiling. The carpet had a few stains. Highs: Comfortable bed and good AC. Not all hotels have AC as the UK does not generally have such hot weather. Adequate breakfast and good coffee. Close to the train so it's easy enough to leave the area and see the sights. I only gave 3 stars as the property is VERY overpriced for what it offers.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express London - Excel
Responded 7 Aug 2022
Dear DanielleA1212, Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting London and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. Pleasure having you as our guest. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary stay due to the maintenance of our room, the location of our hotel and the stains on the carpet. This is certainly below our usual high standard of service. Please be assured that I have noted and forwarded your comments for the management to improve. In the midst of the inconvenience, I am glad to know that the comfort of our room and the service of our staff were still appreciated. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eugene K wrote a review Jul 2022
Geneva, Switzerland289 contributions217 helpful votes
The hotel is a true representation of the brand and got all the basics you may need, covered. If you are there for an event in Excel, beware, this is probably the hotel which is the furthest away from the venue in the area and is actually 2 short DLR stops away from the main entrance, which takes around 5 mins. Another weird thing with that hotel is that hotel cards were not properly working and needed several tries every time you tried to get the left going or to enter your room (no they were not demagnetized). Oh and make sure you get a 3rd floor room with a view of LCY runway if you are into planes :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express London - Excel
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Hello citizen132002, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience with the accommodation. We strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around, but I'm sorry to learn about what happened. We take feedback seriously and I have shared your comments with our hotel management to address this immediately and I am confident they will take steps so this doesn’t happen again. Your loyalty is important to us and we hope you choose IHG still on your future travels. Sincerely, Jenilyn J. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GeorgewjB wrote a review Jun 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
This is a lovely hotel! We stayed here last weekend for the one night, and had outstanding service from Milly at the bar. She was so friendly and approachable, and made sure we had everything we needed!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stergos Karassavas, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express London - Excel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear George Thanks so much for leaving us such a lovely review and we've passed your compliments on to Milly. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$120 - US$249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonDocklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
204
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express London - Excel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express London - Excel?
Nearby attractions include Brick Lane Music Hall (0.6 km), Locked In A Room (1.1 km), and Thames Barrier Park (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express London - Excel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express London - Excel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express London - Excel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express London - Excel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Barrique Wine Bar & Pizzeria, Tapa Tapa, and Custom House Pub.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express London - Excel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express London - Excel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express London - Excel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Russian, Hindi, Polish, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express London - Excel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Royal Naval College (4.4 km), Cutty Sark (4.6 km), and Royal Observatory Greenwich (4.6 km).
Does Holiday Inn Express London - Excel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Holiday Inn Express London - Excel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.