We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Jurys Inn Middlesbrough

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

673 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 664: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Booked on line in February for weekend in May. Well received on arrival by Jess on Reception. Double room on second flor was reasonable and a little bit on the smal side. Within 10 minutes an upgrade was approved. Room 311 is an excellent room with a sitting area and king size bed. This was on a weekend when the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kagee6
DR0b1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear Kagee6, thank you for taking the time to add a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to upgrade you on this occasion, the bedroom you occupied is one of 12 Superior King rooms at the hotel. These rooms comprise of a bedroom and sitting area...

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016

the staff could not do enough to help, at reception, in the restaurant, gym.Great pool, clean towels, rooms very comfortable. Wouldn't go back to Middlesborough as nothing there bar football, but would book a Jury's Inn without doubt again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TPR53
DR0b1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear TPR53, thank you for posting comments following your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn Middlesbrough, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and felt that your room was comfortable and that the swimming pool was great. I appreciate your kind comments regarding the service provided by our team particularly in reception and I will pass this on....

Loch Lomond
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Third visit, each one to a different hotel chain! It's a Jury's inn just now. Well positioned for the city centre and amenities. Could be a lovely hotel but falls down on lots of little things. No towels left in room! Dirty cutlery and lack if plates and glasses at the buffet breakfast. Hot food only warm! Service in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank softwysi
DR0b1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear softwysi, thank you very much for providing feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed and had some little issues during your stay, I do hope that you made my team aware so that we had the opportunity to put it right for you at the time. I can assure you that...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for five nights whilst on a training course, I had travelled by train and was perfectly located close to the train station. The hotel itself is very modern, I believe it has recently been given a makeover, my room was comfortable and quiet. The pool area was nice although the steam room could be doing with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mearnsb
DR0b1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear mearnsb, thank you very much for providing me with feedback following your recent visit and for recommending the hotel to others. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be comfortable, quiet and that the team were helpful and friendly. The hotel bedrooms have recently been refurbished and there is a plan...

Gdansk, Poland
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Good hotel located quite close to the downtown. Nice lounge bar with charming staff. Unfortunately had no time to visit in the gym, but it looks professional. And last but not least - tasty English breakfast with perfect poached eggs :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U2834WBpiotrs
DR0b1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear U2834WBpiotrs, thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to the hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the quality of the food and service you received throughout the hotel. Our town centre location provides easy access to the main shopping and entertainment areas of Middlesbrough...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Excellent rooms, service is consistently good, food good quality and very reasonably priced. Parking indoor is tight while refurb taking place, gym is small but has ample equipment, pool fair size sauna and steam room could be warmer, happy to continue using hotel long term.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smQ6365RF
DR0b1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear smQ6365RF, thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to Jurys Inn Middlesbrough. I am delighted that you enjoyed your extended stay and were able to take advantage of all the hotel facilities including the Juvenate Leisure Club. I am pleased to confirm that the scaffolding in the car park has...

Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Very comfortable room; well serviced. Free , accessible wi-fi. Good selection of food at breakfast. Pool & gym with convenient opening times. Main restaurant is a little expensive but the food is good. . The hotel is very popular so service in the evenings can be on the slow side. Very helpful staff on reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann212015
DR0b1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear Ann212015, thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to Jurys Inn Middlesbrough. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, found the reception team to be helpful, and you enjoyed the selection of food offered at breakfast and dinner. All of our guests have access to the Juvenate Leisure Club on a complimentary basis,...

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Book well in advanced due to excellent hotel. Great location to town center. All the staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was good quality products. Bar and restaurant were nice and quite also bar drinks are over priced. Building work at time of stay was in progress so affects car parking but did not cause any problems to our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keithdC3478TK
DR0b1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear keithdC2478TK, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Jurys Inn Middlesbrough. I am pleased that you found our team to be very polite and helpful and enjoyed the quality of breakfast. The drinks prices reflect that Jurys Inn Middlesbrough is a 4 star hotel and offers premium brand drinks, I do...

London
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Nice hotel and staff but pool was closed early for the bank holiday which made no sense. Rooms recently redecorated but half a job done and a poor one at that. Look closely and paint over the edges. Bad varnishing on the outside of the doors. Not sure who they used for this but someone didn't snag or sign this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidcB2303GE
DR0b1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear davidcB2303GE, thank you for taking time to provide feedback following your recent visit to Jurys Inn Middlesbrough. I was pleased to read that you were impressed by the service provided, I will pass your kind comments on to the team as everyone appreciates feedback from our guests and we work hard to offer friendly and professional service at all...

Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

We went here last night and I have to say that as far as bar management goes, this is the worst restaurant bar I've ever seen. 30 minutes in and all tap beer goes off. Someone is seen replenishing the ever decreasing bottle fridge with supermarket multi-packs so that is obviously running out too. If you know how many people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
DR0b1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear Stuart L, thank you for taking time to provide feedback following your recent visit to Jurys Inn Middlesbrough. I appreciate your comments regarding the lack of draught beer, unfortunately the pump in the beer cellar failed and the hotel carries only a limited stock of bottled items, my team did purchase replacement stock locally to replenish the fridges and...

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlesbrough
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
2.9 km away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
6.1 km away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
151 reviews
1.7 km away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#8 of 11 in Middlesbrough
205 reviews
13.3 km away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough is a welcoming, contemporary hotel located in the town centre and an excellent central base for discovering Teesside and the wider region. The hotel is close to the acclaimed Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art and just a short drive from Stockton, Redcar, Hartlepool and the Tees Valley, the magnificent North York Moors, and the spectacular coastline at Whitby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Middlesbrough

Address: Fry Street, Middlesbrough TS1 1JH, England (Formerly The Middlesbrough Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Price Range: $83 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Middlesbrough 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, JurysInn, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Jurys Inn Middlesbrough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Middlesbrough Hotel Middlesbrough
Thistle Hotel Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Thistle Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jurys Inn Middlesbrough staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
5 months ago
London, UK
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Jurys Inn Middlesbrough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors looking over the Transporter Bridge and football stadium.”
 of 5 bubbles janetelizabethw, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I was on the 5th floor toward the west but I gather all the hotel was similar in terms of quietness and views.”
 of 5 bubbles johnbL6187LS, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors were quieter although this did not prevent the noise of clubbers in the early hours.”
 of 5 bubbles redrobboChesham, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Enjoy yourself”
 of 5 bubbles Malco123, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles SusanEastYorkshire, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay