We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blue Bell Lodge

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Blue Bell Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 160: English reviews
Start your review of Blue Bell Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited the blue bell which has been on the go for years food was nice service was good. Depressing as a funeral going on where we were eating maybe shld have a different area the worst complaint I've got is the parking it's disgraceful won't b going back because of this

Thank Colleen F
Billingham-on-Tees, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Attended a paid for function with spread after a Funeral Service. We were advised to pay for parking, and it would be refunded inside. On entering - bar staff refused to refund, and said they would only take money of bar drinks. However the food and drinks had been pre paid as part of the arrangements. However the same staff...

2Thank Sean360
TheBlueBellAcklam, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for leaving your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your time here at The Blue Bell Hotel wasn't up to our high standards. I will ensure that all staff are clear on our parking policy to ensure that it doesn't happen again. We cannot apologise enough and we hope we can make this up to you...

Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I could not fault the food, the service was good and we were seated quickly. We got our food and sat down, football was on the tv and the sound was that loud we felt as though we were in a football stadium!! Unfortunately we were not advised there was a quieter area to eat until we had finished our...

Thank LCT321
TheBlueBellAcklam, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for leaving your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your otherwise great experience was tarnished by the volume of our TV screenings! We will ensure that we offer people the option of TV seated area or a quiet eating area in the future. We cannot apologise enough and we hope we can make this up to you...

Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed her for business on a Wednesday. First impressions were poor - as I went to check in the receptionist was busy doing something else and I had to wait until she finished before she tended to me!!! The rooms were quite nice, bed was a bit lumpy. I went to the bar for dinner and there were only...

1Thank Jemma T
TheBlueBellAcklam, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for leaving your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your time here at The Blue Bell Hotel wasn't up to our usual high standards. I will be sure to pass all feedback to the relevant staff who haven't performed to ensure a consistent high level of service. We apologise that you found our menu limited, we...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

I first went for Sunday lunch about 6 months ago it was really nice. However the last twice have been awful no taste at all and the gravy was like dishwater. We did try it one last time as 6 months previous it was beautiful . This place has gone right down the pan . Sorry guys as it is...

Thank blythy2015
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I've eaten here a few times and generally love the food but the most recent time was quite busy and the food reflected it. If it was my first visit I wouldn't go back but many previous fab meals so I would still recommend (especially day time/ lunch). Booked online and wasn't aware the price was for immediate payment. Payment...

Thank Kelreviews
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Shared plank platter was really good value and tastyvl but only 2 staff behind the bar serving drinks and food to tables when about 50+ in the pub resulting in unacceptable delays in getting served at the bar.The girl serving was great and doing get best and working hard but the lad was very disinterested and looked lazy .Sort it...

1Thank jwebb129
Buxton, Derbyshire
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Stayed for two nights bed and breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable, recently refurbished. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the rooms. Breakfast was served in a small separate dining area where you could help yourself to cereal and toast, tea, coffee, juice whilst waiting for a full English breakfast to be freshly prepared. Reception staff were...

Thank Shoefan
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Came for a family meal which we all thoroughly enjoyed. I had chicken alfredo was very filling. My fiancé had a mixed full he really enjoyed it but the plates were oddly small for the meals! 2 for 1 on desserts meant we couldn't say no, the chocolate fudge cake was massive. Would certainly eat here again in future

Thank Georgie C
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

After finishing work we thought we would call into the Blue Bell for a meal on our way home. I ordered my meal SURF, TURF AND CLUCK Crispy breaded tail-on prawns, rump steak and a whole chicken breast, served with a grilled tomato, beer-battered onion rings, mini corn-on-the-cob, peas and chips. I was asked how I would like my steak?...

Thank Boroboy100

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (22)
Bathroom (7)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (6)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (11)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Room/Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Bathroom (1)
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
1.4 km away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
2.9 km away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
279 reviews
2.6 km away
Marton Hotel & Country Club
4.5 km away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Blue Bell Lodge

Address: Acklam Road | Tees Valley, Middlesbrough TS5 7HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Price Range: $78 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bell Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Blue Bell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Middlesbrough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Bell Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Blue Bell Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't eat here”
shellwants2play, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back as the main road never quietens down”
hoping_to_help_1, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are ridiculously hot, travel with a fan”
mikecZ8796SD, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“219 just been re furbed”
722davidb, 11 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here!!”
AllisonP330, 10 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates