We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marlborough Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Marlborough Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Marlborough Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 140: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I agree with many of the other commentsmade on Trip advisor. Robert and Maxine are terrific hosts and do all they can to make our stay enjoyable. Clean comfortable accommodation and a very good breakfast. We will be back again next year and wouldn't stay anywhere else. If you are arriving by train use the pathway near the right side...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ralphwalker747
Reviewed 3 September 2016

stayed here a few times now very clean and tidy very pleasant host i traveled lot with my work and £ for £ this has to be up there with the best i have ever stayed in terms of value for money , cleanliness and a fantastic breakfast stuart

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuart S
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We came to Norwich for some location filming and as new visitors to the City, we were made to feel incredibly welcome by Robert, Maxine and their staff . Although the building is currently undergoing some internal and external renovations, this did not affect our stay in any way and the work they have had done so far is very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed twice on buisness trip always go back when I am back in Norwich . Robert is a very helpful gent who will always try for you try and book direct to hotel. It is a great location and handy for shops and the train lonks. instead of booking sites .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert A
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Everything was prefect! from meet and greet on arrival to departure, room was excellent, good nights sleep, breakfast excellent and in walking distance of Carrow Road! My son and I had a wonderful trip. Thank you Rob and Sandy. Hope to see you again when the football season starts!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzannehurst
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Its two years since my last review for this establishment and as we were in Norwich again on 26th July we decided to book an experience at this guest house. The last visit we were on the ground floor, this visit we were on the first floor over looking the station but could not see the trains and very very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colchester30E
Reviewed 17 June 2016

I rarely add a revue for places that I stay but this definitely earned one. We were staying in Norwich for a few days & as we need a place central & to accommodate 3 adults & 2 young children, the Marlborough came up in the search online. We had a lovely stay. The rooms.clean, modern with great en suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suse R
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2016

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights when we went to see Rod Stewart - it was a lovely place to stay very convenient for the station and the stadium excellent breakfast and friendly helpful staff would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waggy15_13
Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 7 June 2016

This guest house is far from city centre and sights and close to the bar street. The room had very little natural light and only one window which faced a wall. It was noisy as the room was close to reception, we could hear the phone ringing, people talking through the walls and people walking up and down the stairs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jtraveller87
Maxine H, Owner at Marlborough Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Firstly, at no point did you speak to us regarding your unhappiness with your room, if you had of we would have been more than happy to move you to another room immediately. We have also never had complaints regarding wifi not working well in that particular area? You booked through booking.com on a no...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

i looked at this b+b for a 1 night stay in Norwich at the time of booking it reviewed with Booking.Com 9.3 rating with lots of raving reviews about the breakfast.THIS IS WHY WE BOOKED IT We arrived the person we met in the b+b, we noticed had 30 seconds earlier been out the front smoking. Not a great 1st...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank patrick c
Maxine H, Owner at Marlborough Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. When you made the booking with booking.com you booked a tariff that did not include breakfast. This was stated on your booking form under "meal plan" - no meal plan was included in your booking. Following the confusion and misunderstanding regarding your booking you were offered a full English breakfast for £6.00 per person, you...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.1 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,069 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.1 km away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Marlborough Guest House

Address: 22 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England (Formerly Marlborough House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Price Range: $77 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marlborough Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Guest House Norwich, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marlborough Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Marlborough Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 12 which is right by the main entrance and could be irritating for lighter sleepers.”
 of 5 bubbles phammel2016, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Save money with a toilet down the hall.”
 of 5 bubbles paulg482, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our ground floor room was quiet and convenient”
 of 5 bubbles PofHalifax, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 is on very busy street but with windows closed you don't hear much at all. Certainly did not disturb my sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles ralphwalker747, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 11 excellent! twin room on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles suzannehurst, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5