We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

420 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 414: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Stayed here for work. The hotel is very dated and the rooms need an overhaul... as do the bathrooms. The place is a bit of a warren and is not overly suitable for people with mobility issues. The shower in my room (129) was pitiful, but the towels seemed new (thick and fluffy). I probably wouldn't stay here again. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam0701
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Stayed for 1 night as we were seeing some friends the next day. The staff were friendly and helpful. They have a well stocked, reasonably priced bar. Breakfast was very good - good choice, well cooked and quality ingredients (including gf toast). This is an old building and so you expect rooms to not be perfect but as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David F
Ilford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as we were in Norwich for a concert. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very clean, but a bit dated. Bed very comfortable and linen good quality. Main lights didn't function in the room or bathroom so had to make do with desk lamps and mirror light and shower was a dribble. We would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff were friendly and keen to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and warm. We had a teenager with us and it really was a triple room, as advertised, so it was a proper single bed and not just a sofa bed. We forgot toothbrushes and they happily supplied them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Great hotel. Booked 2 single ensuite rooms for son and I. Really good value. Evening meal inexpensive and lots of choice. Breakfast very tasty and good value. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Late check out no problem. Looking after our luggage whilst we visited Norwich arts uni, no problem. Staff really seemed happy to be working there - very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we are genuinely a happy bunch, especially when we receive great comments like yours. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon. Thanks again!!

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely overnight stay at the George Best Western. It was my birthday and we had balloons thoughtfully placed on the bed. We were given the George Suite (attic room) which was fab although my 6'3" partner could only stand full height in certain parts of the room. I had asked for a bottle of chardonnay to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you had a great birthday and look forward to seeing you again in the New Year!

Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We desided to take a last minute break to the east coast, we don't generaly take our 10yr old lab on holiday unless we go camping.So a hotel and the dog was a leap into the unknown. This was a realy posative experience for us. The hotel allows dogs to stay in two of the " cottage suites" in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm G
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do love dogs here and like you said, put certain rooms aside to accommodate them. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you and your family (including the lab of course) will visit us again soon.

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night 14/10/16 were given the garden room which was spacious and lovely, well equipped with little extras. ALEX and the bar staff were really welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We had a super meal in the restaurant. We are looking to return again in December...relaxed atmosphere and smiling staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Micheala S
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your great review, it is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in December.

Epworth
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I stayed here for one night in October and was allocated a double room which was very spacious and comfortable (despite the rather dubious mustard colour on the walls). I like individual hotels like the George and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The bar is well stocked and whilst I didn't eat dinner in the restaurant the cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SB1Epworth
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your kind comments regarding the food and the staff. Hopefully the mustard coloured walls will be gone once the refurbishment that starts in January is complete. We look forward to welcoming you back to the George again soon.

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Checked into this hotel 7th October, checked out again within 15 minutes. Was given keys to double room, had to negotiate several narrow corridors and door opening issues, upon arrival at our room we were met with a most obnoxious smell, which can only be described as like a wet dog had been sleeping in there. In need of total...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gilliward
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

We are always disappointed by reviews such as yours as we work very, very hard to ensure each and every guest is treated with the utmost respect and given the best possible service. The long narrow corridors are characteristic to many authentic Victorian town houses and something we would never change. I'm sure if you had stayed more than 15...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
4.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
1.9 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
9.1 km away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
184 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Address: Newmarket Road 10 Arlington Lane, Norwich NR2 2DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Price Range: $108 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western
BEST WESTERN George Hotel Norwich, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN George Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Ipswich, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There aren't any.”
 of 5 bubbles Artemisia61, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There's no lift and the corridors are like a rabbit warren, with some high thresholds between conjoined buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles JeanForster, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 126”
 of 5 bubbles Foodiecj, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have a dod stay in room 201”
 of 5 bubbles malcolmg2013, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles deannar86, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay