We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mayfields B&B

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Mayfields B&B
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
Start your review of Mayfields B&B
 Click to rate
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2014 via mobile

we booked our break almost a year ago and Alan was very helpful we were thrilled with our choice everything about our stay was brilliant our room was perfect as was the breakfast we were able to come and go as we wished constant supply of tea etc lovely shower and clean comfortable beds we would recommend this b&b to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindarose333
Alan B, Owner at Mayfields B&B, responded to this review

Alan and Jules thank you both kindly for your favourable comments regarding your recent stay with us at Mayfield's. Having also read your reviews of other Whitby merchants, it would appear that Whitby ticked all the right boxes for you. Most pleasing! With our very best wishes A & J.

Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2014

2 night stay with my daughter in August. I have to say that this guest house was a lot better than I expected a guest house to be. We were greeted by a very friendly owner, who showed us where the dining room was, and then took us to our room ... and what a room!! It was huge and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kev G
allywally8, Owner at Mayfields B&B, responded to this review

Dear Kevin, Thank you very much for your in depth review of your stay with us in mid August. Its gratifying to read that the memory of your stay with us is still so vivid. Sometimes memory's of holidays, and events quickly fade, however you write as if you only departed yesterday. Julie & Alan wish you well, and hopefully...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I decided to visit Whitby again this year to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. We stayed at Mayfields for 2 nights last weekend and found our short stay a very enjoyable one. We were greeted by the lovely, very cheerful and smiley female owner and were made to feel very welcome. The service we received was 100% and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angela C
Alan B, Owner at Mayfields B&B, responded to this review

Thank you Angela for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at Mayfield's. Especially as it was important to you both that your personal anniversary plans, and expectations were not compromised by ourselves in any way. With our very best wishes both Jules and Alan.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2014

my wife and I stayed at mayfields for one night in may. our room was reasonable but not as good as expected after looking at on-line images. breakfast ok but have experienced much better . not one of our preferred hotels for future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian p
allywally8, Manager at Mayfields B&B, responded to this review

Are thee not the same Ian P----tt ? That stayed at Mayfield's in Whitby on Monday May 26th 2014?? If so. We have just one question for you Ian. In a previous review of your same visit to Mayfield's, (but with your chosen booking agent) you made no comments, good, nor poor and rated your overall accommodation experience 9/10. However,...

Sleaford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at Mayfeilds for just 2 nights but wish it could have been more. Immaculate, generous sized rooms,easy parking and great breakfasts. We arrived slightly earlier than anticipated but were warmly greeted and made to feel welcome. Town is a steady 15 min walk downhill,so beware that means the walk back is uphill and in the heat we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen M
allywally8, Owner at Mayfields B&B, responded to this review

Hi Helen, Julie and I are so pleased that Mayfield's ticked all the right boxes for you during your short stay in Whitby recently. This is our 18th season in the hospitality business, so it is always good to read the comments of a seasoned traveller, who generally address the core areas pertaining to a good, or poor accommodation experience.

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2014

stayed at mayfields great rooms fantastic breakfast julie was a great host very clean would stay here again bit of a walk into whitby especially when your coming back on a night very big rooms breakfast very good and lots of it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie i
allywally8, Owner at Mayfields B&B, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your kind and concise appraisal of your stay with us at Mayfield's in Whitby. We also concur with your philosophy, by choosing your accommodation that little further from a robust, and busy centre, may cost a little extra, but is very much worth it.

Audlem, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have not stayed at this guest house for the reason given here, but this is a word of warning if you telephone for a tariff quotation. I called and spoke with the proprietor called Alan, who quoted me £580 for two double rooms over four nights to include full english breakfast. Fine I said, and Alan agreed to send...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew B
allywally8, Owner at Mayfields B&B, responded to this review

May I say how surprised I was to find something as simple as a price negotiation failure between the proprietors of two leisure and tourism businesses, finds itself upon a hotel review page! Mayfield's accommodation prices and any applicable discounts, are clearly stated within our webpage. Mayfield's always submit a written final price confirmation, to all its prospective customers, which...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just stayed at Mayfields. The place was very clean and comfortable. Our room was large with comfortable chairs to relax on. ..It was in walking distance of Whitby. I cannot fault anything. Julie was a great laugh. I wished we could have stayed longer. We would definately go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I don't do Guest Houses - but in Whitby you really do not have a choice. So Mayfields was a pleasant and unexpected surprise. The room we were given was spacious, king size bed, lovely furnishings and immaculate throughout. Two leather armchairs to sit and watch the provided satellite TV with tea & coffee making facilities - and fresh milk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eternaloptimist14
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2013

As we have friends in Whitby we have been annual visitors. This was the first time we have stayed at Mayfields and we wish we had stayed here every trip! The room was large, comfortable, and lacked nothing. The owners were very welcoming and helpful, and always available if you needed anything. Thanks Julie for the many refils of fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mays-Baird

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
4.3 km away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
126 reviews
2.5 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,961 reviews
0.9 km away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandsend
48 reviews
2.5 km away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#143 of 151 in Whitby
102 reviews
3.8 km away
Netherby House
Netherby House
#105 of 151 in Whitby
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated within walking distance of Whitby's historical 199 Abbey steps, cobbled shopping streets, and vibrant harbour-side. Both large En-suite bedrooms are well presented,& tastefully furnished. After a good nights sleep in your king-size bed, please take your complementary breakfast in our spacious dining room overlooking our rear landscaped gardens. Free car parking spaces are always available to you during your stay with us. You may also enjoy our gardens and patio area's during the summer months.< ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mayfields B&B

Address: 30 Mayfield Road, Whitby YO21 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfields B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mayfields B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are only five rooms available if our experience was anything to go by I would recommend early booking.”
Eternaloptimist14, 1 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Room 1 - very comfortable and beautiful ensuite bathroom.”
F0xy22, 17 Oct 2012 | Read review
“I think both of the two rooms are of the same standard, but only one can be a twin.”
OldhamLancsEmma, 13 Oct 2012 | Read review
3 of 3