We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Wheeldale

Show Prices
#13 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Wheeldale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Wheeldale
See the most recent reviews
Showing 323: English reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely beautiful. When we arrived it we knew we had hit a winner. Extremely clean and tidy from the moment you stepped through the front door. We were shown to our room by the hostess Rebecca and I was totally gobsmacked by the size. It was massive. The bathroom was beautifully decorated in a modern fashion which loved. I couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zeta40
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Thanks from all of us here.It is very nice to get positive comments.We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Todmorden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Two staircases to climb but a lovely little suite at the end, and a good breakfast. Spotlessly clean and a nie honesty bar- didn;t have occasion to use it but good to know it was there. Confused by white markings on car park at front, and not sure why they said we had to move the car when we asked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JCTod
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Arrived late in the day but there was someone to greet me at reception. Room was lovely separate bedroom, bathroom and living space. The rooms were clean, well maintained and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely with a great choice of light bites, cereals and cooked options. Staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AmyM1988
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Thank you so so much and all the other people who have very positive reviews on here.You can come back soon lol.

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Something's need to be changed, stated it was a hotel not a b&b, manager seemed to have no communication skills what so ever. By the looks of other reviews he doesn't seem to speak to people face to face only through doors; very rude! Mould in the shower, dust in places that are obvious to anybody, dreaded bright flowery duvet...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rebecca S
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

You should have asked for a refund and left and I am glad you are never returning.

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I booked a 2 night stay here. When we arrived there was no welcome just a need to pay here's ur key ur rooms round there. So if we went to the room which was in some sort of annex lovely view but that's about it the room was very dated an not like the room we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Very Very glad that you left my building.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Stayed here for. 1 night with my husband. Very clean bed and breakfast in North Promenade, comfy bed, and great cooked breakfast. A short walk to the harbour where there are bars and restaurants We had a lovely stay in Whitby

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
Halifax, England
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Our previous review was in September 2012 and it is a real pleasure to return once more to The Wheeldale for our annual Whitby-fix! Peter and Rebecca Coleman continue run a comfortable B&B establishment which is conveniently located on the North Promenade. Superb sea views and an easy walk down to the beach or into the charming town. The Wheeldale...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NEALBOURNE
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This was a very last minute getaway and having trawled through hotels and guest houses we were lucky to find the Wheeldale. This is a no frills guest house in a beautiful and convenient place overlooking the sea a short distance from the central part of Whitby and we enjoyed the delightful walk which took us only approx 10-15 minutes....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lireton47
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed one night in the wheeldale due to work, the rooms was very clean and the bed was very comfortable, it had sky tv I. The room, which had all sports and movie channels and very good wifi , I would most defiantly stay there again with my family

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jlp145
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The place was very clean, and the room we were in had some unique touches to it such as portraits and a Dutch tile (which was nice as I'm Dutch). Everything in the room was great, and just what we needed for 2 days of Whitby folk week. The only thing that could possibly be improved slightly is the service:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martina D

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.1 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,795 reviews
0.9 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
947 reviews
0.0 km away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Saxonville Hotel
Saxonville Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
260 reviews
1.0 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 km away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range: $84 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wheeldale staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Wheeldale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front have sea views”
 of 5 bubbles davidelli0tt, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose room 3 which has bay window giving even better view”
 of 5 bubbles 575shirley, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Give it a try.”
 of 5 bubbles garciamark, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had room 10 and slept v well”
 of 5 bubbles annc144, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 on the first floor is en-suite with a large bay window giving unrivalled views of the iconic harbour piers and the ever-changing sea”
 of 5 bubbles NEALBOURNE, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay