We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lamb & Lion Inn

Show Prices
#34 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lamb & Lion Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

871 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Start your review of Lamb & Lion Inn
 Click to rate
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Brilliant place to go for Sunday lunch but it's a busy place and right on the tourist route, I would advise you to book a table. Traditional roast dinner was our choice and we weren't disappointed, we will definitely go again, soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
Aston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Great little boutique type hotel, clean room, decent bed and nice staff. Bit noisy at night but you are very central located so expect that, in fact there are ear plugs in the room!!! Would stay there again in a heartbeat! Parking is good as you can drop the luggage off and then run your car round the corner and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wealy
Adam H, Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your 5* review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon. Kind regards The Lamb and Lion

england
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Lamb and Lion is ideally located and has its charms, the food served was lovely but had a limited range. The room was well presented and clean however the glazing only works if the window shuts properly, this being the reason we only got 3 hours sleep. The only reason I would not go back is the fact that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dkw2468
Adam H, Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review

Hi thank you for the review. We are all disappointed to hear your comments about the local lad. We can assure you this is a rare occurrence. Sometimes Bank holidays weekend bring the small minority of people out who think they are at their local watering holes and just come out just to cause disturbance and unfortunately upset members of...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 3 days superb old hotel Fabulous location Good food Good staff Noisy outside at nights. Otherwise excellent 200 yards from the minster. Good price. Easy place to go back to for a change of clothes or to get ready for a meal etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen L
Adam H, Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jen Thanks for the 5* review. We are pleased you enjoyed your mini break with us and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Adam Heaslip

Cork
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a lovely evening meal here with my husband recently. I had the evenings fish special and my husband has fish and chips. Both dishes were well presented and yummy. The staff were attentive and advised us to eat in the bar because the evening was not busy and the restaurant would not have less atmosphere. The price was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil2252
Adam H, Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review

Hi Phil. Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Adam Heaslip

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an enjoyable meal at the Lion and Lamb - which is in a great central location in York. The food was quite good and plentiful; the dining room is cosy and full of character and service was friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melb22
Adam H, Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Adam Heaslip

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Shame really, food was nice, reasonably priced, beer garden was lovely, backing on to the city walls. Just spoiled by one individual behind the bar with very long hair who had a real attitude problem and was unnecessarily rude. Without this individual, easily a 4 star.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MatthewsJ93
Adam H, Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review

Hi Matthew. Firstly can i apologize for your experience on your recent visit to us. I have sent you a private message to see if i can get to the bottom of the situation. We strive to give the best service to all our guests and we are very disappointed to hear your comments. If you would kindly reply to...

Sandbach, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the end of March. Excellent location, made popping out and about really easy. Was in the single room number 10, which unfortunately has the kitchen extractor right outside the window but as I was out most of the day it didn't matter and it was switched off about 10pm so didn't affect my sleep. Lovely staff (love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
Adam H, Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review

Hi Catherine. Thank you for your 4*. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the hospitality provided by the staff and Debbie. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards The lamb and Lion

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed the meal tonight! Pate followed by seafood risotto (excellent) and steak and ale pie. Good atmosphere and great service. Good selection of beers and wines. Would definitely recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anyxx
Adam H, Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank for your 5 stars! We are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards The Lamb and Lion

Edinburgh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel back in March to spend a day in York before seeing family the next day. Very nice room indeed. It had all the necessaries you'd expect in a hotel room such as TV, en-suite and tea/coffee making facilities. The staff were very friendly and didn't make me feel that my actions were a bother to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Currie01
Adam H, Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4*review. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff. They work hard to ensure all guests are looked after from the moment they book to when they leave. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards The Lamb and lion

199 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 km away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 45 in York
987 reviews
0.2 km away
Guy Fawkes Inn
Guy Fawkes Inn
#41 of 192 in York
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.1 km away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#44 of 192 in York
374 reviews
0.3 km away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 192 in York
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Adjoining Bootham Bar, the Lamb & Lion Inn offers en-suite rooms with free WiFi, flat-screen TV’s and award-winning Two AA Rosette food. Each of the twelve rooms have been individually decorated, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Some of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn offers real ales from local breweries and serves modern British pub food. York Minster is just a 2-minute walk away and both the National Railway Museum and The Shambles are within a 10-minute walk too. Discounted parking is also available close by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lamb & Lion Inn

Address: 2-4 High Petergate, York YO1 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $172 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lamb & Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lamb & Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lamb & Lion Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Essex
Dave W Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Dropping bags off is fine .. it's only a 5 minute walk from the car park and you do get a concession from the hotel .. it's all good

6 months ago
Nottingham
3 months ago
Dave W Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

5 minute walk and you get a voucher from the hotel

1 month ago
whitley bay
Joonah1877 Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Yes they're more than happy to look after your luggage on arrival and departure

7 months ago
Wirral, United Kingdom
Adam H Doncaster, United Kingdom Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Hi Thank you for enquiry. We use a car park called Marygate which is a 8 minute walk away. It will cost you £7 for your duration of your stay.

Kind regards

Adam

over a year ago
Scotland
over a year ago
Adam H Doncaster, United Kingdom Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Hi

Thank you for your enquiry. I am

Afraid we don't have a TV in the bar area. There is a lot of pubs nearby which offer sky sports.

Regards

Adam

over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Lamb & Lion Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a room before if possible, top floor is not for people who struggle with stairs.”
dkw2468, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Unless you are average size or smaller don't choose room 10 due to size of bathroom.”
catherinewQ2392PX, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The room I had overlooking the wall was very nice.”
W7570GTsusanr, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We could have done with a second chair but we managed perfectly well without. Bed - extremely comfortable. Very good shower. Ear plugs provided but we found our wax ones more effective.”
220sjf, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back would have less noise.”
63caz, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5