We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

York House

Show Prices
#50 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in York
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
York House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for York House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 310: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The owner really made us welcome and as it was my wifes birthday it olny took an email to them to get me a bouquet of flowers for her in the room , we arrived early but the room was ready for us ,it was clean and all amenities were there for us, bed was comfortable,, the breakfast was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andynic2014
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and generous review. I am so pleased you were happy with the hospitality offered at York House and were pleased with the flowers. Providing those little 'extras' such as flowers, chocolates, wine etc at guests' request is no problem, it is charged out at cost and is just part of the service.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is really good hotel . The rooms are lovely , the breakfast is excellent and offers a good choice. The staff are very friendly and helpful .The location is convenient for the town centre. I would definitely stay again and would recommend it to friends

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marion H
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at our bed and breakfast and would be extremely grateful if you could recommend York House. We hope to meet you again should you visit York in the future.

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The stay was a surprise birthday present from my g/f . We stayed sat 22nd Feb. 2014 and Sunday night 23rd warm and friendly service, excellent breakfast our room was well presented. We were made to feel welcome throughout our short stay and will definitely come back as only 15 minute walk to the city centre

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin2002014
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous review. I am glad we were able to make your birthday surprise visit to York an enjoyable experience and am so pleased that you would stay at York House again - perhaps we will see you both again in the future.

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2014

stayed for 1 night at York house staff were helpful and friendly the hotel was warm and welcoming and clean with a lovely home cooked breakfast and just a 10 minute walk to the centre of York although you could hop on the bus just outside the hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chris b
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you found York House warm and welcoming and enjoyed breakfast. The bus stop is certainly very convenient..

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Room 2 which was perfect at the front of the house no problems with noise. Very friendly staff and perfect breakfast on both mornings, lovely little touches in the room would definately reccomend and stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan P
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive and kind review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at York House, we would appreciate any recommendation and would be glad to accommodate you once more should you decide to visit York in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Unfortunately we were put in Room 3 which was between the front door and reception at the bottom of the entrance to the stairwell. The noise of guests coming and going in the night and very early Sunday morning ensured we had fewer hours sleep than we were hoping for. This could be forgiven but we were also victims of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller200156
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review

I am sorry you had interrupted sleep for one night, although you were not disturbed on the first night. I am sorry the noise from the kitchen also disturbed you, but the breakfast room and kitchen were opened early to cater for some guests who wanted an early departure which does happen on rare occasions. Will ensure the door to...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I took a last minute break with my boyfriend for his birthday. I wanted somewhere quiet and romantic, but with easy access to sophistacted bars and restaurants, and this turned out to be perfect for us, it delivered all round. The owner was friendly and took an interest in us, and the breakfast was delicious. The room was pretty, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at York House and you enjoyed your short stay with us. I look forward to meeting you both once more should you visit York again.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here the weekend before Christmas and had a wonderful time. The hotel owners are very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were good and always cooked to order with plenty of choice. The hotel itself is only a 15 minute walk from the centre of York and it is easy walking along a well-lit main road. There are buses...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzanne S
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would stay at York House again should the occasion arise and, of course, I would be pleased to meet you again.

Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I booked this B&B at quite short notice as I was looking for a B&B due to attending training courses. First of all, very fast and friendly response to my booking ensuring details were exchanged and so I was aware of checking in arrangements. Very friendly welcome by the owner and after making sure I was familiar with entry arrangements...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelTruthWales
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. I am so pleased you found the room and food OK. I am pleased you liked the artwork in the breakfast room and conservatory - it's just a little different and looks great now it's completed - if you have to visit York again you will have to come and see the finished...

stafford, uk
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed at York House in late November and really enjoyed our stay. The room.. Nice and spacious with a lovely shower. Absolutely adored the little extras like hot water bottles and thick, comfy bathrobes. The breakfast.. Great choice in the morning and served in a lovely, bright conservatory. Hosts.. Always on hand to help and made us feel very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoobie
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed you stay at York House and would really appreciate any recommendations you can give.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 km away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#31 of 206 in York
314 reviews
0.1 km away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#116 of 206 in York
140 reviews
2.9 km away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
125 reviews
1.3 km away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#32 of 206 in York
357 reviews
2.9 km away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 206 in York
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about York House

Address: 62 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $118 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — York House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from York House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from York House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Easy travel to York and easily reached from the main roads.”
 of 5 bubbles 58nicko, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“4 poster bed in room 2!”
 of 5 bubbles Mermaidsunicorn, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“not really sure I can help”
 of 5 bubbles diandpaulwhite, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There is a large double room on the ground floor. Ask for a room facing the garden if you want quiet,”
 of 5 bubbles Helen752013, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“recommend blue room executive great bed and great bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles c0lin1954, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay