We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Novotel York Centre

Show Prices
#32 of 45 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel York Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,281: English reviews
Start your review of Novotel York Centre
 Click to rate
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed over for AGM and Dinner. Pleasant staff at reception and bar. Nice clean,spacious and comfortable room. The dinner was pretty good given the constraints of mass catering. All in all a good experience and we would happily return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacksville007
Liverpool, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a last minute treat we decided to spend a little more time in York travelling over on Sunday staying until Tuesday morning. We arrived earlier than our due arrival time but it wasn't a problem as there were rooms available of the standard we had booked and we were quickly registered,in our room and unpacked. We chose not to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank McCulloch59
About Hotel's Favourite Review
MaximeDupont, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you very much for your great 5 star review, I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our team very helpful and friendly. Thanks for recommended us and please come to visit us again soon. Kind regards Maxime Dupont

Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The hotel is very easy to get to, yes parking a charged but that is the normal for the area and easy enough to park or walk from station. Location to get into the main attractions is excellent. Room meet the needs, same as you get in most Novotels with seperate loo. Plug by bed for phone charging. All staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debsywalker
Wales
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice room, great location 10 min walk to city centre along river. Friendly helpful staff in restaurant and pleasant housekeeping staff. Pool tiny, but didn't go there to swim. The only odd thing about this hotel is that the toilets are separate from the bathroom and there isn't even a hand basin in the toilet cubicle, which is really yuck....

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KASTMA
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel its self is comfortable, nice pool, lovely walk into York along the river, good location, check-in long winded. Lovely city to visit. Its when you check out and don't get your £100 pre-authorisation on your credit card back even after 11 working days and numerous calls and even emails is unacceptable. Very disappointed with the after customer care,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edna6
MaximeDupont, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Dear Edna6, Sorry to hear your experience with resolving your credit card authorisation issue. My team should have called you back on Friday as promised and I apologise this did not happen. Having spoken to Emma yesterday, I trust this is completely resolved. Please let me know otherwise. Kind regards, Kai 01904 611 660

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

After spending £150 for a night I don't expect it to be just good. The carpet in our room was dirty with stains, there was a big hole in the cupboard. The air conditioner was very loud throughout the night. If you are a light sleeper like me prepared to be awake through the night. My husband and kid slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine_sk
Yorkshire
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here on our recent visit to York as we were attending an event at The Barbican, it is perfectly situated for this and yet is merely a ten minute walk along the river to the centre of York. We had a lovely family room overlooking the river, it was immaculate and spacious, and so quiet, we all slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherie0
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The facilities were clean and well maintained. Parking was easy and the hotel was in close proximity to York city centre. Breakfast exceeded expectations with a wide selection included. Would come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirst N
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I visited with our Granddaughter again this year. Very friendly young staff made us feel welcome guests. The room was not up to the same standard as last year, Dirty splashes on the toilet door, the toilet did not flush fully, our granddaughters bed had only one sheet and a thin blanket we had to get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickandsueespana
MaximeDupont, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Dear mickandsueespana, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry and disappointed you did not enjoy your stay. We had given you the exact same room as your previous stay ( as you had requested) and the set-up would have been the same as before. Our pool is gets heavy usage during the schools holidays and there will be a...

swansea
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent 3 days at hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday. I mentioned this in an email, and on arrival we were upgraded to an executive room, and a gift and card personally signed by most of the staff was waiting for her - a lovely touch. Nice, large room, spotlessly clean and of the standard you'd expect from Novotel. Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SwanseaSuperswan

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Other (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.3 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 45 in York
1,748 reviews
0.5 km away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
1.1 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $145 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel York Centre staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel York Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms looking over the river have a nicer view”
Edna6, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were on the first floor. In a word, noisy.”
Winders2014, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“First time in these hotels. Blood and urine stains on sheets.. They moved us rooms and still room unclean, hairs on shower head and drainage smell. Staff did not give full refund. Never staying in these hotels again ”
975junen, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Take a torch for bedside reading”
KathE66, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 312 with nice views of the River”
dpuk133, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5