We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Novotel York Centre

Show Prices
#31 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel York Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novotel York Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,205: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

2 star, rather than 4!!!! Booked for 3 nights, only stayed for 1. Dirty carpet and door frames, tiny window that make you feel claustrophobic even with a "river view". Dark restroom with no ventilation! Max. setting on the thermostat was 25C and we had to ask for extra heater. Warmish water from "hot water" tap. £11.00/night for parking is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank viktoria b
MaximeDupont, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning Viktoria, Thank you very much for your review following your latest stay with us. I'm sorry to read that we couldn't met your expectation on this occasion. I'm glad to read that our team react quickly to bring you an extra fan so you could have a room warmer. We also do charge car park which guaranty you...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a great coffee machine in the room. Will go back again for another two days sometime. The swimming pool looked nice which I didn't use because I didn't know they had one.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 975margaret
MaximeDupont, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning Margaret, Thank you so much for your review, It's great to read that you found our team approachable. Our Executive room have great value and comes as you mention with Nespresso coffee machine but also bathrobes, sleepers and dock station to enjoy your music. Our pool facility is open from 6.00 am until 9.00 pm so everybody can...

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay at the Novotel pretty regularly with work. Staff are always pleasant, rooms are clean and tidy, and it is good value. Would easily recommend it. A little walk to the centre but lots of nice restaurants fairly close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BressayAndy
MaximeDupont, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning Andy, Thank you very much for your great review, I'm glad to read that as a regular customer you would recommend us and praise our great team. It might be easy to wow a customer staying once but always challenging to constantly satisfy a regular one and I'm glad our team achieve this for you. Please come to...

Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night during our city break. Easy to find. Good cheap on site parking. Room big and clean. Coffee machine was a nice touch. Bar area pleasant. Walkable distance into centre. Breakfast good choice. Would definatEly come back to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oakleigh11
MaximeDupont, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning, Wow great 5 star review !!! I'm glad our team made your visit to York memorable. It is great to read you enjoy our Executive room with our very popular Nespresso machine. Please come visit us again soon. Kind regards Maxime Dupont

San Jose, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a overnight trip to York , I have to say I don't think the reviews do it justice we hada great experience. It's a mere 5 min walk into town from here, it's in a lovely quiet location next to the river. There's reasonable priced parking onsite, fast wifi, a pool and a good bar area ....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andyibz
MaximeDupont, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning, Wow !!!! Thank you so much for writing such a great review about our hotel. I'm glad your family had a fantastic time with us. As a family friendly hotel, we continuously try to find new activities for the little ones so the parents can also relax a bit too. I feel really happy to read that you...

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pretty poor for a 4* Novotel. Given keycard for a room already in use by someone else - thinking this could lead to potential theft, walking in on someone else, etc. Rubbish TV/remote control. Toilets didn't flush properly. Dirty mugs/glasses/spoons. Iron attached to ironing board so can't use properly. Ironing board collapses whilst in use - poor quality and could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shcreps
MaximeDupont, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning,. Thank you very much for your review following your latest stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologizes If we didn't met your expectations on some areas on this occasion. However it is great to read that you have enjoyed our front of house team at Bar, Breakfast and Reception. As you mention, our location is ideal to...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed overnight for a conference the next day. The check in was easy enough and quick to do. My room was on the 4th floor and very large. It had everything you would expect from a hotel room, including a large sofa and desk area. It was also very well soundproofed as I heard nothing from outside or next door....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
MaximeDupont, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning Amy, Thank you so much for your great review, it is fantastic to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us while attending a conference. Our team take pride making sure that all our customers leave with an amazing experience of the hotel. I shall certainly pass your comments about the rest room and see if we...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here a long weekend for my bday with partner and friends. Hotel room was good, the standard for any of accor group. Everyone was very attentive and breakfast had a good selection too. About 15 min walk from the centre and shambles, and about 25 from train station.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ana P
MaximeDupont, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning Ana, Thank you so much for your review following your birthday week end. I'm glad to read that our team make this special occasion memorable and we are looking forward to Welcome you again soon. Warm regards Maxime Dupont

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

When to this hotel for family holiday for one night on boxing day. There are 14 of us all together. 8 adult and 6 Children. The hotel is very close to york town center about 5 minute walk. The hotel also have children play area and pool so all the children in our group very about because of that. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raja_Azmir
MaximeDupont, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning, Many thanks for your 5 star review following your stay over Christmas. It is great to read that your family had a fantastic stay with us including the little ones. As a family hotel friendly, we think long and hard to make sure the children enjoy their stay and feel like at home so the parents can also...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Me and my husband decided to stay here again after visiting a few years ago and it did not disapoint. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The room was lovely and clean and comfortable. We had a slight problem with noise from another guest whilst we were there and the staff sorted the problem out within minutes of us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tudor661188
MaximeDupont, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel York centre. It is great to read that you found our team very friendly and attentive, our breakfast great and our room quiet and fully functional. We will be more than happy to Welcome you again soon. Kind regards Maxime Dupont

236 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.3 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
1,692 reviews
1.0 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
2,542 reviews
1.1 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $129 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel York Centre staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
15 days ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom
8 months ago
4 months ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel York Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I dont think there is any good room in this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles viktoriab_13, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“river view rooms seem ideal”
 of 5 bubbles C1907PPdaveg, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“What you would expect from a Novotel”
 of 5 bubbles OllieOakey, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“don't bother with this place”
 of 5 bubbles GwenWilliamsUK, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stayed on the top floor ,nice views”
 of 5 bubbles Biggles23, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5