We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Now and save 25% off
View deal
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (771)
Panoramas (6)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton York
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#42 of 51 hotels in York
Hilton York is a 4-star hotel within the medieval city walls, located in the heart of York. Only a 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and wine and dine in the 3 bars and restaurants.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Now and save 25% off
3706Reviews61Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,007
  • 1,206
  • 850
  • 423
  • 220
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
fiona2326 wrote a review 8 Jan
Glasgow, Scotland154 contributions81 helpful votes
I stayed here for one night while visiting York for work. As such, my time in the hotel was minimal, it was literally somewhere to sleep for the night then checking straight out after breakfast. That said, I was really pleased with it. My room was a nice size, clean and comfortable. Bed was very comfortable but pillows far too soft for me. I have seen someone else say other pillows are available so I must remember that if I stay again. Shower was also good. It’s a very central location, only a very short walk to the main shopping area, restaurants, bars, attractions etc. Bear in mind this does have the potential for noise pollution. I was woken at 4.30am with a nearby alarm going off so I didn’t have a great sleep (not the fault of the hotel obviously), so the very central location may have its downside. Breakfast was excellent, lovely selection, well presented, very fresh and good quality. It definitely made up for the poor sleep I had! Overall, I would definitely stay here again, it ticked all the boxes for a functional one night stay - just hope for no alarms next time!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from Hilton York, General Manager at Hilton York
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear fiona2326, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at the Hilton York. Delighted to read you had an ideal stay and found the room clean and comfortable and enjoyed the breakfast with the many choices on offer. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future for another lovely stay. Kind regards, Hilton York
Read more
EcoBean wrote a review Aug 2021
Kennington, United Kingdom210 contributions157 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We had a two night stop over passing through York, and the Hilton York is perfectly located close to The Shambles and York Minster. Clean, well run and the room was well equipped. Good breakfast included, and restaurant was organised for social distancing. The bed was really good quality, and there are different pillow types available (soft, medium, firm) to make sure you get a good night sleep (although housekeeping failed to bring them up on the first night, so we had to follow up the next day). Not somewhere I would recommend eating for evening meal tho', but empty and the menu is pretty basic burgers, pizza's etc. With so many restaurants available nearby though this isn't a problem. My only issue was the noise we experienced about 3am on a Sunday morning as revellers obviously returning from the pubs/clubs. Security should have been controlling this.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
pekao wrote a review Dec 2021
London, United Kingdom1410 contributions165 helpful votes
We stayed in King Suite on the first floor. It has properly separate living/ dining room and nice corner situation. The only issue was plumbing and heating. The water was either boiling or when maintenance people attended to the problem next day we had only barely lukewarm option. So washing/bathing was challenging to undertake. Radiators are tiny for the size of the suite so we resorted to hot water bottles and sleeping in the jumpers. There is no aircon but windows properly open for all imported ventilation. We had 2 TVs, little fridge and lovely views to the historic streets. It was quiet at night though. Location is fantastic, you are right in the middle of it all. The staff at reception and housekeeping is very efficient. It was clean everywhere. We pre-booked parking at Q Park for £36 as opposed to £50 in the hotel but you have to walk for 10 min. Definitely will stay here again when in York and agree it is better option than Marriott or Courtyard location wise.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
thecoves wrote a review Dec 2021
Dagenham, United Kingdom38 contributions54 helpful votes
Excellent location, quiet room, amazing beds. We booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary and advised the hotel of this, we always have a weekend away for our anniversary and in the past this has always been acknowledged by the hotels we’ve stayed in but nothing here! The bathroom was tiny and very dated. We accept that things have changed due to the pandemic but we opted for the daily housekeeping and this was disappointing to say the least. I could have made the bed better myself, the side in the bathroom was left with obvious watermarks and no hoovering took place. This was our first visit to York, we absolutely loved it and we’ll be back but not to the Hilton, for what we paid I really expected more
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Raven Smith wrote a review Dec 2021
17 contributions5 helpful votes
Pros- Great Location, Polite and Helpful Staff Cons- Everything Else Our room was advertised as balcony with a view. The view was of the Clifford Tower covered with scaffolding, and while I don’t hold the hotel responsible for the scaffolding, I do think the website could be updated to include this. The hotel describes their own parking as ‘limited’ and you can’t book their valet parking in advance. When I arrived (having arranged my own parking) it turns out that they had places available. The easy alternative is a public car park opposite (that had several damaged cars or cars with parking cones on top of each morning we passed through). Our room was extremely noisy due to its location above the main entrance at the balcony side, and near the lifts from the door side. For a room that costs more, it’s located at the noisiest place in the hotel. The room itself was nothing worthy of the cost. Quite small, with evidence of previous work (old alarm system and phone socket in the bathroom). We had purposely booked a hotel that had room service… not you need to collect yourself service. No information provided in room to the room service menu. Luckily the front desk staff could give us a business card with a QR code to the menu. First night, using the internal phone, no one answered the room service or guest service numbers. The front desk answered straight away and had someone ring back pretty quick. Second night we had to collect our order and it was wrong. Amazing how the corrections could be delivered. I couldn’t get an itemised bill during checkout so I’m pretty sure I’ve been charged for room service delivery that didn’t happen. Included breakfast was hit and miss. Greeting staff were polite, helpful, and informative. The staff making fried eggs by request were brilliant and the eggs were great. The self serve bits were…questionable: -mushrooms, vegan sausages, and scrambled eggs were possibly the cause of upset stomachs. -Sausages and tomatoes were okay. -Beans and bacon were good. -Hash Browns were excellent. Checking in and out was easy Felt the front desk staff were covering for a lot of shortfalls in the hotel overall. Now having visited the area, I would not use this hotel again, finding other hotels with lesser priced rooms of equal quality and services.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Room Tip: Avoid the balcony rooms
See more room tips
US$99 - US$210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
hilton york hotel york, hilton international york, hilton hotel york, york hilton international
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton York
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton York?
Nearby attractions include Shambles (0.3 km), Mindlock Escape Rooms (0.09 km), and GR8escape York (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton York?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton York?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton York?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton York?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Taylor Made Kitchen, Wine Stories, and The Dark Horse Espresso Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton York?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hilton York located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of York.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton York?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton York offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton York?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (2.4 km), Holy Trinity Church (0.5 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.2 km).