We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilton York

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton York
Hilton York
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,425 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,379: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Travelled on Saturday morning and arrived at the hotel at around 10am. Spoke to receptionist who was really friendly and advised us if we hand over our car keys the concierge will park the car so we can go shopping to return at 3 when our room will be ready. So far so good! Because my daughter was poorly we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice room, found a few hairs left in the bathroom, comfortable bed and pillows Hotel parking was full so we had to park across the road which was an inconvenience with a 1yr old, didn't eat in hotel as we were only in York for one night and wanted to try local restaurants Would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmamU9916KM
stockton on tees
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Really enjoyed stay. Room was a bit small but comfortable for what we needed and would love to stay again in the near future. Breakfast was lovely and fantastic choice! Drinks in bar also reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k88rpr
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

As the dot rating goes it is not very good but it is above average. I enjoyed my stay and there were only very minor niggles to report. The room was fairly spacious and there was a leather sofa bed. TV was reasonably big and no fuzzyness. The break fatty was the buffet style but was off decent quality. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian K
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location for visiting the Christmas Market, also easy walking distance for "The Shambles" - which is so very lovely. Plenty of pubs, and restaurants to suit all pockets. A very friendly City to visit. The Castle Museum is a must at this time of year as the victorian street is decorated for Christmas! The Hilton Hotel is comfortable, rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mak15381
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A good central location with a good large room. Food was reasonable although a bit geasy in the evening but a good breakfast. Wifi was poor, very slow had to use 4g which was much faster. Conference facilities were very adequate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NigLod
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked to stay for one night to visit the famous Christmas markets. Location on the hotel was brilliant 10 minute walk from the train station and 5 minutes to the bustle of the shops and markets and festivities. Checked in fine didn't have car with us so can't comment on the car park service. Arrived in room and was extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bouncer92
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Bouncer92, Thank you for sharing your experience following your stay. I am very disappointed that we have not been able to fulfil your expectations of what you have come to expect from Hilton Hotels but will be taking the necessary actions to ensure that all following experiences are much, much better for our future Guests. Your observations and opinions...

Newark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Considering it was a suite at a cost of nearly £300/night I was very disappointed with what the hotel delivered. I've stayed in boutique hotels a quarter of the price and been happier. No veggie options for breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevorj183
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear trevorj183, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hilton York. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the areas our services failed to deliver to your expectations. I would like to assure you that your experience is not reflective of our normal high standards of service. Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My first afternoon tea didn't disappoint.We went to the Christmas market and it was fab but couldn't find anywhere to eat as it was Saturday and extremely busy.We were parked outside the hotel in the tower car park and saw that there were tables free by the window and thought it might be pricey but by this point we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lottleauline
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear lottleauline, Many thanks for your five star review. Delighted to read you had a lovely Afternoon Tea experience and found the setting great and the service and food lovely. We look forward to welcoming you back for a weekend stay in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Martin Bradnam General Manager

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked two rooms in this hotel for us and some friends to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday, we had never been to York before so I wanted somewhere located near to all the places that she wanted to visit and for that it is very well situated. The staff are great, polite and really helpful offering suggestions for meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T5118LProb
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear T5118LProb, Thank you for writing a response on Tripadvisor and for choosing the Hilton York to celebrate your wife’s birthday. Pleased to read that overall you had a good stay and found our location very well situated and my team most polite and helpful. I am proud of them all as they work extremely hard delivering great customer service...

434 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (124)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family Room (23)
Viewed
Suite (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.7 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $152 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton York staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure if there are any nice rooms here!”
 of 5 bubbles EmmaF596, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the front offer the best views. We had rooms at the back of the hotel which looked onto the kitchen roof.”
 of 5 bubbles mak15381, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check in online 24 hours before stay and you can choose your room/ floor of choice.”
 of 5 bubbles Nick_J55, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book a room overlooking Cliffords Tower - worth the extra money as the room is much bigger and beds larger,”
 of 5 bubbles tankgirl25, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles LandJ1526, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay