We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel

Show Prices
#25 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 458: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
 Click to rate
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This hotel is lovely nice and clean friendly staff always happy to help the only problem is I payed £99 for 1 night u only get the room for that no fridge in the room yes u get tea and coffe but only anuff for 1 drink each the breakfast is £10 per person If u book with the desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boo2020
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staff friendly and helpful. The restaurant food could not be faulted and our waitress was lovely and extremely helpful. Breakfast was as to be expected, self service, plenty of choice and food hot. The only negative the tea and coffee could be served quicker. We had nearly finished our meal when it appeared. ( both mornings) The executive bedroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
Largs, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Was pleasantly surprised with the hotel - room a good size, dinner very acceptable, and reasonable service. The reception and dining area is a bit non descriptive, the bedroom corridor carpets either a terrible colour or just worn - hard to tell. That said a bitter overall experience thanI had expected.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freddie M
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Thought we would try a new hotel for a change and opted for the monkbar ... wad not disappointed, great location 5 minutes walk from the center .. all the usual touches in the room you would expect and just very clean and tidy ... will be going back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasonvines77
St.Annes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Many will already know that this hotel is very handily placed for a visit to this fine city. We found the room to be most acceptable for the usual reasons - clean comfortable, decent bathroom, etc. Car parking is nearby, and cost us £8 for a 24hrs period. The down side is the breakfast, which cost £10 each with vouchers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elfSt_Annes
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We usually book high end hotels when visiting York but we've come to realise it's pretty pointless as we spend very little time in the room. We decided to try a cheaper option by booking the best western & we certainly weren't disappointed. The location is fantastic, straight in to the town. Parking at £8 is cheap and great knowing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
Gary A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. I am thrilled to read you decided to stay with us when returning to York and found the stay exceeded your expectations which is great. Very pleased to hear you liked the room, found the bed comfy (and luckily woke up on time)...

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We've just enjoyed 2 nights at the Monkbar Hotel. Lovely room and we could see the minsters and City walls from the window. It was my husbands 30th birthday and staff left a hand written card, sweets and a voucher for 2 glasses of prosecco. This was a lovely touch.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U5799ZMlaurag
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. I am very pleased you had a very enjoyed stay with us and hope your husband enjoyed his 30th birthday. I am glad you liked the extra touches we provided in the room and pleased you enjoyed the prosecco and sweets. Thank you...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first experience of staying at an hotel in York for our Valentine Celebration. We found that it was a very beautiful hotel, just refurbished to a very high standard. The room was good the food excellent and the staff helpful, although it was difficult to understand the male receptionist and his poor english. The only dissatisfaction was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Ron, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. I am pleased you had a nice stay overall and had a relaxing valentines break away. All our receptionists have more than adequate levels of spoken and written English and we do employ staff from all nationalities. I am sorry you did...

Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took my partner to york last Saturday for a last minute night away. Arrived early, left our bag at the hotel (which was later put into our room for us) and explored york easily due to the fantastic location. Later, check in at 2pm was very friendly and as I work for BW, the manager of reception was asking me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NPNE
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the hotel convenient for visiting York and found the staff welcoming and friendly during the stay. I am sorry you missed breakfast due to being unwell (I hope...

YORK, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 322susanv
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

287 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (23)
Viewed
King Bedroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Superior Bedoom (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
990 reviews
0.7 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.8 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
1,696 reviews
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following an extensive £3m refurbishment program the Monkbar Hotel has been transformed into a stunning contemporary, boutique hotel 4 star hotel. Now boasting 125 individually designed and decorated rooms, some overlooking our Yorkshire courtyard garden, others overlooking the City Walls and some with a Minster View. As any true destination hotel our restaurant - The Yorkshire Bar and Grill - will not disappoint. A stunning bar and grill concept open for brunch from 8am daily, you will be greeted by staff with a professional yet relaxed approach, who appreciate the importance of great service - and great coffee! During the day you can take your pick from modern tapas-style dishes made with the best of Yorkshire produce or be swept away with an incredible restaurant menu. Armchairs and booths make the bar a perfect place for meeting friends you can simply relax in the bar with a glass of locally distilled Mason's gin and tonic or on sunny days enjoy a bite to eat in the beautiful walled garden. Produce is key, so our Head Chef Ben and the team have chosen incredible local suppliers to create a seasonal menu that will showcase the best of local produce and put The Yorkshire bar and grill firmly on the culinary map. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel

Address: St. Maurices Road, York YO31 7JA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $147 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Romantic Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Portsmouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We where at the rear of the building 2nd floor. Very good.”
 of 5 bubbles 48RonB, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not choose room 63”
 of 5 bubbles 209kaym, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 308 was nice. 2 storey up, I think. Quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles webpostie, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one away from main front”
 of 5 bubbles caroleh889, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“on a main road so ask for a room at the rear i would have thought! nothing major though noise wise.”
 of 5 bubbles TimJ935, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5